Informatica
3.8 of 5 261 reviews
www.informatica.com Redwood City, CA 1000 to 5000 Employees

Informatica Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.8 261 reviews

                             

94% Approve of the CEO

Informatica Chairman and CEO Sohaib Abbasi

Sohaib Abbasi

(208 ratings)

83% of employees recommend this company to a friend
261 Employee Reviews
Relevance Date Rating
in

Review Highlights

Pros:
  • "Work life balance - Even workload, never forced to work overtime/weekends/late night"
    in 36 reviews
  • "Open work culture, emphasis on innovation and good learning oppurtunities"
    in 20 reviews
Cons:
  • "Work hours are brutal with no work-life balance"
    in 11 reviews
  • "Have to go through politics when getting your idea approved (even if you are in an R & D)"
    in 8 reviews
  • Show more review highlights

Reviews

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

3 years at Informatica

Senior Consultant (Current Employee)
Melbourne

I have been working at Informatica full-time for more than 3 years

ProsHuge investment in training and development

ConsWork/life balance could be improved

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica VP Global Talent Acquisition responded to this review

Nov 25, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. Our people are what makes Informatica special. Its great to hear that your growing in your career also.

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Well managed with good vision

Sales Consultant (Current Employee)
Melbourne

I have been working at Informatica full-time for more than 5 years

ProsFlexible work hours and competitive(ish) compensation. I enjoy working at Informatica.

ConsUS centric and very difficult to progress internally. The career progression is very limited as it is a small company and there are numerous hires from outside

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica HR Director, APJ responded to this review

Nov 11, 2013

Your feedback is very much appreciated. We continually review the market data to ensure we have competive compensation and benefits for our employees in APJ. Although we have a relatively small ... More

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Good company

Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

I have been working at Informatica full-time for more than 10 years

ProsOpen door policy.
"Can do" attitude
Nimble
Great products

ConsVery tactical sales focus
Possible shift in value of people/employees

Advice to Senior ManagementFocus on lowering attrition and increasing value and productivity from existing employees rather than the "drop and replace" strategy that seems to be the latest trend.

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica Vice President International Human Resources responded to this review

Sep 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review - it's really helpful for us to hear your feedback! I would love to hear more about your concerns regarding our approach to our people: As you ... More

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Awesome experience

SE Intern (Current Employee)
Bangalore (India)

I have been working at Informatica as an intern for less than a year

ProsI have been working as intern for last 4 months.Very helpful collegues,Technically challenging job,Good work culture,free lunch and diner.Managers are super cool,they give proper respect to each and every employee .. be it senior or junior

ConsPackage is less. Internship pay is also lesser compared to other companies which are at par.

Advice to Senior ManagementKeep up the good work

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Add Employer Response Flag Review

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Informatica is an Excellent Company to Work For.

Executive Assistant (Current Employee)
Redwood City, CA (US)

I have been working at Informatica full-time for more than a year

ProsPositive Work Environment. Career Growth Opportunities. Great People. Ideal Benefits. Nice Campus and General Location.

ConsNot as well known of a company as others in the Silicon Valley. Pay scale is more on the conservative side, but still reasonable.

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica Vice President International Human Resources responded to this review

Apr 15, 2014

Many thanks for your comments - I'm really pleased that you seem to be enjoying your time here at Informatica!

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Software Engineer Intern

Software Engineer (Current Employee)
Bangalore (India)

I have been working at Informatica as an intern for less than a year

ProsGreat working culture
no workload
flexible timing

ConsCTC for each employees is very varying even if they share the same designation.

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica Sr HRBP responded to this review

Apr 15, 2014

Thanks for taking time to write this feedback; Good to know that you are happy with the culture at Informatica.

Please get in touch with me if you would like to discuss regarding the concern you ... More

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         

 

Awesome company to work for

Software Engineer (Current Employee)
Bangalore (India)

I have been working at Informatica as an intern for less than a year

Prosless work pressure and very helping and friendly colleagues

Consnot yet as the company is a good place to work

Advice to Senior ManagementKeep up the good job

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica Director - Human Resources responded to this review

Apr 01, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to know that you are enjoying your time in Informatica.
Regards,
Mathew

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • No Opinion of CEO

 

A short experience with some good people

Project Manager (Former Employee)
London, England (UK)

I worked at Informatica full-time for more than 3 years

ProsSome good managers who have been here for over 10 years. Good technical knowledge.

ConsI did not feel customers were treated properly. Teams under pressure to meet sales target and work in silos.
The strategy speech sounded like an old record.

Advice to Senior ManagementStart to think strategically and hire some fresh faces in Sales very "senior" management. This company could do better after all these years delivering the same story.

No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Flag Review

Informatica Vice President International Human Resources responded to this review

Apr 15, 2014

Thanks for your comments - we really do appreciate the insight!

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Disapproves of CEO

 

Great products, poor leadership in many areas

Anonymous Employee (Former Employee)

I worked at Informatica

ProsInteresting technology, passionate 1st line managers and ICs, decent, central location on the Peninsula, flexible with hours and decent work life balance

ConsPoor leadership, especially at the highest levels of Human Resources and Talent Acquisition. Benefits are okay but not really great.

No, I would not recommend this company to a friend

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Add Employer Response Flag Review

  • Culture & Values
         
  • Work/Life Balance
         
  • Senior Management
         
  • Comp & Benefits
         
  • Career Opportunities
         
  • Approves of CEO

 

Good Culture

Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)
Redwood City, CA (US)

I have been working at Informatica full-time for less than a year

ProsGood team culture
Emphasis on training
Good team and a productive environment
Nice work space and loaded laptops.
Pool and ping pong tables.

ConsSince is located all the way in Redwood City at the Pacific Shores center, the commute is kind of taxing. Since people who are new to the Bay Area prefer to stay further down south in Sunnyvale or Santa Clara, commuting to work is really bad.
Compensation is mediocre and not top notch

Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

Was this review helpful?
Yes | No
Add Employer Response Flag Review
RSS Feed Embed

Worked for Informatica? Contribute to the Community!

Informatica Videos

Loading...

Informatica – Why Work for Us?

We Put Potential to Work We believe the information potential is endless—and data integration is more important than ever. We believe it is the bedrock of truth that enables organizations to ask and answer even more… Full Overview

Provided by employer [?]

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.

Glassdoor is your free inside look at Informatica reviews and ratings - including employee satisfaction and approval ratings for Informatica CEO Sohaib Abbasi. All 261 reviews are posted anonymously by Informatica employees.