AECOM Associate Director Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AECOM Associate Director Reviews

Updated 9 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
AECOM CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work on the best projects in Australia and globally. Leadership team who clearly work well together well and are genuinely passionate about the employees and what we do. Tends to attract the top talent, particularly at graduate level. Progressive in terms of flexible working and diversity initiatives. Well ahead of peers in this regard.

    Cons

    Being part of a very large global company does have its drawbacks such as numerous systems and procedures to work with. Due to its scale the company can be quite conservative and less nimble than smaller organisations. Pay and benefits is typically around the median for the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with flexibility and diversity initiatives as they contribute to making AECOM a great place to work. More focus now needs to go on environmental outcomes and the company’s support of renewable energy. Time to take a stand and step away from any new build thermal coal projects.

    AECOM2018-06-13
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Very Orwellian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, good projects, great junior staff, generally nice offices, flexible working conditions, diverse client base, giant global multidisciplinary beast.

    Cons

    Welcome to 1984! Doublespeak galore. Horrible bullying management. Very low technical capability despite their claims. Only concern is high staff utilisation at any cost which drives very bad behaviours. Worst company I ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to yourselves! Stop the bullying. Do what you claim to do and put your clients' interest first.

    AECOM2016-09-02
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Not the company it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM

    Pros

    It was once a great company to work for before becoming bloated, and introducing a 40% minimum ratio of women in senior positions. This has resulted in some very ordinary people being promoted well above their ability just to make the ratio. This has resulted in a situation where poor decisions are being made and the company feels like a ship without a rudder at the moment. I left as I could no longer put up with to toxicity....

    Show More

    Cons

    While I was lucky to avoid the last few years of "restructuring" the company atmosphere is one of distrust and the environment is toxic due to the continuing uncertainty.

    Advice to Management

    Hire and promote on merit.

    AECOM2016-08-19
  4. "Opportunities are boundless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, great projects. The ability to work in different departments is excellent. Flexible working is promoted and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Being such a large company has its challenges - small cog in big wheel type thing. Other than that the issues are cons are no different to any other company.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    AECOM2016-07-04
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Out of touch with reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good lower level staff and nice offices. The IT set up is quite good too which enables working between sites easily.

    Cons

    Upper management is elite and out of touch with staff and clients. There is a toxic culture where senior managers protect their patch at any cost. Unless you are young and female and non Caucasian forget getting included in any promotion

    Advice to Management

    Take your redundancy package and abandon that sinking ship before it is too late

    AECOM2016-05-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Change your perspective, come join AECOM on your next journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    "Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, others make it happen." Michael Jordan At AECOM you have the opportunity to make it happen.

    Cons

    "Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them." Albert Einstein As a growing global organisation we need to ensure we understand our limits and ensure that we remain small enough to truly understand our clients needs.

    Advice to Management

    “We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but habit.” Aristotle For our great organisation to keep creating value for clients and shareholders I believe we need to ensure our organisation remains lean and in tune with local demand and local needs. With this comes the right balance between senior staff and more junior staff. Lets embrace the excellence that we deliver on a daily basis and make...

    Show More
    AECOM2016-04-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good organisation, needs a huge overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work / life balance, salary, global opportunities, admired organisation, great people, wonderful staff amenities, socially responsible and genuine reputation for excellent work

    Cons

    Matrix structure, subsistence cash-driven business with no strategic direction and therefore no plan to invest in itself to build IP organically, short sighted management

    Advice to Management

    Recruit some senior line managers from outside the industry, devise an authentic vision and values statement, invest profits in building capability to differentiate rather than simply acquiring.

    AECOM2015-11-29
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Lunatics running the asylum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It used to be a good company when it was Maunsell and there are some good people. Most of the good ones have left.

    Cons

    A multitude of flaws. It's bizarro world at AECOM. Bad people with personality disorders are promoted to group leader roles and inflict their insanity on everyone they can. Their mission is to make your life as chaotic and stressful as possible. They expect you to be as manic and frantic as themsleves, work unpaid overtime (including weekends), take your laptop home every night, respond to phone calls and emails in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have an incredible inability to distinguish good people from bad. Look at all the people who left to join competing companies. They were smart, experienced, knowledgeable, hard working engineers who were valued by clients, but not by you. You drove them away with your illogical reward of bad behaviour and punishment ot good. Adios.

    AECOM2013-05-16
  9. "Great company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and holiday leave

    Cons

    Global company, but not many opportunities abroad

    AECOM2019-05-09
  10. "associate director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    best in industry,ranked worlds no 1

    Cons

    some are lazy ,some others outputs are your inputs,then you will feel.

    Advice to Management

    improve learning

    AECOM2018-08-09
Found 34 reviews