Amgen Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
855 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You need to have strong personal boundaries because it's a 24/7 kind of work culture with little work/life balance(in 86 reviews)

  • "Very poor decision making with senior leadership - lack of leadership courage to do anything truly progressive(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good Experience but Biased Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work campus

    Cons

    In the technical/operations area, too much fooling around for promotions or men in management hesitant of interacting with women because of the others engaging in such activities. Stalls females if you don’t pay to play so to speak.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-13

    Amgen Response

    May 14, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We strive to foster an environment where women feel respected and supported in reaching their personal and professional goals. We take these issues seriously, and would appreciate hearing more about your experience at talentacquistioninquiries@amgen.com so we can prevent inappropriate behavior in the future.

  2. "Great benefits package"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for development. Great benefits especially 401k.

    Cons

    Highly political and that’s probably it

    Amgen2020-04-26

    Amgen Response

    April 27, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your growth and leave positive feedback about our comprehensive benefits package. At Amgen, we work to ensure we have direct lines of communication at all times to address your concerns, whether that be speaking with your manager or contacting our team through our support line. Please do not hesitate to connect with us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Thank you!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "This was a bummer."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Associate in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some strong and friendly people. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Didn't feel empowered to escalate a culture issue within the organization - felt powerless to do anything except leave.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-04-25

    Amgen Response

    April 29, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty and we are very sorry to hear what you went through. With your help, we'd like to take this as an opportunity to grow and improve for the future. We value your perspective and are here to listen. Please connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Thank you.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "value and access"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice location for HQ

    Cons

    low development opportunity, poor culture in commercial org.

    Amgen2020-03-16

    Amgen Response

    March 19, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hi there, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you've been enjoying our campus and comprehensive benefits package, but we'd like to work with you to improve the areas cited above. Our goal is to make Amgen a place where colleagues feel accepted and supported; who better to help us achieve that than the person experiencing it firsthand? Please reach out to your supervisor or email us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more. Thank you!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Tipping point for work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director, Program Management in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Amgen

    Pros

    Great benefits (vacation days + summer & winter shutdowns), talented pool of professionals, good science.

    Cons

    Work load is insane & no end in sight! There is a generalized feeling across all functions & levels that every one is doing 2 FTEs worth of work. Folks here work hard & are highly accountable but many report that their quality of work is decreasing due to volume of work.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-03-10

    Amgen Response

    April 29, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear this has been your experience. We are committed to helping our employees maintain a fair and manageable workload as well as providing a positive work environment. As a valued member of our team, your input is critical in bringing this to fruition. Please contact us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience so we can help our teams appropriately address the above concerns. Thank you.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management changes directions constantly."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Oncology Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and great products.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, who truly do not care about patients.

    Amgen2020-01-26

    Amgen Response

    January 27, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello. We're extremely sorry to hear of your negative experience with our team. We encourage you to contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more so we can address this internally. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  7. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great benefits and compensation package

    Cons

    slow moving corporate culture to navigate

    Amgen2019-12-13
  8. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Willing to hire candidates with limited experience; great benefits

    Cons

    Low initial salary; Limited career ladder

    Amgen2019-12-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on the department..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fair, but not great benefits. It's near the freeway on ramp.

    Cons

    Research projects tend to be siloed so you do not get any exposure to any programs. Poor culture. Tends to be very gossipy and rumor driven. Be sure to ask how many people have left the department in the past year.

    Amgen2019-12-17
  10. "Employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate of Disbursements in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about this company.

    Amgen2019-09-24
Found 204 reviews