ANZ Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

ANZ Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ANZ Bank CEO Shayne Elliott
Shayne Elliott
542 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time

    Pros

    Supportive management and encouragement from above which is great.

    Cons

    None that I can see.

    ANZ Bank2019-02-06

    ANZ Bank Response

    February 11, 2019ANZ

    Thank you for your encouraging comments! We appreciate your thoughts and your time taken to voice them. ANZ

  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a very large bank and there are many opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    none - it is a great workplace

    ANZ Bank2019-08-28

    ANZ Bank Response

    September 2, 2019

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

  3. "It's a banking job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High salary Generous employee benefits

    Cons

    Hierarchical Profit-driven

    Advice to Management

    Junior management needs to be shifted on a regular basis to avoid corruption and power manipulation

    ANZ Bank2019-10-09

    ANZ Bank Response

    October 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  4. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Call Center 

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for what we do

    Cons

    Facilities out of date unfortunately

    ANZ Bank2019-10-01

    ANZ Bank Response

    October 10, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

  5. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance, mostly good people, lots of different areas to broaden your skill set

    Cons

    Outdated processes, extremely cumbersome to create any real change, banking environment has been subdued and there has been a growing focus on cost cutting rather than growth

    ANZ Bank2019-10-02

    ANZ Bank Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback!

  6. "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Gold Coast
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fellow workmates and colleagues in branch

    Cons

    No Adequate training, management don't value staff

    Advice to Management

    value your staff

    ANZ Bank2019-10-11
  7. "BC role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banking Consultant 

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big 4 bank; work and life balance

    Cons

    Poor training Unstable IT environment

    ANZ Bank2019-10-02

    ANZ Bank Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Could be so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is highly dependent on the area of the bank you work for. Good salary, work/life balance, some interesting projects. My own people manager was amazing but unfortunately had very little to do with eachother due to being placed in a project.

    Cons

    Morale and culture were the worst of anywhere I have worked. Many competing agendas and highly political. Some people don't show up at all. Poor leadership with no desire to create a culture to retain people. Poor work ethic. The list goes on ...

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people due to tenure. Good people managers are not necessarily those with the most subject matter knowledge. Clean up the culture, especially in FX technology where the morale was the worst I have experienced in 15 years of working.

    ANZ Bank2019-09-28

    ANZ Bank Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to providing all of our employees with a great experience whilst working for ANZ. We value your feedback and would like to understand more about the issues you have raised. We encourage you to reach out to us directly at glassdoor@anz.com to discuss your experience in more detail.

    Show Less
  9. "Great flexibility but with a catch if you’re in the wrong team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility and benefits. Ability to regularly work from home.

    Cons

    Pockets of the business don’t align with the broader vision of the business Lacks strategic direction at business unit level

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your office and talk to your people

    ANZ Bank2019-09-17

    ANZ Bank Response

    September 18, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback.

  10. "Great place to pursue your career goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Melbourne

    I have been working at ANZ Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexible work arrangements, foster individual growth

    Cons

    Politics might at times be unsettling

    ANZ Bank2019-09-13

    ANZ Bank Response

    September 16, 2019

    Thanks very much for your feedback!

Found 1618 reviews