Amgen Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Amgen Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2043 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Amgen CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
765 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amgen

    Pros

    Objective Focused Team with brilliant minds

    Cons

    Very corporate environment - not many post-work activities

    Amgen2018-04-01
  2. "Quality Assurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amgen

    Pros

    Great culture and very knowledgeable people

    Cons

    Being on an ongoing contract basis with broken promises to be made permanent

    Amgen2018-11-29
  3. "Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great friendly environment, generous bonus scheme.

    Cons

    Hard to achieve work/life balance

    Amgen2017-12-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Modern hardware, use of cloud-based solutions, generous salaries, flexible work arrangements, travel opportunities, casual but competitive

    Cons

    Tendency to still be a little too US-centric even though its global footprint is now quite large. Sometimes tries to run on a too lean resourcing model

    Advice to Management

    Truly adopt a global mindset and act accordingly. Love the values adopted by the company - keep a strong hold on these. So too the Leadership Attributes.

    Amgen2016-08-02
  5. "Great company, great people, great values, risk averse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Value placed on patients and people is paramount, they live their value everyday and expect the same of employees. Remunerate their people very well.

    Cons

    Very flat structure that does not allow for strong career growth. Their policies tend to favour some and not others while occasionally dangling a carrot to keep you interested when the snack or meal will never eventuate

    Advice to Management

    Stop making the career path that doesn't really exist look great and learn to practice decision making with alacrity and the knowledge of who is or should be making the decision.

    Amgen2015-04-20
  6. "Overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, a good place to work and learn.

    Cons

    Politics gets in the way of science.

    Amgen2019-08-24
  7. "Good company, great benefit, smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist 

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    knowledgeable people, great benefit, two shutdown per year

    Cons

    Thousand Oaks location is isolated from other big biotech

    Amgen2019-08-20
  8. "Great Summer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen for less than a year

    Pros

    Amgen takes pride and care into making sure that their interns gain the most out of their internship program. The amount I have learned and the experience i had was priceless and i would recommend anyone to start their career at Amgen.

    Cons

    On occasion events were not organized well.

    Amgen2019-08-16
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biosimilars in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good company to work for!

    Cons

    Operate a Lean company model

    Amgen2019-08-16
  10. "Excellent team environment and talent base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - QC Specialist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are competitive with other companies in the same field

    Cons

    Opportunities to advance in some areas are difficult

    Amgen2019-08-15
Found 2043 reviews