Informatica

www.informatica.com

Informatica Reviews

Updated 29 January 2015
Updated 29 January 2015
457 Reviews
4.2
457 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Informatica Chairman and CEO Sohaib Abbasi
Sohaib Abbasi
365 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Work-life Balance: One of the best IT companies in Bangalore I have seen (in 67 reviews)

  • Informatica has a good work culture compared to many Software product companies (in 30 reviews)


Cons
  • People worked themselves to the bone running in circles for upper management - no work/life balance (in 21 reviews)

  • Work is not a seasonal thing at GCS unlike R&D where everything happens "before" the release time (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Small Higly Skilled Team

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica full-time

    Pros

    Be in the front row of technology with the market leader. Hard-core consultancy experience with great level of independence (no layers of mid to high level managers for the sake of it). Most of the internal applications are self-serve and cloud based making it easy for doing everything by yourself and on-the run.

    Great client base, challenging technical & solution landscape. Great support from global teams and leadership putting technology and brand at the top.

    Cons

    Rapid self phased skilling up

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Should assist in skilling up in fast phase. More attention required here with latest technology landscape changes.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Great location!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    I worked at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Office is in the city in a convenient location, close to transport and amenities. Salary and extras are attractive.

    Cons

    Management changes. Not aligned strategy. Small team.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  3.  

    3 years at Informatica

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Huge investment in training and development

    Cons

    Work/life balance could be improved

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Nov 25, 2013VP Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. Our people are what makes Informatica special. Its great to hear that your growing in your career also.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Well managed with good vision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Melbourne

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and competitive(ish) compensation. I enjoy working at Informatica.

    Cons

    US centric and very difficult to progress internally. The career progression is very limited as it is a small company and there are numerous hires from outside

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Nov 11, 2013HR Director, APJ

    Your feedback is very much appreciated. We continually review the market data to ensure we have competive compensation and benefits for our employees in APJ. Although we have a relatively small ... More

  6.  

    Good company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Open door policy.
    "Can do" attitude
    Nimble
    Great products

    Cons

    Very tactical sales focus
    Possible shift in value of people/employees

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Focus on lowering attrition and increasing value and productivity from existing employees rather than the "drop and replace" strategy that seems to be the latest trend.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Sep 26, 2013Vice President International Human Resources

    Many thanks for taking the time to post this review - it's really helpful for us to hear your feedback! I would love to hear more about your concerns regarding our approach to our people: As you ... More

  7.  

    work-life balance

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica

    Pros

    having good organizational culture. Helping people. Good place to work. lot of event, so you can enhance your talent to other level. Lot of learning oppurtunities.

    Cons

    very hectic for night shift guys. Sometimes work can be extended. Not a big deal that you have to work overtime

    Recommends
  8.  

    Very good experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Informatica

    Pros

    Smart people, good size company

    Cons

    Learning curve is long for new employees

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide training for new employees

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Jan 30, 2015VP Global Talent Acquisition

    Hi there, thanks for the comments. Not sure what part of the world or Org your in but please have a look on our Intranet for InfaEdge. It houses loads and loads of development opportunities. Please ... More

  9.  

    Great Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the best things about working at Informatica is the work and family life balance, the ability to work from home when needed, the overall values of teamwork and excellency, and the CEO has a great way of connecting with the employees and communicating the company goals.

    Cons

    More time should be spent on reflecting on current processes and discussing the most efficient ways of upgrading current workflow processes. Teams can be small and workloads can become demanding when stretched between a small team.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide more opportunities for growth and educational growth. Hold more reviews of current workflow processes to determine how to make departments or teams operate more efficiently.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Jan 28, 2015VP Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for talking the time to leave us a review. We are certainly working diligently to focus on internal movement and right time feedback. The right time feedback program is close to rolling out ... More

  10.  

    Overall a great experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing
    Current Employee - Marketing

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Informatica has a great position in the marketplace and I have never heard a negative word from customers about the solutions. It has a very collaborative environment and full of people who want to win and excel together. All the extended resources are more than ready to help out. They hire very smart and capable people. The work life balance is good and the compensation is very good. Senior management seems to really believe in the company and its future.

    Cons

    As the company is transitioning to become a large organization, it has sometimes lost the "smaller company" feel. It was never a small company, but you always felt like your voice was heard and had the environment of a start-up, a large start-up. Many folks come here from large companies and enjoy the smaller company environment. Don't Lose That.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    As many departments are looking to grow, there needs to be more opportunity for employees rather than looking to the outside to hire. There is a fair amount of promoting from within, but take a closer look at your current personnel who have learned the products, the culture, and are familiar with teams and key player within the company. More promotion from within will reduce the turnover, which seems to be growing in the very recent past.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Informatica Response

    Jan 28, 2015VP Global Talent Acquisition

    Hi there, and thank you for your comments. Your comment about internal movement is well heard and has been based on feedback from a number of employees and on Glassdoor. HR is soon to be scoping a ... More

  11.  

    Great company, fantastic technology, good benefits, amazing employees.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA (US)

    I have been working at Informatica full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Informatica is a hidden gem in the Silicon Valley. The company has best in class technology. The management team is a good mix of company veterans and new talent. The employees that Informatica hires are hard working, dedicated and committed to doing the right thing for the company and its customers.

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done being a mid-size company. The business unit structure can be challenging to navigate, but is certainly possible.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue taking calculated risks as we grow and move into adjacent markets. Be bold about the company and our products.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Informatica Response

    Jan 26, 2015Senior Employer Brand Manager

    Your review is appreciated. There are many employees that would agree with you that Informatica is a hidden gem in the Valley. Although we have a few rough spots around the edges, the company has ... More

Work at Informatica? Share Your Experiences

Informatica

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.