24 Hour Fitness Membership Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Membership Manager

24 Hour Fitness Membership Manager Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
0 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Assistant Manager 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun, active, on your feet

    Cons

    expectations can be a little unrealistic much for sales goals.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-03-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Membership Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting a lot of new people(team and members) that you inspire, and they inspire you. Also making friendships that you'll take with you upon leaving. Learning things about fitness that you never would have learned otherwise.

    Cons

    Unfortunately you meet a few fake people on the team and in upper mgmt. It's all a matter of who likes you, and who has your back. Politics with certain club mgrs & district mgrs. If you pay close attn in mgmt you see hypocrisy, dishonesty, lack of integrity, and you can be told to wait for a promotion while seeing people less experienced and less qualified, or just not as good at the job, move ahead just because a certain club mgr or district mgr wants that for them.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-04-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place Great Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Structure, good pay for managers, Growth within the company, Great name brand to sell, online sales commision

    Cons

    high thresholds at smaller clubs, have to beat an hourly rate higher than your pay in commission before you can start making money on your sales, sales advisors are high turnover due to the minimum wage pay... older smaller clubs are falling apart and dirty changed compensation for all employees twice in six months

    24 Hour Fitness2016-03-16
  4. "Buy In"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth, once you've bought into the vision of the company.

    Cons

    Pay for the team members who aren't department heads.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2016-03-23
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Membership Sales Manager in Houston, TX

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for 24 Hour Fitness will allow you to make as much money as you want, along with a free gym membership.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover. They put a plan in action and make changes before they can be fully implemented.

    24 Hour Fitness2015-11-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Shady Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Membership Manager in San Leandro, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Free gym access & fun upbeat work environment

    Cons

    Management has hidden agendas which are very shady. Be careful when coming on-board with this company. Company does not have your back and will drop you in two seconds.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2015-09-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Department Head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Membership Manager in Castle Rock, CO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, healthy environment. Fast growing company

    Cons

    Compensation. Pushy sales tactics, feels like you're selling cars after a while

    24 Hour Fitness2015-08-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Membership Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Membership Manager in New Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    A free gym membership, mostly positive environment, and the appeal of working in the health and fitness industry were the initial draws to working for this health club. The company is large and expanding, and they do offer quite a bit of resources for employees to better their career. And there can be some decent compensation made...but there's a few issues. Please see the "cons" section.

    Cons

    The cons are, like many companies, 24 Hour fitness can change their mind and alter any promises made to any employee at any time. The pay structure is changed constantly, and what you were told was going to be your rate of pay at the time you were hired can be altered and/or significantly reduced at any time. In fact, you should expect it, as almost every employee that I know, from front desk to general manager, has had their pay greatly reduced and their bonuses / commissions removed routinely. When you try to professionally communicate your concerns with upper management you are all but ignored. The company presents themselves as employee friendly, but it is just a ruse to attract talent. Once you are hired all the perks and benefits are systematically reduced and removed. And, like a frog in a frying pan, you rarely even notice your own detrimental situation until it is too late. If you want a part-time job and a free gym membership, have at it. If you want a career, you will make more money managing a fast-food restaurant. I know, I looked up the statistics.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2015-08-11
  9. "Healthly Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your lunches turn into workouts, Fun work environment,sales is going back to commission so lots more money up for grabs!

    Cons

    Hours, Weekends, and work life balance

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2015-07-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Membership Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Membership Manager in Plantation, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    None. Horrible told me I was going to be a club manager in training and made me a membership councelor for 8$ an hour and told me to do what I was told. I have a bachelors degree and five years in fitness management.

    Cons

    All bad horrible management no structure very unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2015-07-28
Found 40 reviews