24 Hour Fitness Club Manager Reviews

Updated 19 May 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
29%
Recommend to a Friend
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
0 Rating
  1. "Club Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in Oxnard, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun Environment where you will meet some great and inspiring people, both customers and employees.

    Cons

    Club Managers are expected to be, and treated like glorified sales reps. Company expects CMs to spend majority of their time selling instead of managing.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2017-05-20

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    November 29, 2017Sr. HR Project Manager

    Thank you for your time at 24 Hour Fitness. Sorry you felt that as a GM you were a glorified sales rep. We strive to create an environment where our employees feel empowered to succeed and grow. We are dedicated to providing the necessary tools and resources to assist employees with their development. If you provide us more detail we will look into this issue. Send us an email, Careers@24hourfit.com

  2. "Monopoly of Stupid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working in the fitness industry. You can be surrounded be a lot of fun, positive people. Depends on the club, though. Some commission sales people are very self centered, one dimensional jerks.

    Cons

    Upper management is clueless. Everything changes frequently, too frequently for any type of consistency to grow through repetitive training and action. Upper management is trying to squeeze every dime out of the company to position to sell (again0, and it makes for a very negative environment. Corporate will gain everything financially with the next move, and very freely blames the field for failing to realize their dreams. If you can't settle on a method, and your communication to the field is poor and constantly changing, the flaws and failures are in your lap, not the field. The worst run company I have every worked for.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2017-04-26

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    November 28, 2017Talent Acquisition Analyst

    That you for your service with 24 Hour Fitness, and for the time you spent enabling our members to live happier and healthier. We're bummed to hear that you had a negative experience with us. It is important to us to ensure that our leadership team has the appropriate tools and resources to effectively lead their teams, and we are continually evaluating our development programs and leadership tools and resources to improve and be better. If you have any suggestions, we'd love to hear them! You can send us an email at careers@24hourfit.com. Thanks!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Holy Cow the revolving door!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay inexperienced trainers pretty decent and Club Managers get a good base salary. Its prolly not a bad gig if you worked front desk or group X where you dont have goals or the desire to make money.

    Cons

    They pay everyone else in the building absolutely terribly. If you are into fitness and are good at sales, you can make more at any other competitor that has a commission plan. 24 has all their comp plans set up so that your draw/threshold will not allow you to make what you could elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2017-01-17
  4. "Potential for Greatness"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal brother and sisterhood Great energy from the top leaders, down Motivating to do great

    Cons

    My personal experience was that I was set up for failure. I was an external hire, given a faulty club, already broken and neglected, and I was screaming for help but upper levels said that my club wasn't even one of the worst. So that told me they neglected too many clubs and weren't listening to their selected managers.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-10-11
  5. "Sales Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager/Club Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    When I was there it was a sales environment and they really took care of their employees. You could do really well when you were doing your job and hitting your goals.

    Cons

    They were going through a transition on how to run the business. Going from a sales environment to retail environment. It didn't work to well but I believe they have gone back to their roots which is what made them successful in the first place

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Club Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Club Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Base salary is fair. Can be fun to work in a gym.

    Cons

    Lots of hours. Tough on work life balance. Constantly changing strategies and pricing. Culture of the company has gone downhill in the last couple years under new ownership and senior level management.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-06-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Club Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay was decent, and the benefits were great. I enjoyed working with my team in the gym. You do get a free membership and have access to all the local facilities.

    Cons

    work life balance. I would typically work 10 hour days. During the busy times of the year you can expect to work 6 or 7 day weeks. There is also constant change of the compensation plan. Bonuses are usually hard to hit as well.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-06-09
  8. "Club Manager"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Club Manager in Boys Town, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher Base than typical big box

    Cons

    Like most big box companies they give you pie in the sky expectations

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-05-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Club manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free membership, CM Summit, availability to change a persons life because of fitness.

    Cons

    Mixed messages from management. They say performance is a factor, but reality is if you are in the good graces of your boss you are safe. Witness a manager fail at countless club and they just moved him around. Another manager was one and done. Not ethical, lack of integrity.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-04-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For the first 4 years pay was on par with work done - compensation was good and had lots of incentives but after that all incetives were cut easentially a 50% decrease in pay -

    Cons

    Turn over is super high and for a manager the budget for staff and supplies was a joke who ever sets the budget has no idea about standard cost or even running an efficient club - budgets were inconsistent and not approriate to the club usage numbers.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-04-19
Found 51 reviews