Allens Australia Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Allens Australia Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
3 Ratings
  1. "Happy at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Allens Australia full-time

    Pros

    It is a great place to work

    Cons

    There are long hours to work

    Allens Australia2019-03-06
  2. "Happy with Allens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Allens Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, most managers support your development and a good work life balance. Remuneration is good. Lots of variety and scope to challenge yourself.

    Cons

    Promotion can be hard to achieve. Some long-standing managers can be difficult to work with which can lead to missed opportunities.

    Allens Australia2019-07-03
  3. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent work life balance (non legal department). Professional. Very organised and structured.

    Cons

    Hierarchical. Lots of paperwork.

    Allens Australia2019-05-29
  4. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time

    Pros

    It was a nice place to work.

    Cons

    Some poor performers in the business.

    Allens Australia2019-03-28
  5. "Quality work but experience is partner dependant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Melbourne

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved my time at Allens because I worked for a great partner who looked out for me, but others struggled. Interesting work and mostly very nice people.

    Cons

    Overly technical, academic and conservative at times. Hard workers get slammed while others coast by. Not much of a firm culture in terms of social life.

    Allens Australia2018-09-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Allens Australia

    Pros

    easy place to work and meet new people

    Cons

    beaurcpatic, and a lot of nepotism

    Allens Australia2018-08-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allens Australia for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great top end work. Fantastic training. Get to work with very intelligent and motivated staff. Established law firm brand; well respected in the market.

    Cons

    Pay does not reflect the hours nor the market average. The hours are long and very demanding (frequent weekends, public holidays and even days of annual leave; even weeks at times working consecutively big hours without a day off). Very hierarchical firm where juniors are not given opportunities to step up to the next level or take on more responsibility.

    Allens Australia2018-04-26
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Non-legal corporate services (HR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Allens Australia for more than a year

    Pros

    Allens has a great profile and reputation amongst lawyers so it is very easy to attract good staff. Very well established policies and procedures in place. The Corporate Services department and the younger lawyers were friendly and appreciative.

    Cons

    I joined the Corporate Services department of Allens well qualified in my field and with great enthusiasm. I stayed with the firm for less than 2 years (my shortest tenure in 20+ years) and during this time lost a great amount of confidence mostly due to my interaction with many of the partners. Many were downright rude and showed no appreciation for the work done by HR. We were often blamed for things completely out...

    Show More
    Allens Australia2018-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice external veneer, shabby interior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Services in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great location (views from office) - Good commitment to philanthropic ideals - Some nice people

    Cons

    - Antiquated views - Too many empire builders among middle management and senior leaders - Worry about their reputations but behave appallingly with external vendors - Not ready for the future (technologically) - Lack of collaboration

    Advice to Management

    Embrace change, get better at managing and leading through change and sort out your work/life balance (just dreadful)

    Allens Australia2017-12-11
  10. "Allens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Allens Australia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great vibe staff amazing management ok

    Cons

    Somethings behind the times some offices better then others

    Allens Australia2017-11-23
Found 34 reviews