Supermedia Reviews

Updated 9 March 2015
326 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
2.2
326 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
166 Ratings

Pros
  • Benefits are good, commission not bad and my co-workers are great (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore (in 41 reviews)

  • Upper management takes care of themselves - no loyalty for those of us who have been loyal (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Change is Good

    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX (US)
    Former Employee - Sales in DFW, TX (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Under long overdue and hopefully capable new management. The firm has jettisoned unnecessary and overpaid personnel, which should allow improved cash flows and a renewed focus on client-centered activity.

    Cons

    Centralized sales offices have been paired down to a few telephone call centers located, in many cases, far away from the SMBs the company intends to serve. Most local sales offices have been closed with sales reps working from home. Ongoing coaching and training will be minimal, moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to streamline the operation, focus on the client and their measurable results, and look for opportunities to exploit the growth the growth of mobile technologies.

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate your 10+ years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback. -Ed

  2. Offshoring, Bankruptcy, down-sizing, limits employee potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL (US)
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Teammates were good to work with

    Cons

    Career growth/advancement opportunities were few and far between

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 06, 2015Dex Media Corporate

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed

  3. I've been with the company almost 14 years the first 8 years were wonderful we worked hard but were paid well .

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD (US)
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD (US)

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    If you are a hunter and are good at finding new business this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    working from home now not going to an office is very different lonely and very hard

    Advice to Management

    too late to go back to print now

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 02, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 10 + years of dedicated service. Keep up the great work and we look forward to a brighter future together. -Ed

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Good time management space

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Good time management space. Good benefits

    Cons

    No real leadership and direction is all over the place

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015Employee

    Hi- Thank you very much for your time and service provided to Dex Media and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed

  6. Junk Products, Great Pay

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Media Consultant
    Former Employee - Media Consultant

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Solid Paycheck
    Friendly Co-Workers
    Didn't have to sit in an office all day

    Cons

    Lots of travel
    Rip off their customers
    Products don't work
    Management is clueless

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to understand the world today and stop living in 1989.

  7. Rollercoaster Ride- if you dare !!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I love the people that I work with here and my clinets.

    Cons

    Products (internt) don't work. Have to do mor customer service for my clients than selling.

    Advice to Management

    We need inovative, creative Managers that know how to sell !!!!! Not here because of who they know and there time with the Company.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 13, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're continuously working to improve our products on a daily basis as we feel this is the only way to successfully offer our clients the best services for their business. Thank you for your ... More

  8. Multi year top 5% ......use to be a good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA (US)
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA (US)

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    If you have experience, not hard to be a top producer.

    Cons

    Not interested in building relationships with business owners. Force accounts to certain "key" reps. Constant turnover. Mgmt has hard time motivating sales reps and resorts to threats and intimidation to force sales activity.

    Advice to Management

    Get out while you can.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We hate to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined. We certainly want our employees to have faith in the company and products that we offer. If you'd like to discuss some of your concerns ... More

  9. sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    great salary and benefits for employees. really nice people to work with and had some opportunity for growth. Experienced staff at most levels.

    Cons

    poor leadership with very little insight, management was out of touch with the reality of the work place, a lot of focus on avoiding layoffs with little thought towards listening to the employees.

    Advice to Management

    deal with the reality of the marketplace.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback.

  10. Account manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Not a lot with this company

    Cons

    No one had a good direction for the company

    Advice to Management

    Have more management from the auto industry

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your time and service to the company and we appreciate you providing your feedback. -Ed

  11. Helpful (1)

    Constant Change

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot there. Lots of good people have worked there over the years.

    Cons

    Priorities change there multiple times a year. Too bureaucratic for a company looking to transform. Highly Inefficient.

    Advice to Management

    Get one plan and stick to it before you change to another.

    Supermedia Response

    Jan 13, 2015Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Change and evolution of a company can be difficult for all involved. We greatly appreciate your service and for taking the time to post your feedback. -Ed

Work at Supermedia? Share Your Experiences

Supermedia

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.