Absolute Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Absolute Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Absolute CEO Christy Wyatt
Christy Wyatt
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, great people and great product(in 19 reviews)

  • "They really take care of their employees by promoting a healthy work-life balance(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

  • "Dischord at the C-level: personal agendas seem to trump strategic objectives(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "We are Gladiators of Persistence, Innovators of Resilience. Architects of Intelligence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has amazing history and technology that is meeting the market where it is today. CEO is a strong leader who is challenging teams to be customer-centric and innovation obsessed. It's a journey.

    Cons

    There's always growing pains during transformation.

    Absolute2019-08-25
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolute best part of the job is the people. Leadership team believes in the groups' ability to achieve great results.

    Cons

    Because of significant growth, lack of available rooms to book for meetings

    Advice to Management

    The talent is already at Absolute, they're just waiting to be discovered.

    Absolute2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Just don't - wish I had taken the cons seriously when I read the reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Group in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots to learn for people just starting out in their careers -Good location if you take public transit in Vancouver -Supportive environment for co-op students -Free food (Monthly pizza, weekly fruit and cookies) and sugary drinks (pop, juice) -Some initiative to bring employees working on three separate floors together (monthly beers in the office, social activities organised by the social committee) -Maybe... some potential because of the technology that this company develops and the experience that the new CEO brings

    Show More

    Cons

    -Expect to work extra hours (especially around weekends and long weekends) with little appreciation (and don't you dare complain) -for a 25 year old company, it's like working at a startup (disorganised, unfocussed, and biting off more than it can chew) -invisible leadership -middle management have about 2 -3 experience, on average -communication about anything is not good (wiki is full of old information or... "TBD", never know when an employee visits, joins the company, or leaves the company) -Little investment in career growth for employees -Unclear expectations from managers which make annual reviews a joke (no goals set but your bonus is based on performance) -Extended health benefits are better elsewhere -Get 4 weeks of vacation after 10 years of service -Get an engraved pen after 5 years of service -No appreciation for innovation -Management is not interested in ideas for process improvement -User experience of product is not well thought out -Below average pay for Vancouver -Constantly hear about how great things were "a few years ago" -Cliques and gossiping -Looks like nobody cares about the dev area: desks are still full of stuff from a team that was laid off in summer 2018, broken kitchen appliances sitting around, furniture stacked up on the side -Fraud

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and provide a stable work environment. Take a good look at why smart and experienced people are leaving the company in droves. I realised I made a mistake to join the company on my second day, and I won't be staying much longer. You have good technology to develop so don't waste that opportunity.

    Absolute2019-09-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ranks lowest for organizations I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructional Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people on the ground in my area, but looking for leadership and strategy.

    Cons

    No investment in customer training and infrastructure. Product features and updates kept getting kicked down the road. I felt my input on strategy and ideas were not considered. I was constantly asking for projects to work on. Often bored or I was asked to do grunt work. In the year I was there, my manager never made an effort to meet with me. Never experienced this before.

    Absolute2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Experience varies by department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Individual Contributor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pizza on the first Friday of the month. Free pop and juice. Great view.

    Cons

    No parking or transit subsidy, pay is below market, hours are bad.

    Absolute2019-08-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you get a C-level position, all you need to do is nothing and collect paychecks.

    Cons

    1)Most employees underpay 2)Commission is low because they always have the hard time to hit the target 3)Short in budget, cutdown backfill positions 4)C-level executives threaten and force employees 5)No annual raise 6)They don’t promote hard worker 7)Executives dislike changes, so no improvement 8)Employees turnover rate very high 9)Dirty data in 2 systems 10)No matter how much revenue you bring into the... company, and no matter how long you work for the company, once executives dislike you and they will throw you out

    Show More
    Absolute2019-08-21
  7. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location & work environment, nice ppl

    Cons

    person do well should not be under paied

    Absolute2019-05-16
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great people and great product! Good process.

    Cons

    Too many managers and sometimes it is hard to follow.

    Absolute2019-04-18
  9. Helpful (8)

    "declining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very unique core product. Require state-of-art development .

    Cons

    laundering money is major business from 2015, as a result development stopped, core team was kicked out. One of core team member with experience of 15+ years was treated so badly they he died shortly after contract termination.

    Advice to Management

    no advice for a crooks

    Absolute2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    leaving at the end of the day

    Cons

    no energy or smiles anywhere. just a general feeling of malaise

    Absolute2019-04-12
Found 156 reviews