84 Lumber Area Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Area Manager

84 Lumber Area Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
84 Lumber CEO Maggie Hardy Knox
Maggie Hardy Knox
5 Ratings
  1. "Make what your worth with 84 Lumber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is based off of performance. Company promotes from with in the company. Great culture and comradery. Allows you to be an entrepreneur of your own store or area.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance, to be successful in any business you have to put the time in.

    84 Lumber2019-08-01

    84 Lumber Response

    August 22, 2019Western Office Director

    Thank you for the honest feedback on hours and pay. Many people enjoy managing an 84 Lumber store because it is like owning your own business.

  2. "Abundant opportunities for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you come to work everyday, work hard, and have the drive and desire to be successful, you will be here.

    Cons

    Not an easy day's work but associates are rewarded for performance and hard work.

    84 Lumber2019-08-01

    84 Lumber Response

    August 22, 2019Western Office Director

    Thank for the honest feedback about the job being physically demanding.

  3. "The Golden Ticket of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *Opportunities for Professional & Personal Growth are Plentiful! *How Quick You Move Up is Determined by You! *Great Benefits Especially the 401k & Profit Sharing Program! *Have the Autonomy to Make Business Decisions that You Feel are Best for the Growth of your Store. *Owner is Extremely Dedicated to her People.

    Cons

    *Not sure there are any worth mentioning. As with any Company, we're not perfect, but we're pretty close.

    84 Lumber2019-07-22

    84 Lumber Response

    August 22, 2019Western Office Director

    Thank you for the feedback on personal and professional growth inside the company. You do get out of it what you put into it.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great career opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for a career with an outstanding company, even if you have no prior wxperience. Compensation is set up in a way that you are paid a regular hourly pay, plus incentives based on your performance (which only people with little or no drive would not appreciate). With 84, you are also promoted based on performance.

    Cons

    There are not many cons here, the only thing I can say is this: if you are looking for a "job", and want to get a paycheck every week while doing the least amount of work possible, this is not for you. With 84, you will work hard, and when you do, you will be rewarded for it.

    Advice to Management

    Don't settle for anything, in regard to people or standards. Consistently look for ways to make yourself, your store, and your company better.

    84 Lumber2015-07-17

    84 Lumber Response

    February 18, 2016Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great 14 years of learning, growing, and moving up the ladder."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can make as much money as you want depending on what position you are in. The pay can be very lucrative if you put in the effort. I like working for a privately owned company that is transparent with the financials and it feels like we work for our family instead of a corporation.

    Cons

    Longs hours would be the biggest, but as long as you stay busy, the day goes by fast.

    Advice to Management

    Within 12 months of starting with the company I was managing a store. If you work hard and try your best everyday, advancements can be very quick.

    84 Lumber2015-04-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team atmosphere Freedom to run store to fit the market Excellent bonus opportunities and competitive salary Great ownership, owner cares about her people

    Cons

    If you lack work ethic, you need not apply. This is a physical job from manager trainee to manager. Heavy diet of math as well.

    84 Lumber2015-03-01

    84 Lumber Response

    March 12, 2015Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback! We appreciate all you do!

  7. "Good company to work for for a while. Then get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Area Manager in
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 84 Lumber

    Pros

    Hands on environment. People oriented

    Cons

    You work long hours. The company is very demanding

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to opportunities

    84 Lumber2009-03-25
Found 7 reviews