blinkx

  www.blinkx.com
  www.blinkx.com

blinkx Reviews

Updated 5 October 2014
Updated 5 October 2014
78 Reviews
3.0
78 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
37 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good compensation, good benefits, flexible hours and good opportunities for advancement (in 6 reviews)

  • They also provide free snacks/beverages and do a staff lunch every Thursday which is generous of them (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Worst senior management team (at least from engineering perspective) I've ever worked with (in 7 reviews)

  • There is no one leading the company (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great perks, some instability

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Small office with a relaxed atmosphere and great group of employees. Challenging work and an opportunity to learn a variety of areas

    Cons

    Some instability, including high turnover. Not a lot of room for advancement

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for the review. Blinkx does provide great benefits to its employees and we are glad you agree! Our company has become more efficient and strategic in the past year, which comes with changes ... More

  2.  

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great working environment with flexible work life balance, which is good for my family life. Good pay and benefits. I really feel part of the team, and it was clear my work is appreciated and my hard efforts do go rewarded.

    I have found my team leaders/management to be both responsive and helpful. So am not sure why so many reviews here are so negative.

    Blinkx has many exciting products and is being well lead by senior management (even if the current mood of investors is very negative towards the company, it is not so for those of us working here).

    Cons

    Expect employees to work hard. So if this is not you then you may find life hard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I expect our hard work will bear fruit shortly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you feel part of the team! We strive to create a great team that works together. Our challenges make us stronger and as you ... More

  3.  

    Great company going places

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England (UK)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Really dynamic place, it is clear there is something going on behind the scenes. No one overly concerned about the latest results and are looking at the future.

    Cons

    The snacks are not that good, you coudl always do with longer holidays and I wish I had more options because they are going to be worth loads soon

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up we are all behind you. The best company I have ever worked for and I started Apple witht hose other two guys.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! You are a blinkx rockstar with over 10 years tenure! Blinkx is committed to continuing to develop a work environment that is diverse, collaborative, and encouraging ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 6 people found this helpful  

    Not worthy of your talent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)

    I worked at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, paid holidays, vacation time.

    Cons

    Lack of vision and leadership and desperation in product development are the norm at this place. At one point management said the only message from the CEO was "revenue needs to go up, and costs need to go down." That is not leadership. Basically it seems that management has a suite of old, disliked products that are considered annoyances to most users and Internet companies and instead of trying to innovate a new direction on the model, they are simply patching and reshaping the old stuff in a desperate attempt to keep them ticking. It's a dying strategy. Most of management's role seems to be to watch graphs and say "fix it now!" when the numbers aren't what they want.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Leadership comes from the top, not trying to force your employees to come up with "get rich quick" ideas or patching your already disliked products to squeak out one more month of life. Punishing your best employees by taking away their bonuses that they depend on is a bad idea. Recognize the talent of your employees and their dedication to getting it right, not just looking at numbers and screaming. If this is the way you want to do it, you would be better off just acquiring whatever works in the market, and outsourcing its maintenance until you run it into the ground, and then look for the next one.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Blinkx strives to ensure a positive work environment for all of its employees and takes your constructive criticism very seriously. If you’d like to discuss further ... More

  6. 4 people found this helpful  

    CEO needs to go

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The people you work with day to day are smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    No vision strategy or leadership at the top is made worse by questionable ethics and business practices they pretend don't exist. CEO doesn't care at all about employees and morale has been declining for a long time. Miserable place to work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a leader who can turn the company around, otherwise it will continue to fall apart.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry to hear your thoughts on blinkx and our leadership team. Blinkx strives for excellence and works tirelessly to make sure the company is a success. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  7. 2 people found this helpful  

    Pathetic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen, industry standard benefits

    Cons

    Micro-mismanagement, slave drivers, unorganized chaos, project managers are non-existent, understaffed due to high turnover rates, prioritization is questionable, unrealistic pay, shady company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bring on more directorate level staff; listen to your employees who have experience over those that truly do not have a clue; be realistic about hiring personnel; respect your employees and pay them appropriately; actually hire some project managers and get your priorities straight

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience with our company was unfavorable. We would be happy to discuss your concerns, please contact [email protected] .

  8.  

    Lot's of autonomy and perfect job for the self-starter who doesn't need a lot of supervision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    there's a lot of ears open when you voice your opinion. You have the freedom to really branch out and take on whatever role you'd like to take. If you have initiative, you can pull in other employees from other departments or divisions to really make a difference..

    Cons

    The industry is very fast face and ever changing. Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with all the changes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep looking out for the A players who are looking to take on more, and make sure they're recognized and noticed for their contributions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with blinkx.

  9. 8 people found this helpful  

    Used to be a nice place to work, not so much anymore.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free food, decent healthcare, flexible schedule. That's really about it, I would say people, but the smart ones are running for the door.

    Cons

    Prepare to be underpaid if you come work here. Blinkx promises to pay a 'bonus' instead of paying employees fair market value, they make up the difference with this 'bonus' and then fail to pay it, it's a scam. Forget about moving up or improving your career, when I asked about the promotion I'd been promised for years, I was told point blank that it would NEVER happen. How's that for leadership?

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop having meetings where you just brag about how much money you're making and actually pay your employees, setup a 401k match, hire people to fill the quickly emptying seats, and also figure out a single unifying plan for the company instead of the throw everything at the wall and see what sticks approach. Stop issuing stock options to only your senior executives and start issuing them to your employees that actually get work done again. Not that the stock is worth anything anymore.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Aug 5, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and comments regarding employment at blinkx. We take this forum and comments made, very seriously. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  10. 6 people found this helpful  

    You'll gain experience here.. because you literally have to think on your feet and fix everything that breaks each week.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work-life balance is great, making your own hours, even though you're expected to work weekends... The office culture is split into two. Once someone has pass the 4/5 year mark, you're in with the "good ol boys" group. Free snacks in the kitchen... nothing but junk food. Want to learn a new skill in a hurry? Great because there's always something that's been broken for weeks...years... and it needs to be fixed now.

    Cons

    Please read the comments below the last 3. True wisdom is there and please run.. RUN. You're on your own after a few months. Not much help or praise is given, a half smile "good job" here or there or "thanks". Then back to work. You're paid next to nothing, and they know it- this is something they're proud of! It's an office full of desperation.... While you look at your co-workers in pity knowing all the hard work they put in for the less than measly pay given. Expect yearly cuts in any bonus, mbos, etc. Forget about an increase in salary or growing with the company in any way shape or form.. except for when others start to leave. They won't hire someone to replace them.... That's now your responsibility. Expect to wear many hats and deal with "that's not my job" and "we have to get this done so stay late" types in the office.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Validate your employees hard work. Pay them what they're worth. Be loyal to them and the favor will return.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry you are having a negative experience at blinkx. Over the past 10 years we have worked tirelessly to make this a great place to come to work. We are extremely proud of the company and ... More

  11.  

    how is it to work at blinkx

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    convinient, nice location, great office space

    Cons

    salary, stock in really bad state

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 23, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy the office environment. We are always open to additional feedback. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] and an HR ... More

Work at blinkx? Share Your Experiences

blinkx

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.