AmeriCan Adventures Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

AmeriCan Adventures Reviews

Updated 14 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Andy Duncan
1 Ratings
  1. "No career potential anymore for I.T. staff in Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior .NET Developer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - RDO's - Friendly co-workers - Travel discounts

    Cons

    - Outsourcing I.T. to Sri Lanka.. no long term I.T. potential left in Melbourne Head Office - Becoming very political, and relying on who you need to suck up to the most

    Advice to Management

    I.T. staff should be valued and are not just plebs you use and dispose of when you don't feel like you need them anymore.

    AmeriCan Adventures2015-09-09
  2. "Peak Adventure Travel Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid Level Management in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Of course it's the travel discounts and career opportunities

    Cons

    At the time it was a below market salary

    Advice to Management

    none

    AmeriCan Adventures2014-05-02
  3. "Fun company and good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Leader in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being a tour leader is a life-changing experience and one of the best times of my life. You learn skills that are applicable to any future job and get to travel and explore the country in the process. The best part is your coworkers and the family that you make of some of the most incredible and interesting people ever. It's also just plain fun. It's a great job for motivated people that don't need someone looking...

    Show More

    Cons

    HARD WORK. Tour leading isn't for the faint of heart and someone that wants to sleep in and enjoy their weekends. There is little to no work/life balance and you are working long, hard hours. The pay can be great for saving as you don't need to be paying rent.

    Advice to Management

    Management improved DRASTICALLY in my years at the company. They are great

    AmeriCan Adventures2019-05-14
  4. "Fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Travel perks.

    Cons

    Not a ton of room for growth

    Advice to Management

    none

    AmeriCan Adventures2019-02-22
  5. "Great job for adventurous outgoing travelers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Leader 

    I have been working at AmeriCan Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Work seasonally and save money.

    Cons

    Very hectic work schedule, but for good reason-- you only have to work half the year.

    AmeriCan Adventures2019-01-15
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AmeriCan Adventures full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel North America, showing travelers some of the best places the US has to offer. Easy to save money while still being able to experience so many great experiences. Improve your leadership, customer service, public speaking skills.

    Cons

    Long days and hard work but it's worth it in the end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you do.

    AmeriCan Adventures2019-01-07
  7. "Reservations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Employees are passionate people with common interests and truly care about their product

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    AmeriCan Adventures2018-12-09
  8. "The most fun job you'll ever have."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Get paid to lead amazing road trips, see the country and meet amazing people. Oh, and the best co-workers you'll ever find.

    Cons

    It's a full on job and you're more or less on call 24/7 the whole time you're leading trips. This can leave you run down a bit.

    Advice to Management

    I've been extremely happy with how things have gone the past 5 years. Be sure to clone Rich, he's truly irreplaceable!

    AmeriCan Adventures2018-04-23
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Guide in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great travel perks, fun company culture, amazing people

    Cons

    low wages, long working hours, and little room to advance

    Advice to Management

    improve wages of guides and offer more full time employment opportunities for current staff

    AmeriCan Adventures2018-04-17
  10. "So much fun and great life experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCan Adventures full-time

    Pros

    Get to travel all across the country. Get to learn about other peoples cultures and customs. Your support staff and company culture is super helpful, friendly and fun.

    Cons

    Long hours, not much personal time.

    AmeriCan Adventures2018-02-05
Found 25 reviews