ANZ Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ANZ Bank Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ANZ Bank CEO Shayne Elliott
Shayne Elliott
589 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Restructures appear to happen far too often(in 49 reviews)

  • "Outdated System, conservative policy, poor communication from senior management of leadership(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best Company to Work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Bangalore

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life fexlibility. Best working environment.

    Cons

    There isn't any cons that i feel needs to be listed.

    ANZ Bank2019-11-09
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Area Architect in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great new challenges, good pay

    Cons

    highly political, not all live the values

    ANZ Bank2020-01-09
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Portfolio Manager 

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Career opportunities Good remuneration

    Cons

    Politics Unclear direction and strategy Poor internal systems

    ANZ Bank2020-01-17
  4. "Great culture and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great policies- flexible working arrangements, parental leave for both mother/father, banking benefits. Very culturally diverse.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape to get things done

    Advice to Management

    HR need to be onshore. A Senior manager had many complaints made about her over years. Different people, same issues. Nothing was ever done as her manager didn’t want to deal with it. Issues like this should not be allowed to happen. If HR was on shore and more involved, I am sure it would have been dealt with. The business lost a lot of talent and caused a lot of stress because of this person and I was only watching from a distance.

    Show More
    ANZ Bank2020-01-13
  5. "If it’s wrong pay out or cover it up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people - the team makes the experience

    Cons

    The bank excel built. Failures are common.

    Advice to Management

    Review middle management

    ANZ Bank2020-01-18
  6. "Declining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Know your working schedule 2 months in advance. Career opportunities open up once you have been in your role for 12-18 months. Flexible working arrangements for most roles outside of call centre.

    Cons

    Managers are very old school and inappropriate. The average time in the role for my managers is over 15 years with no intention of ever moving on. They do not reflect the Anz culture or brand as it’s a very isolated area in the call centre. Not clear who the higher up managers are or what direction it’s going in.

    Advice to Management

    Know what is happening in your teams and address the toxic culture. Not with a video. Get external evaluations of team leaders, managers and senior managers/general managers.

    ANZ Bank2020-01-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "ANZ assistant branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team culture Reasonable workload Supportive management

    Cons

    Few career opportunities Not flexible at all

    ANZ Bank2019-12-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "ANZ not worth the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Ulladulla
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life Balance, flexible Arrangements

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets, no care for customers.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your customers

    ANZ Bank2019-12-30
  9. "Flexibility, role autonomy, culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Advisor 

    I have been working at ANZ Bank part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, role autonomy, culture and values

    Cons

    Slow career progression and limited career pathways into other roles

    ANZ Bank2019-12-30
  10. "tech area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexible working hours life work balance

    Cons

    less promotion opportunity and career move

    ANZ Bank2019-12-06
Found 1711 reviews