Hydrogen Group plc

  www.hydrogengroup.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Hydrogen Group plc Reviews

Updated 8 August 2014
Updated 8 August 2014
33 Reviews

2.5
33 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hydrogen Group plc CEO Tim Smeaton
Tim Smeaton
22 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Recruitment consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Strong brand in some practices - well networked, great reputation for being specialist and delivering. This gives a strong platform for new joiners.
    The commission structure has some mixed reviews but I tend to find the people who say it's terrible are those who are not performing to the right standard. Having researched into the market, most competitors are very ambiguous as to what you will receive commission wise and it's quite often at the discretion of their managers whereas at Hydrogen it's very transparent with even calculators so you can see what you earn each quarter.
    Great incentives - if you work hard and perform well you really do reap the benefits.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change - most of it necessary - but the communication from the leadership teams has been dreadful at times which often leads to gossip which spreads like wildfire.
    It's hard to do a commission scheme where one size fits all - in some areas it can feel easier to make money.
    New hires are often not up to scratch - overconfident and never deliver. Need a better screening process.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Changes have been made. Now let's move forward.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    I work with some great people and have a good time at work (on the whole).

    The environment is a young one yet is starting to get a little more mature. This is a good thing.

    It now feels like the big changes are done with and that we can now stabilise and be more how it used to be. Again; this is a good thing.

    The learning and development team are truly excellent. I have been in recruiting for quite a few years across a few companies and they are the best I have encountered in the industry.

    Cons

    The large amount of changes unsettled a lot of people and we lost some good colleagues (and some less good colleagues to be fair).

    Back office processes are seemingly complicated and front office sales staff have little idea what they are. It's frustrating.

    Communication between areas of the business needs to improve (management to sales and sales to back office). Maybe even a suggestion box? Hub Chatter is really only used for successes and not suggestions.

    KPI system is one size fits all (across some very different recruiting areas). It's not appropriate.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be more visible to staff (a bit of floor walking never hurts).

    No more changes in 2014. Please.

    Reduce sales staff attrition somehow. It's got out of control.

    Approves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Many thanks for your comments. We're glad you understand the longer-term direction of Hydrogen and why changes need to happen. You raise some very valid points. Like all of these reviews, of course ... More

  3.  

    Recruitment Consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Good training. Perfect for a first experience in recruitment.

    Cons

    Big variations from
    A team to another in terms of management. No real long term vision and strategic imput in the work done. Agressive approach to recruitment.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More wore on the merit of a consultative approach to recruitment and try to get rid of wrong managers

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Thank you for your review of Hydrogen. As a matter of course, anybody that leaves the business is offered an exit interview so that we can continually learn and improve. If there was anything you ... More

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Going... Going... Gone.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Started off ok last year but novelty wore off very quickly.

    Great people to work with. If I didn't have this I'd have left 6 months ago. Very relaxed compared with other businesses.

    Thanks honestly about it.

    Cons

    Where do I start.

    Upper Management are seemingly all idiots.
    Culture has turned to crap.
    Salaries are diabolical (I earn less than minimum wage you would do better as a cleaner.)
    Comission is shocking, completely geared against new starters. You have to "pay" for the cost of your seat, so no commission on anything under £10,000. Likely % are about 5-10 after that which is low compared with others.
    CEO doesn't seem to really know what's happening on the ground.
    Vision is just a load of smoke
    Stuffing "values" down our throats.
    Little to no contact between disciplines.
    Other people always screwing up other people's clients, lost key business as a result.
    The list goes on....

    I would not advice starting here. You'd do much better trying to jump in at the deep end elsewhere.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Actually listen to what is happening. Sort out the crap commission structure & pay people a wage that is in line the market average.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Hydrogen has huge potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Hydrogen has the right foundations in place to be really successful now that we have undergone a period of change and transition. We had some great characters here but it was too much of a fun place to be and had only a handful of really successful and driven consultants and leaders. We, in recent months appear to have grown up and fingers crossed will see more high earners and leaders develop in the future. I am excited to see how we look this time next year.

    Cons

    People have to genuinely want it and expectations need to be exceeded not just met so it concerns me that some people being lazy will delay this change happening quick enough to keep the good people interested.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get out more and be inspirational.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Many thanks for your response. It's great to see you understand the longer-term view for Hydrogen and how with us all working towards this, combined with the attitudes of people like yourself, we ... More

  7.  

    Really worried about the future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    If you're a recent grad keen on a party hard culture, H2 is great, 90% of the consultants are fresh out of university - the play-hard culture can be lots of fun.
    They tell a great story and can be very inspirational at times

    Cons

    I've been here for just over 2 years, but I am starting to get worried about what's going to happen in the next 2 years.
    We recently had a 'half year launch' and the presentations given by the senior leadership team were, in a word, awful. The slides were full of typo's and spelling mistakes, some of the directors didn't seem to know their material, some didn't seem to understand the figures, one lacked any conviction/belief in what they were saying. In places it was embarrassing to watch, but the reality is it's just another example of what I've seen happening to the business since I joined.
    We've just released another negative trading statement to the city, admitting that we aren't performing to expectation and it's just occurred to me that we haven't given the city any positive news since I joined - and the recruitment market is supposed to be booming right now!?!?
    A lot has changed since I started, which didn't use to bother me, however, we are changing too often and and too quickly and it's starting to feel like it's all reactive and short term and done to save money and protect our profits rather than because it's the right to do for the long term future of the business and it's for this reason I worry about what the future holds.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest with your people, the spin you put into all the 'inspirational' talks, presentations and sales meetings is starting to wear thin - they might work on all the new hires who don't know any better, but for those of us who've been here a while, I'd like to hear the truth for a change.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Many thanks for your response and for bringing to our attention your concerns. As a current employee of Hydrogen, we would urge you as a first step, to find an AD or senior manager whom you have a ... More

  8.  

    Do not join and if you are in H2 leave for better options!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Some of the people are ok

    Cons

    Low % model, stack them high and sell them cheap model, which means very low earnings for consultants coupled with very long hours. Several examples of woman sleeping there way to the top. Very much a blame culture. Most of the people who work there are either completely untrustworthy or a green at the gills grad. They claim to be what they are not, specialist, expert and thriving.

    Doesn't Recommend

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Thank you for your review of Hydrogen. As a matter of course, anybody that leaves the business is offered an exit interview so that we can continually learn and improve. If there was anything you ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Steadily going downhill

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant  in  London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Colleagues, Good brand, Location, Training

    Cons

    Low pay
    Work-life balance/flexibility
    Commission structure
    Promotion structure uninspiring
    No individual treatment
    Ask for help and don't get it

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Instead of losing consultants to competitors, retain them by showing them their value in the business. A one size fits all approach does not work with regards to promotions etc, good billers are not necessarily good leaders and if you were more supportive you could unlock much more potential with the staff you have rather than letting them go elsewhere and then spending time and money on recruiting again

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Thank you for your review of Hydrogen. As a matter of course, anybody that leaves the business is offered an exit interview so that we can continually learn and improve. If there was anything you ... More

  10.  

    Disappointing and unsupported

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    Brand
    Colleagues
    Office is nice
    Great location
    Good clients
    Very relaxed work environment

    I'm honestly struggling to meet the 20 word minimum for the pros side of things

    Cons

    Commission structure
    Basic salary
    Salary is less than minimum wage and doesn't even pay my living costs even after a year here
    They fired half my team
    All the top billers left
    Stranded in a slow market with little guidance
    Company feels like it is dying or will restructure to a much smaller size

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Try and understand what the employees need and support that. Power points with baseless targets help no one.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Many thanks for your response and for bringing to our attention your concerns. As a current employee of Hydrogen, we would urge you as a first step, to raise these with your Line Manager. However, if ... More

  11.  

    Hydrogen is still a great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee  in  London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)

    Pros

    - Fantastic people, a vibrant high performing culture with some excellent leaders in certain Practices.
    - Unrivalled commission scheme where high performers are frequently earning + £30k per quarter
    - Fantastic training and support for new starters
    - Hard working consultants who are driven to succeed and progress
    - Ambitious strategy and clear direction of where the company is going

    Cons

    Hydrogen has recently undergone a restructure which has probably caused a bit of uncertainty. However, It’s been the right decision for the business and should have a positive impact in the medium term. Every organisation goes through something like this very couple of years.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Approach promotions consistently and fairly and continue to reward high performance. In the past I feel we've been too tolerant of mediocre performance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Hydrogen Group plc Response

    Jul 30, 2014Digital Consultant

    Many thanks for your response. It's great to see you understand the longer-term view for Hydrogen and how with us all working towards this, combined with the attitudes of people like yourself, we ... More

Worked for Hydrogen Group plc? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.