Amgen Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
730 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You need to have strong personal boundaries because it's a 24/7 kind of work culture with little work/life balance(in 86 reviews)

  • "Very poor decision making with senior leadership - lack of leadership courage to do anything truly progressive(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Was a great company to work for in the past"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation package for permanent staff.

    Cons

    Poor company culture, too focussed on shareholders

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-05

    Amgen Response

    May 10, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We are constantly brainstorming on ways to improve our culture for our employees, and this is the kind of feedback we're interested in hearing. Please know, you can always reach out to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience.

  2. "Australian business is growing fast"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic environment, interesting pipeline, strong leadership

    Cons

    Competitive external environment, global pressures

    Amgen2019-10-12
  3. "Recommended"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great friendly environment, generous bonus scheme.

    Cons

    Hard to achieve work/life balance

    Amgen2017-12-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Modern hardware, use of cloud-based solutions, generous salaries, flexible work arrangements, travel opportunities, casual but competitive

    Cons

    Tendency to still be a little too US-centric even though its global footprint is now quite large. Sometimes tries to run on a too lean resourcing model

    Continue reading
    Amgen2016-08-02
  5. "Great company, great people, great values, risk averse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Value placed on patients and people is paramount, they live their value everyday and expect the same of employees. Remunerate their people very well.

    Cons

    Very flat structure that does not allow for strong career growth. Their policies tend to favour some and not others while occasionally dangling a carrot to keep you interested when the snack or meal will never eventuate

    Continue reading
    Amgen2015-04-20
  6. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, exciting work, excellent people

    Cons

    The company is growing which means it's challenging to maintain the original biotech culture

    Amgen2020-05-24

    Amgen Response

    May 26, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello! We're so pleased to hear you've enjoyed your time at Amgen thus far. We certainly hope it continues. Please know, you can always reach out to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. As a valued member of our team, your feedback is critical to ensuring we're doing everything we can to foster an inclusive, collaborative, and positive culture. Thanks again!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good Experience but Biased Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work campus

    Cons

    In the technical/operations area, too much fooling around for promotions or men in management hesitant of interacting with women because of the others engaging in such activities. Stalls females if you don’t pay to play so to speak.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-13

    Amgen Response

    May 14, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We strive to foster an environment where women feel respected and supported in reaching their personal and professional goals. We take these issues seriously, and would appreciate hearing more about your experience at talentacquistioninquiries@amgen.com so we can prevent inappropriate behavior in the future.

  8. "Great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think the peak of success to be part of amgen

    Cons

    Its one of top five companies in world and to be part of these company you have to be well trained and educated

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-16

    Amgen Response

    May 22, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hi there, thank you for your review. As a valued member of our team, your input is critical to ensuring our staff members receive the support they need to reach their full potential. Please know, you can always connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience and additional feedback. Thank you!

  9. "Product Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    global, industry, benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    culture, global opportunities, senior level management

    Amgen2020-05-15

    Amgen Response

    May 22, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We're glad your experience was overall positive, but we'd love to hear more of your thoughts on how we can improve in the above areas. Please contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more with our team. Thank you very much for your time.

Found 1866 reviews