Allen & Overy Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Allen & Overy Senior partner Wim Dejonghe
Wim Dejonghe
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Colleagues, quality of work, reputation, training, facilities(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great people and training and development programs(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Graduate Lawyer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top tier work and great work culture.

    Cons

    None so far. It is very pleasant.

    Allen & Overy2019-09-03

    Allen & Overy Response

    January 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying the legal work, friendly colleagues and supportive cultural the Sydney office has to offer.

  2. "lovely people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and training and development programs

    Cons

    nothing comes to mind at this stage.

    Allen & Overy2020-01-16

    Allen & Overy Response

    January 31, 2020Senior Manager, Global Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working at Allen & Overy. It is great to hear you are taking advantage of the many training programs we have to offer, and enjoying time spent with colleagues.

  3. "Sydney office - Not a long term prospect"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    Great brand to have on your CV Opportunities in terms of variety of work

    Cons

    Lack of career progression or training Unrealistic expectations No recognition or reward when you go above and beyond Very lean teams so you end up doing the job of 3 people Culture became less collaborative/friendly and more siloed Burn out. Sustainable for a short period but not long term

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2019-02-01

    Allen & Overy Response

    January 17, 2020

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your experience of working at Allen & Overy. We are disappointed to learn that your time with us has not always been positive. We strive to create a great employee experience so we take this feedback very seriously. In order to better understand your comments, we would appreciate the opportunity to have a discussion with you, if you are comfortable to do this. There are many ways to do this, for example, you are welcome to contact Kate McDonald, Senior HR Manager - Australia for a confidential conversation.

  4. "Lawyer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    depends on the team but generally good working culture

    Cons

    Bad Life and work balance

    Allen & Overy2018-05-11
  5. "Challenging and rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    Excellent quality of work. Surrounded by smart and hardworking team.

    Cons

    Long hours. 25/7 availability.

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2018-02-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good branding for you CV"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    High caliber of work and clients. Branding on CV yields good opportunities after leaving the firm.

    Cons

    Long hours, at times difficult culture.

    Allen & Overy2017-07-12
  7. "Lawyer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, open culture with lots of team work and open management team. top of the market compensation for private law practice

    Cons

    Work/life balance is hard to achieve, very lean team means lawyers of all level work very long hours to met client demands

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2017-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, get to work on great matters and learn so much in a short space of time.

    Cons

    Hours can be horrendous at times.

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2017-02-03
  9. "Great place to work. High performing and fantastic benefits."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allen & Overy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overseas opportunities; great work; quality people.

    Cons

    Competitive; lack of progression opportunities; top end of market so not much work available.

    Continue reading
    Allen & Overy2013-12-17
  10. "Good company to work for, monotonous work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Professional in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Allen & Overy full-time

    Pros

    A great company to work for with a decent salary and lots of perks and benefits. A friendly and relaxed office environment with room for career progression. Provides a great opportunity to get experience working across a number of practice groups and projects.

    Cons

    The actual work is very boring and monotonous and doesn't require a great amount of skill. Work is very sporadic and hard to predict.

    Allen & Overy2020-05-22

    Allen & Overy Response

    May 25, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to give everyone valuable experience and room career progression - and are delighted to see you note these in your review. We are also happy to hear you enjoy the office environment, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Found 209 reviews