ANS "apprentice" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ANS Employee Reviews about "apprentice"

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
ANS CEO Paul Shannon (no image)
Paul Shannon
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "apprentice"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "CRAP place to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Technician in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ANS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice. Also the apprentice tutor is nice.

    Cons

    Salary for the work that you do is atrocious in my opinion. Making apprentices do work worth more than 20k a year and you paying the apprentice 7500 a year is disgusting. Also the pressure of the working environment is too high which also means wage should increase. Also the job is very unprofessional as they have social chats at work where people swear at each other in teams at work which is unprofessional in the... working world. Also they even name and shame each other at the ans workplace which in my opinion is awful as this lowers other workers self esteem. Also I would like to complain about the hours they give you in the apprenticeship. 9-5:30 is too long in opinion. It should be 9-5 with 30-60 min break as 9-5:30 is not good for the students work balance. It should be reduced and more balanced out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Increase the Salary of the apprentices wage and stop giving them slavery wages. Another apprenticeship called gamma offer easier type of work but they offer 14000 a year which is almost double the amount ans gives you which is 7500 a year.

    ANS2019-11-11
  2. "Great place to start a career in IT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Analyst Apprentice in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at ANS for 6 months now as an apprentice. I though because I was joining as an apprentice I would be cast aside into a classroom however it is quite the opposite. We receive weekly training and integration into the service desk allowing us to learn on the job and train to pass our first professional exam, this was the ITIL foundation. I am now training for my next exam Microsoft technical associate,... server administration. The people are amazing, helpful and always willing to help if you have a question. I love it here. #comeonans

    Show More

    Cons

    Banter can sometimes be taken too far. Communication isn’t he best. Upper management is hardly ever visible in the managed services wing.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice for upper management to be occasionally move visible in the managed services to wing. More frequent updates from the office of the CTO team as I find their work interesting however we only see occasional updates on yammer or at the all staff. Continue the apprenticeship for future years as it helps as a stepping stone for people who have a interest in IT to get a career in the industry. Easier... way to make suggestions and comments for management. Keep up the great work.

    Show More
    ANS2018-04-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "My experience at ANS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nearly 4 years at ANS and nearly 3 years being on the 24/7 shift. Having come to ANS straight from college joining the start of what would be an amazing Apprentice Academy back in 2013 at the age of 18, what have I learnt being at ANS? Having come straight from college I found was a challenge for myself since I still had my 'college' head on and not a proper work set mind, I struggled to stand on my feet at the... start which I am not afraid to admit but ANS seen the potential in me and carried on pushing me and pushing me until my college head was in the bin and off to the tip and my ANS head was on and began to progress. Learning the basic of NetApp, VMware, Cisco, Citrix etc. I began to see my own potential that ANS seen in me and since progressed a lot. Graduating the ANS Apprentice Academy in October 2014, I have since progressed to starting the 24/7 shift in January 2015 which was a massive step for me as the day shift can be challenging but you have your colleagues for assistance or questions, then comes the night shift which I first found to be a challenge but managed to see the benefits such as incidents you can't call OOH's about so you have to resolve yourself and smashing it and feeling proud. January 2016 I was given the role of Senior 2nd Line Analyst and a Team Leader of my own shift, I currently manage two of my colleagues on the shift to ensure that all goes well and any issues are addressed and I am kept up to date with any issues etc. and any things that go wrong I stand for the team and explain what's happened and so and so, but it has its ups and downs but there's so many pros to the cons that you don't see the cons as they are so far down. I've been asked a number of times 'When do you want to come off shift' or 'Do you want to come off yet?' Which my reply is always I enjoy it, I enjoy working the 24/7 shift, it's a challenge which I enjoy and has it's pressures which I can handle and manage, money is good for someone my age and the build up of knowledge is incredible. I'm looking forward to more years at ANS and to progressing and learning more about the Cloud as it builds. #comeonans

    Show More

    Cons

    Read all of the above about my time with ANS (and still going).... you won't regret a bit of it :)

    Advice to Management

    Thank you :)

    ANS2017-09-07
  4. "Forward thinking - customer and staff focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Directors of the business fully engaged with the business strategy, customers and staff. Open door nature to discuss personal / work issues with Directors and Senior Management Quarterly staff forums (off site) are amazing. Great way to inform all staff on the direction and performance of the business. Staff who over perform in their duties are recognised by their peers Great Apprentice programme which... accelerates young people through the business. Clear career path for people who are willing to work hard Free fruit every day is a healthy bonus!

    Show More

    Cons

    Fruit bowl runs out too quickly!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the staff engagement - it works wonders. Don't underestimate the power of the quarterly All Staff meetings.

    ANS2017-02-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Fun, exciting and fast-paced place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Member in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANS

    Pros

    ANS is definitely a truly unique company to work for! There is no dated hierarchy, every member of staff is valued and has a voice here. Team members are invited to share ideas and can add real value to the team, whether you're in management or an apprentice. What really stands out for me is the passion that runs through the organisation, I can see that people here enjoy what they are doing, are at the top of... their game (or on their way up!) and want to work hard, achieve and deliver. There seems to be lots of opportunities for growth and promotion for those who want to succeed. The office has a fun, fast paced energy and there's weekly team building, social and fundraising activities for anyone who wants to take part. There's a positive pursuit of a work/life balance with additional holidays and the opportunity to socialise inside and outside of the office. All in all- I've found it to be a great place to work, develop your skills with next gen technology and progress in your career!

    Show More

    Cons

    Well, no cons that I can think of, no workplace is perfect, but ANS comes pretty close in my opinion.

    ANS2016-02-08
  6. "Great place to be!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for ANS for over 14 years, starting from a Junior consultant and working my way to senior management, at every aspect of my career ANS have given me the opportunity to perform and better my career. The culture is the biggest positive aspect of ANS, with an open door policy to senior management every idea for improvement is listened too and discussed at every level from the massively successful... apprentice program right up to senior board level.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can sometimes feel less flexible that it did in the old days in terms of getting things done, however as the company has grown up in the past 7 or 8 years the need to adopt industry standards has slowed things slightly, however moving forward this is becoming less of an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what we are doing!!

    ANS2015-04-16
Found 6 reviews
</>Embed