24 Hour Fitness Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
102 Ratings
  1. "Lack cohesive leadership, unnecessary politics, closed minded thinking"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free gym membership as an employee, flexible working hours, opportunities to workout / be healthy

    Cons

    Revolving leadership that only cares about the bottom line; clicky company culture where certain personalilties and 'friends' get promoted

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-30
  2. "Excellent"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    I love the flexibility it allows with schedule

    Cons

    Pay rate is a bit low

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-13
  3. "Underpaid"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    You make your own schedule

    Cons

    If you don’t sale you don’t make money. You can be a great trainer but if your sales suck you won’t succeed in this career.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-27
  4. "Not a bad job during college"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids Club Attendant in San Jose, CA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Had a great supervisor (Valerie @ Crane Ct. location) - Pretty flexible when it came down to it. - Convenient hours for college students. - Love working with most kiddoes - Made connections with people for child care outside of 24.

    Cons

    - Pay isn't the greatest. - Support to kids club wasn't the greatest, sometimes we would get forgotten. - Some parents forget their kids and dont follow rules (gets complicated)

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-12
  5. "Great first job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free membership, good hours, flexibility

    Cons

    management, getting laid off, rude customers

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-07
  6. "average experience for a beginning"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Victoriaville, QC

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    ok experience for a beginner trainer

    Cons

    pay is too low a

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-22
  7. "Looking to lead a team of personal trainers/coaches"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Manager in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed team environment. Coaching and developing trainers.

    Cons

    Constant compensation changes every year.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-06
  8. "Master Personal Trainer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Personal Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Access to various client base

    Cons

    -Do not care as much about the quality of PT, but how much commission you bring in. -Poor Salary -Survive on commission -Heavy club turnover

    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-19
  9. "Outrageous expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, bonuses, the people, peers, changing people's lives

    Cons

    Frequent hard pivots in ways of doing business, inconsistency, poor upper management (DM specifically), lack of accountability with upper management. Need to balance pay to performance expectations with front line team.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-18
  10. "Ehhh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and fun environment. Depends on the location.

    Cons

    Ever-changing corporate procedures, and constant complaints from members about things that corporate will do nothing about. It’s like 24 is living 10 years in the past.

    Continue reading
    24 Hour Fitness2020-05-13
Found 2271 reviews