24 Hour Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

24 Hour Fitness Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They don’t give raises ( barely minimum wage) & unfortunately the front desk reps are usually expose to danger (they’re exposed to risks)(in 94 reviews)

  • "The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun place to teach group classes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group X Instructor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    So many nearby clubs and opportunities to teach a regular class and also so many opportunities to sub classes for others. The members are generally really nice, positive, and fun. The facilities are great.

    Cons

    They don't pay as much as some clubs to teach the class.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-18
  2. "Feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere Free membership Room to transfer throughout the country

    Cons

    Low pay Not much room for growth and advancement

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate... pay employees more

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-10
  3. "Lots of Turnover, Poor Corporate Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Lots of Traffic Commission Can Be Lucrative

    Cons

    High Turnover Poor Management No Stable Culture

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-20
  4. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids Club Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, supportive environment, fun, free membership

    Cons

    Disorganized management, low pay, short hours

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-19
  5. "Personal trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Personal Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to create your own schedule.

    Cons

    Pay starting out can be rough.

    Advice to Management

    Put trainers first

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-03
  6. "Answer phones, sell memberships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy, chill. Good Envornment to work.

    Cons

    Bad corporate, does not check in. No commission

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-16
  7. "Not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When youre with a client, you make a lot of money, free gym membership kept me on longer than i should have

    Cons

    When not with a client, you make $7 an hour and they will probably ask you to clock out (at work) if u are not slaving away. Not a good idea if you need money now or in the next 6-7 months which is about how long it takes to build a decent business

    Advice to Management

    Is the company broke? Why act like this

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-13
  8. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, interesting clients, free membership

    Cons

    Terrible management/corporate, customers complain about corporate to employees, inconsistent scheduling, no guarantee on hours

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-08
  9. "Employee Experience Depends a lot on Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Personal Trainer 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, warm leads, fairly cool management

    Cons

    poor pay, poor maintenance of facilities and equipment in older locations, high prices for training, trainers keep very little of the money paid by clients, no pricing incentives for long-term clients

    Advice to Management

    The management at my location has been great, but who knows what will happen if and when management changes. The individuals I work for are wonderful. Upper management doesn't pay much attention to my location. The transition to the new computer program has taken forever and is still inconsistent. One of our computers was out for a full six months and regional management didn't seem concerned. All trainers and GroupX instructors had to share one computer. Pricing on training keeps increasing, with no incentives for longer term clients to re-sign, making it difficult to retain clients. We do appreciate the respect for our schedules and work-life balance, though. This is a great job for people pursuing higher education, as one can easily tailor availability around a school schedule. Member culture is wonderful and the staff is really great to each other. I believe the culture in my location has been created by the management, and I really appreciate it.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-07
  10. "Not difficult, not well supported, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copier Salesman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Easy. Not challenging. People focus. Customer service.

    Cons

    Not challenging. Boring. Sales/commission heavy if you want to earn any sort of good money. Company wants you to work off the clock and expects you to not have sick days or vacation days.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-08
Found 2190 reviews