Avery Dennison

  www.averydennison.com
  www.averydennison.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Avery Dennison Reviews

Updated 28 September 2014
Updated 28 September 2014
231 Reviews
3.4
231 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Avery Dennison Chairman, President, & CEO Dean A. Scarborough
Dean A. Scarborough
145 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • good careers oportunity ; good work/life balance specially in the European HQ (in 16 reviews)

  • Very friendly work environment, expense account w/ credit Card, being able to work from home (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Used to have work-life balance, now it's just talk (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management do engage at the production level to relate to all employee group (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 2 people found this helpful  

    Poor leadership

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  Mentor, OH (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mentor, OH (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Introduced to things that will be great on a resume.

    Cons

    Opinions do not matter, boys club, lack of accountability

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Know what the employee does, go gemba!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  2.  

    Great company to work at

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist  in  New York, NY (US)
    Former Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist in New York, NY (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment, expense account w/ credit Card, being able to work from home. Free sodas & juice and Avery knows how to throw a party!!!

    Cons

    Work overload, sometimes to many task to handle at one time, A lot of political game play.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    Operator

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Operator  in  Painesville, OH (US)
    Current Employee - Operator in Painesville, OH (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paycheck and provides benefits ( that have significantly risen in the past 5 years)

    Cons

    Not much more than a paycheck

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be on the same page - "one Avery" is a joke

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 27, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the insights. We are always looking for better ways to improve.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Truly Innovative Brand Providing Intelligent Solutions!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director  in  Glendale, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Director in Glendale, CA (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the company has been such an amazing experience, from senior level executives to interns within the workforce, all employees are driven, excited and progressive in how they contribute solutions to our company success. We're a company of 26,000 globally, but move at the pace of a startup...and I love that about the company.

    Cons

    I don't really have a con so I"m going to type this sentence so Glassdoor allows me to submit my review. Thanks and peace be with you.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to facilitate innovation and collaboration. Our senior leadership team is already making an impact, from the new corporate location to engaging with our employees globally. We have an amazing CEO, CHRO, CLO, CIO, etc. I couldn't ask for better leadership.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate your recommendation.

  6.  

    Terrific people...hard working. Traditional company that's becoming more innovative every day.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee  in  Glendale, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Glendale, CA (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly collaborative -- great people who truly want to make a difference. Fair pay and benefits...with many other perks that signal the company cares about its workforce (opportunities to volunteer, summer hours, flexible schedules). Accessible leadership team -- open office environment.

    Cons

    Very lean budgets... Little time to breathe from one initiative to the next.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Take a moment to celebrate the hard work of your employees. They care deeply about the company -- and recognition goes a long way.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. We'll look into improving communications with senior management.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Political nightmare with a bi-polar President running the show!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director  in  Framingham, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Director in Framingham, MA (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only reason you want to work here is for the money. Avery truly tries to compensate you for all the personal abuse they put you through. However, if continuous disagreement with the leadership team and a President, who is simply nuts, don't scare you, and if physically and mentally you can make it through strategies going in full circles, and a continuous deterorating financial outlook, then hang in there! You will be paid a nice sum eventually to leave, no questions asked ....

    Cons

    A bi-polar President, who leads a "yes, Sir!" Team, uses the "f" word more than 10 times in a leadership team meeting and disregards employee input and expertise. A deteriorating market position. A desert of innovation paired with chaotic execution of strategy. A culture that is only marked by "fear".

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    A fish always starts to stink from its head!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  8.  

    hard work, good systems, bad management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager  in  Antwerp (Belgium)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Antwerp (Belgium)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good in using tools to develop yourself if you want to work hard
    good travel policy
    good benefits & salary

    Cons

    little 2-way communcation
    more focus on errors than on positive in people and organosation
    managing up of leadership team

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    think more about why we are in the business we are in and allow people the time to do their jobs in stead of policing and too much internal reporting

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  9.  

    Well-recognized company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager  in  Painesville, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Painesville, OH (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good training

    Cons

    No chances for promotions.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    We appreciate the feedback, we will look into more opportunities for internal promotions.

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    Lack of Vision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director  in  Painesville, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Director in Painesville, OH (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, colleagues below top management level are quality people with good intentions.

    Cons

    Short sided Leadership team always fishing in the same pods with blind spot for new market potential

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Recognize talent and embrace innovation

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thanks for your review. We'll look into better ways to communicate with the leadership team.

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Proceed at Your Own Risk

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Manager
    Current Employee - Field Manager

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Compensation
    GOLD Program
    Average Benefits
    Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Unhealthy leadership culture at a corporate level
    Poor management of processes and systems
    Disjointed - decentralized company that needs to take a good look in the mirror and figure out who they are and set a strategy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the insights. We're always looking for ways to improve.

Worked for Avery Dennison? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.