Allens Australia Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Allens Australia Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allens Australia for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, incredible work, amazing training

    Cons

    Long hours, demanding clients, challenging work

    Allens Australia2017-02-13
  2. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Allens Australia full-time

      Pros

      It was a nice place to work.

      Cons

      Some poor performers in the business.

      Allens Australia2019-03-28
    • "Quality work but experience is partner dependant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in Melbourne

      I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I loved my time at Allens because I worked for a great partner who looked out for me, but others struggled. Interesting work and mostly very nice people.

      Cons

      Overly technical, academic and conservative at times. Hard workers get slammed while others coast by. Not much of a firm culture in terms of social life.

      Allens Australia2018-09-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Allens Australia

        Pros

        easy place to work and meet new people

        Cons

        beaurcpatic, and a lot of nepotism

        Allens Australia2018-08-22
      • Helpful (2)

        "Lawyer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lawyer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Allens Australia for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great top end work. Fantastic training. Get to work with very intelligent and motivated staff. Established law firm brand; well respected in the market.

        Cons

        Pay does not reflect the hours nor the market average. The hours are long and very demanding (frequent weekends, public holidays and even days of annual leave; even weeks at times working consecutively big hours without a day off). Very hierarchical firm where juniors are not given opportunities to step up to the next level or take on more responsibility.

        Allens Australia2018-04-26
      • Helpful (8)

        "Non-legal corporate services (HR)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Allens Australia for more than a year

        Pros

        Allens has a great profile and reputation amongst lawyers so it is very easy to attract good staff. Very well established policies and procedures in place. The Corporate Services department and the younger lawyers were friendly and appreciative.

        Cons

        I joined the Corporate Services department of Allens well qualified in my field and with great enthusiasm. I stayed with the firm for less than 2 years (my shortest tenure in 20+ years) and during this time lost a great amount of confidence mostly due to my interaction with many of the partners. Many were downright rude and showed no appreciation for the work done by HR. We were often blamed for things completely out...

        Show More
        Allens Australia2018-02-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Nice external veneer, shabby interior"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Corporate Services in Melbourne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Great location (views from office) - Good commitment to philanthropic ideals - Some nice people

        Cons

        - Antiquated views - Too many empire builders among middle management and senior leaders - Worry about their reputations but behave appallingly with external vendors - Not ready for the future (technologically) - Lack of collaboration

        Advice to Management

        Embrace change, get better at managing and leading through change and sort out your work/life balance (just dreadful)

        Allens Australia2017-12-11
      • "Allens"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Brisbane
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great vibe staff amazing management ok

        Cons

        Somethings behind the times some offices better then others

        Allens Australia2017-11-23
      • Helpful (3)

        "Corporate Services ie. non-legal departments are a disaster"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Corporate Services in Sydney
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Allens Australia full-time

        Pros

        Highly regarded law firm Interesting work and great career opportunities if you are a lawyer Top quality office buildings and catering

        Cons

        Corporate Services ie. non-legal departments are a disaster. Teams are highly staffed yet barely productive, as a lot of time is wasted on arguing, backstabbing, gossiping and office politics in general. Pay seems to be determined on an ad hoc basis and not based on your performance or work output at all, so if you are not happy with your pay there is not much you can do about it except leave.

        Advice to Management

        Introduce time sheets for non-legal staff so you know where their time is going and which staff waste their time on office politics etc rather than doing work. Unproductive staff can then be weeded out to save on costs.

        Allens Australia2017-11-05
      • "Corporate Services team member"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Allens Australia full-time

        Pros

        Intelligent co-workers, interesting work, loads of development opportunities both personally / professionally, ownership over your career.

        Cons

        Lack of influence, hierarchical, stressful at times.

        Allens Australia2017-07-03
      Found 31 reviews