24 Hour Fitness General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

24 Hour Fitness General Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
2 Ratings
  1. "EXPECT A LOT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Advancement potential - lots of clubs

    Cons

    Management is very difficult and home life might be compromised.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and they will invest in you

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It's fun, but you won't attain financial freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment, keeps you in a healthy life mindset, you get to interact with people from diverse backgrounds and benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    The only day they close is Christmas day, so no holidays off, unless your corporate and they enjoy a lot of holidays off. They say its about changing people's lives, but all the business calls I was ever on were about numbers, not changing people's lives. The pay for management is on the lower side.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "24 Hour fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay,great environment, great people, free gym

    Cons

    Work load, hours, high stress

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-23
  4. "Overall great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, with lots of opportunity for advancement. Promotes and encourages healthy lifestyle, great benefits.

    Cons

    High turnover. Both front line and senior leadership. Must be flexible to survive.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-07-22
  5. "Demanding work supporting your community in health and wellness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Empowered to make decisions and make your vision a reality

    Cons

    Poor communication from company leadership and little training or development

    Advice to Management

    Invest more of your time supporting your field leaders.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-07-11
  6. "24 hour fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Santee, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance. Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Hard to bonus based on dues tap.

    Advice to Management

    pos cash bonus

    24 Hour Fitness2019-07-04
  7. "Demanding and Consistent Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a free membership and build great peer to peer relationships.

    Cons

    The members can be be quite challenging and can harass employees without consequences. Programs and business structure is consistently changing.

    Advice to Management

    Please spend one on one time developing your teams and let time on conference calls. Back up the team that has your back.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-07-15
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Opportunity for Growth

    Cons

    Not the best pay for the job, but not the worst

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-23
  9. "24 Atmosphere is fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment , Good team structure

    Cons

    Switching Management Around

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-21
  10. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary for GM positions and higher

    Cons

    Work life balance could be better.

    Advice to Management

    I have promoted every year that I have been with the company.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-09-18
Found 44 reviews