A.T. Kearney Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

A.T. Kearney Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 807 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
A.T. Kearney CEO Alex Liu
Alex Liu
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can be strained depending on type of project(in 126 reviews)

  • "Can get busy with travel and long hours(in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Learning and development - Global work experience - Mix of strategy and operations projects - Pay - Overall work-life balance

    Cons

    - Sometimes the hours can be bad, but it's project-dependent

    Advice to Management

    Deep innovation to ensure longevity for another century

    A.T. Kearney2019-07-15
  2. "Gold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rockstars, legends, pirates and priests

    Cons

    Hard work, competitive, best kept secret in consulting

    Advice to Management

    Go hard

    A.T. Kearney2019-06-24
  3. "Great consulting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart, down to earth consultants

    Cons

    Like all consulting firms, long hours, unpredictable schedules, excessive pressure

    Advice to Management

    Breakout of the old paradigm, define a new model for consulting - one that is sustainable, promotes diversity, and still achieves great results for the clients

    A.T. Kearney2019-05-08
  4. "Great perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great perks including gym memberships and top private healthcare Wide variety of work Working directly for partners

    Cons

    Working directly for partners is also a negative as they all hold a stake in the business, meaning they can be very demanding. A good thing if you need the push/motivation but bad sometimes quite intense

    A.T. Kearney2019-03-08
  5. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Very collaborative culture across the globe - Entrepreneurial spirit underpinning everything, willing and wanting to try new things and willing to take some chances to test things out (chances still relative to a generally conservative consulting firm)

    Cons

    - While a strong drive to create thought leadership across everything they do, struggle with with size and scale compared to major competitors at MBB firms - If part of a smaller Unit / region, building specialisation in field/industry/service offering is very difficult - Standard consulting cons, i.e. long working hours, high client expectations as set by over promising of sales team to begin with

    A.T. Kearney2019-03-02
  6. "Associate Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time

    Pros

    Some interesting work with diverse clients

    Cons

    Lack of brand recognition outside industry

    A.T. Kearney2018-07-30

    A.T. Kearney Response

    September 17, 2018Global Head of Communications

    We continue to elevate our brand by focusing on great client work and supporting the personal success of our people.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of inspiring leaders, don't stay for more than a few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.T. Kearney full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - OK place to start a career: it's a decent brand in Australia (although there are increasingly competitive roles now, such as PE, and even top global MBAs that will mainly value a truly tier-1 consulting company, e.g. MBB and not AT Kearney) - Great feeder to corporate strategy teams in Coles and SEEK, if that is your career aspiration in life - Young and humble workforce makes the brutal work conditions more... bearable ("work hard play hard" right?) - maybe we aren't as stuck up as the MBB kids but there is a downside to this... see below in Cons about the insecure overachiever point

    Show More

    Cons

    - No one in the company is someone I would look up to as a great leader in the business world - You will be surrounded by 'insecure overachievers', who are extremely risk-averse and the ones who stay have convinced themselves that consulting is their only choice -- stay here for too long and you'll start to think the same. It's true for all of consulting but especially true for those from AT Kearney, who have... already accepted a position here instead of MBB, and so you are not surrounded by people who will really challenge you to strive for bigger and better things in life (just promotions)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think scale and brand is extremely important in the consulting industry, and I can't see how we will win in the long-term. The last few years have seen us LOSE share to MBB. What is our plan?

    A.T. Kearney2018-07-29

    A.T. Kearney Response

    October 12, 2018Global Head of Communications

    We appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Alex Liu was elected managing partner in May 2018. He is focused on supporting A.T. Kearney's clients, capabilities, and culture. Learn more about his vision for the firm in this Financial Times article from October 2018: https://www.atkearney.com/a.t.-kearney-s-alex-liu-taking-on-the-big-league

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of interesting projects/ no training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, nice people and culture

    Cons

    Company politics,projects are very boring

    A.T. Kearney2018-06-10
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A.T. Kearney full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work to learn

    Cons

    Long working hours including weekend

    A.T. Kearney2017-12-05

    A.T. Kearney Response

    December 8, 2017Global Head of Communications

    Thank you for your review!

  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.T. Kearney full-time

    Pros

    Very nice people. Good atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay is not high enough

    A.T. Kearney2017-12-08

    A.T. Kearney Response

    December 8, 2017Global Head of Communications

    Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoy our culture. We strive to provide competitive compensation packages.

Found 807 reviews