ALS Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 5 Nov 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
ALS Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer  Raj Naran
Raj Naran
116 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "repetitive work;low pay; high physical demand(in 34 reviews)

  • "Expect to work long hours (especially in the summer), high turnover, lower pay(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Interesting But Overworked"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemistry Technician in Fort Collins, CO

    I worked at ALS full-time

    Pros

    Lots of independence, interesting work, flexibility of workday, great introduction to the field

    Cons

    Expect to work long hours (especially in the summer), high turnover, lower pay

    ALS Response

    November 23, 2020HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We strive for continuous improvement and always appreciate hearing where we are getting things right. We are constantly reviewing our staffing levels to ensure coverage during peak times. We wish you the best of luck throughout your career journey.

  2. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALS full-time

    Pros

    Good, helpful, trustworthy, caring, hardworking

    Cons

    Far distance to travel and can be long hours


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ok starter for experience but for a career head elsewhere"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ALS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People are the stars at this place to work with. Can learn a lot of different analysis. Able to get a lot of experience.

    Cons

    Pay. Long hours. Overworked. A lot of analysis for few staff. Basically like a walmart/mcdonalds, sell enough of the analysis to equal out any loss or discounts given.

    ALS Response

    October 23, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is a pleasure to hear that you find the people at ALS great to work with and appreciate the opportunity to learn new analyses and gain experience. We work in a seasonal industry which means that we are very busy processing samples during peak months. Despite our best efforts to ramp up staffing levels and train employees to match workloads ; there are times that we are not able to strike the right balance. We appreciate your feedback and truly appreciate your ongoing commitment to ALS!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 

    I have been working at ALS part-time

    Pros

    Money is ok to work

    Cons

    Long hours Too much interference

  5. "Ok"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Senior Laboratory Technician 

    I have been working at ALS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security as people are rarely fired

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay

    ALS Response

    January 29, 2020HR Specialist

    Thank you we are glad you like working at ALS. Our staff are great aren’t they? Our workloads do vary due to the seasonal nature of our business but hopefully are not too taxing for our staff. We hold an anonymous employee survey every year called GlobALSay and in fact we are about to launch this year’s very soon. This survey is taken very seriously as our employees opinion matter to us and we have over 600 projects worldwide helping us to improve our employees overall experience of working at ALS.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Microbiology Technician"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microbiology Technician in Clonmel

    I worked at ALS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexi hours and days . That's it.

    Cons

    Long hours, unpaid overtimes , stress low salary

  7. "great training lab"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Lab Technician 

    I worked at ALS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ALS is a great training lab

    Cons

    days consisted of long hours

    ALS Response

    October 30, 2019HR Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that you benefited from our comprehensive Learning & Development programs. ALS provide a large range of training to ensure our staff are constantly developing and feeling challenged in their roles but also to allow staff to take responsibility for their own learning journey. Our ALStar learning management system offers training courses for technical and professional development in up to 10 different languages that employees can access anytime from anywhere, at home or from an APP on their mobile device. Best of luck in your next venture.

  8. "ALS Clonmel"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ALS full-time

    Pros

    Good company for training graduates. New lab facilities and nice people to work with. Starting salary only okay but progresses quickly as you get trained

    Cons

    Can be long hours but this happens less often these days

    ALS Response

    August 22, 2019HR Specialist

    Thank you we are glad you like working at ALS. We have an ongoing program of equipment maintenance and replacement and are constantly seeking to improve our facilities.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lab Technician"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ALS full-time

    Pros

    Nice friendly team work environment. Some nice lab equipment and softwares. Good place to gain experience.

    Cons

    Long hours, poor pay, little chance for progression. Some of the management staff come in late and go home on time, which can be degrading considering you have to work over time almost everyday and get less breaks and less pay.

    Continue reading

    ALS Response

    May 8, 2019HR Specialist

    Thank you for providing feedback, we appreciate the overall positive tone but are sorry you felt discontented about salary and career progression. We regularly evaluate our pay practices and do our best to provide employees with opportunities to expand on their skills and work in different areas or roles. Sometime they might take a little while to get up to speed! We have more training and learning initiatives coming out this year. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Lab technician"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ALS full-time

    Pros

    Other lab technicians are lovely

    Cons

    No paid overtime Management gossiping in the store room. Supervisors coming over to chat about there Saturday nights while one is working. Accusing you of things that never happened If your not liked by the supervisor your fired. Not given a chance. Not properly taught anything or trained in. Long long hours. Supervisors being very inappropriate at times. Cursing at others Not a nice environment to work in

    Continue reading

    ALS Response

    June 3, 2019HR Specialist

    We do have some amazing staff working at ALS. We would like to address your other comments but this is very difficult when we are not privy to your location. Please contact HR.Enquiries@alsglobal.com, in strict confidence, in order for us to address these issues with you. Alternatively, as an employee you would have had access to the Whistleblower program if you believed this was a serious breach of our Code of Conduct, the ALS Integrity Hotline where you can provide your concerns to our external provider without disclosing your name.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 English Reviews
</>Embed