Amgen Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,425 of over 2,971 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
1,002 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, life balance and great culture(in 221 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance, Time Off, Culture(in 220 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance is non-existent(in 101 reviews)

  • "Decision-making is slow and inefficient(in 69 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jan 31, 2021 - Quality Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very professional and supportive environment

      Cons

      hard to move up the ladder

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our sincere goal to provide continuous growth opportunities in an exciting, cutting-edge atmosphere where our employees feel supported and heard. Reviews like yours are instrumental in our ability to implement change. We encourage you to share additional details about your experience with us at amgen@careers.pure.cloud.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Mar 18, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company, global leadership, pharma

      Cons

      not much really, overall pretty good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. Please know that our team can always be reached at amgen@careers.pure.cloud to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for your review!

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Don’t be fooled by the corporate comms messages

      Jun 19, 2020 - Commercial Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits eg shares, bonus, medical Products and pipeline Majority of people in positions below director are lovely. Most at director and above lose sight of what’s important and focus on own personal agenda

      Cons

      Leaders are not people leaders Very very poor people leadership Bureaucracy stifles innovation Far too many cooks in the kitchen to be agile Excessive volume of meetings As a company has own self image of being a great place to work which is stopping them from truly reflecting on areas where huge improvements are required to make it a more pleasurable place to work. Eg WFH as an accepted practice is all talk and most managers frown on it as a way of providing flexible work conditions. Hoping recent times will change this behavior.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for your review. At Amgen, we aim to uphold the highest degree of professionalism in all we do to serve patients. If you'd be so kind as to provide additional details of your experience by writing to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com, we will do our very best to prevent similar feelings in the future. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Poor culture and lack of professionalism

      Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Market leader in their field

      Cons

      Poor culture, unprofessional behaviour and full of politics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your review. We encourage you to share more details about your experience with our team at amgen@careers.pure.cloud.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was a great company to work for in the past

      May 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good compensation package for permanent staff.

      Cons

      Poor company culture, too focussed on shareholders

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Hello, thank you for your review. We are constantly brainstorming on ways to improve our culture for our employees, and this is the kind of feedback we're interested in hearing. Please know, you can always reach out to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great company

      May 29, 2020 - Sales Representative in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great salary and job security

      Cons

      centralized and rigid leadership, lack innovation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Amgen Response

      Social Media Manager

      Hello, thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear you're enjoying your time at Amgen. Please know, you can always reach out to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience and ways we can further improve. Thank you for your review.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Australian business is growing fast

      Oct 12, 2019 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic environment, interesting pipeline, strong leadership

      Cons

      Competitive external environment, global pressures

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company, great people, great values, risk averse

      Apr 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Value placed on patients and people is paramount, they live their value everyday and expect the same of employees. Remunerate their people very well.

      Cons

      Very flat structure that does not allow for strong career growth. Their policies tend to favour some and not others while occasionally dangling a carrot to keep you interested when the snack or meal will never eventuate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Modern hardware, use of cloud-based solutions, generous salaries, flexible work arrangements, travel opportunities, casual but competitive

      Cons

      Tendency to still be a little too US-centric even though its global footprint is now quite large. Sometimes tries to run on a too lean resourcing model

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Recommended

      Dec 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great friendly environment, generous bonus scheme.

      Cons

      Hard to achieve work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,425 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Amgen Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Amgen? Share Your Experiences

    Amgen logo
    or