ANZ Bank Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ANZ Bank Manager Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
ANZ Bank CEO Shayne Elliott
Shayne Elliott
73 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff are treated very well

    Cons

    There are no cons working with ANZ

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    ANZ Bank2019-07-09

    ANZ Bank Response

    July 14, 2019

    Thanks for your positive feedback!

  2. "Systems Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exposure to multiple areas, good training

    Cons

    Grouped by specific headings, hard to distinguish areas

    ANZ Bank2019-07-01
  3. "Bullies R Us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is encouraged.

    Cons

    Bullying culture from the top down. Management are incompetent and some of the worst I've seen in my 20 years in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    What would be the point of giving any advice to management? They're too arrogant and stupid to listen.

    ANZ Bank2019-07-11

    ANZ Bank Response

    July 14, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry you've had this experience whilst working for ANZ. We value your feedback, and encourage you to reach out to us at glassdoor@anz.com to discuss your experience in more detail. Thank you for your time ANZ

  4. "Good bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Relationship Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hour and arrangement, respect culture, supporting management.

    Cons

    Tight credit appetite, politics, bad IT system, limited career opportunity after manager level position

    ANZ Bank2019-06-01
  5. "Good if you find the right people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People. People. People. Innovation. Location.

    Cons

    Each manager wants to make their mark in the small amount of time they PLAN to be there, impacting long term plans, increasing costs, increasing workloads. Change Management is terrible, too much red tape.

    ANZ Bank2019-06-16
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, work life balance and good orocesses

    Cons

    None come to mind at the moment

    ANZ Bank2019-05-29
  7. "Great strategy, lacks prioritisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Docklands
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Flex Great people Really interesting work

    Cons

    Too many priorities Faster decision making required Investment in digital platforms needed

    ANZ Bank2019-05-25
  8. "Great projects but lacking cohesive business strategy in Australia Market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Docklands
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people Interesting projects. Great location

    Cons

    Agile implementation is very sporadic Silos still exist

    Advice to Management

    Change the way you do multidisciplinary teams. CIO should hold full power : authority over technology CIO should provide flexible platforms that business users can configure

    ANZ Bank2019-05-18
  9. "Questionable strategy given little shared insight to employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great rich history and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Seem to not learn from history, consistent changes with I perceive to be poor decision makers relying on upon the moment decisions without very critical consideration for the future. Given that this is a bank with base, there are fewer people with the right qualifications, i.e. retail lending policy is archaic and not open to the challenges of the future.

    Advice to Management

    Look at economic leaders and perhaps have them influence future decisions. The vision is correct, however, the steps in shaping this are not. You are losing customers compared to your peers given the decisions made. Trust and look at the people that are doing the groundwork and not just give them a token voice, allow them to have a say on decisions made. So many changes have been made ANZ more difficult to deal with...

    Show More
    ANZ Bank2019-05-26
  10. "Political and inefficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays well mostly at manager levels

    Cons

    Poor leadership and decision making

    ANZ Bank2019-04-01

    ANZ Bank Response

    April 8, 2019Talent Aquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time and leaving your review. We apologize for any negative experiences you have encountered. If you can provide more details on this so our team could investigate further, kindly send an email to glassdoor@anz.com

Found 218 reviews