Air New Zealand Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Air New Zealand Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Air New Zealand CEO Christopher Luxon
Christopher Luxon
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Bell curve grading system means silos are hard to breakdown, clicky culture, managers don't know how to manage, work life balance is non-existent(in 4 reviews)

  • "Internal promotion or opportunities for middle management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "World class organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Air New Zealand drives and delivers an exceptional people culture and ensures the company values and purpose are at the forefront of the strategy across the global markets. I am very proud to work for a business who focuses on developing leaders and offering career development opportunities.

    Cons

    Communication between business units can be challenging due to size of the business.

    Air New Zealand2018-10-10
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great brand let down by its internal culture (Management and HR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced industry, good for recent grads

    Cons

    Bell curve grading system means silos are hard to breakdown, clicky culture, managers don't know how to manage, work life balance is non-existent. HR stuck in the 80's. Little diversity in exec positions, which is becoming an embarrassment to the company. Little opportunity to move up. Benefits are overrated, pay is below market.

    Advice to Management

    Skill up, and move on.

    Air New Zealand2018-05-10
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Air New Zealand full-time

      Pros

      Great culture and a good working environment

      Cons

      A little bureaucratic at the time that I was there

      Air New Zealand2017-11-08
    • "Accountant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Air New Zealand full-time

      Pros

      Wide range of decision making opportunities

      Cons

      Very hierarchical, not able to influence decisions elsewhere in company

      Advice to Management

      Continue to support cross movement of managers

      Air New Zealand2019-05-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Ad in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Air New Zealand full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You are part of the Whanau (family) you are proud to be an Air New Zealander great percs nice to go left vs right. Development opportunities.

      Cons

      Money is not fantastic but they are transparent about that. High performance culture means you work at over 100%

      Air New Zealand2019-05-01
    • "cabin crew"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time

      Pros

      best new zealand national airline

      Cons

      i can t find any

      Air New Zealand2019-05-03
    • "times are tough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time

      Pros

      exciting industry and lots of work to do

      Cons

      not as fun, innovative or interesting a place to work as it use to be

      Air New Zealand2019-05-15
    • "It’s ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Production Planner 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Large company, provides job stability

      Cons

      Large company, it’s easy to be just a number

      Advice to Management

      Invest in your people and they will invest in your business

      Air New Zealand2019-04-26
    • "I don’t understand this part"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I get to travel a lot

      Cons

      Don’t want to say on here

      Air New Zealand2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Smart people with real heart and never a dull moment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Air New Zealand full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Exciting, world stage, innovative, challenger mentality. Smart people who get to do cool things. Kindness - people with heart.

      Cons

      You need resilience if you are to succeed in aviation. But the good outweigh the bad.

      Air New Zealand2019-04-04
    Found 107 reviews