Appco Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Appco Group Reviews

Updated 11 December 2018
285 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Appco Group Founder and Chairman Chris Niarchos
Chris Niarchos
7 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Young work environment, very high energy" (in 38 reviews)

  • "No pros to mention as good about this organization" (in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "They advertise it as an "internship" but in reality it is a door-to-door sales job" (in 38 reviews)

  • "Stressful sometimes along with long hours" (in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fantastic company and awesome colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surry Hills
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surry Hills
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A real team environment.

    Cons

    The communal lift takes a while to get to our floor.

    Appco Group Response

    6 Aug 2017 – Communications Manager

    Thanks for your positive feedback – it's great to hear that you're enjoying working at Appco Australia.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None

    They say that working for them will help you build character and work ethic...but that really is a way just to brainwash you into working ridiculous hours for commission only and barely much money. DON’T WORK HERE!!!

    Cons

    Commission only!! For the number of hours you work you barely earn anything.

    Feels kind of like a cult.

    No benefits

    Advice to Management

    Pay a base salary and give people reasonable and healthy hours.

    Appco Group Response

    22 Jan 2018 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are sorry to learn of your experience as it is not what we would wish for any independent contractor.

    Independent contractors are engaged... More

  3. "Great lively environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Surry Hills
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Surry Hills
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time

    Pros

    I have been working here for over 1 year now. A big plus is the fantastic and realistic management team. I always feel my voice is heard and have had opportunities to progress within my role. The staff are generally happy people as well which makes making friends easy.

    Cons

    A better coffee machine would be beneficial.

    Appco Group Response

    7 Mar 2017

    Thanks for the review. We always appreciate good feedback.


  4. Helpful (5)

    "Never before I have seen so much bull in a company in my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "Independent Contractor" in Perth, Western Australia
    Former Employee - "Independent Contractor" in Perth, Western Australia
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Beer night

    Cons

    Leading people on customers clients and team members alike

    Misleading job advertisements on seek/ career one etc

    Commission only (at $1 per item)

    False interview process

    Rude and egotistical

    Never been caught by the ATO/ fair work ombudsman etc I'm surprised they haven't been caught

    Early starts late finishes

    "Self employed" so they don't pay super or any benefits therefore they get away with murder it's a common system in this country

    Advice to Management

    Stop what your doing now stop leading customers employees or as what you call them independent contractors and give them a fair days pay instead of commission

    Trust me one day you will be on today tonight or a current affair and trust me your lies are all over the net

    Appco Group Response

    26 Sep 2016

    Independent contractors in the Appco Australia network are contracted, on a self-employed basis, to independent marketing companies.
    As you have alluded to, the contractors in Australia are not... More


  5. "Great Company to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A very supportive company where every is encouraged to help out in different roles and divisions. Always fun to come to work and engage with like-minded people.

    Cons

    Compared to other business there are no concerns that come to mind.

    Appco Group Response

    22 May 2016

    Great to hear you are enjoying working at Appco.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surry Hills
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surry Hills
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Appco has a great environment with a lot of fun and amazing people! The business does amazing things for a long list of clients.

    Cons

    A little behind with the technology. Some programs and processes are quite manual and could do with a review and upgrade.

    Appco Group Response

    22 May 2016

    Thanks for the review. Some great feedback and good suggestions on where improvements can be made in the business.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Appco Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, room for development and progression, fun, vibrant atmosphere

    Cons

    No cons come to mind compared to other employers

    Appco Group Response

    2 May 2016

    Thanks for your positive feedback – it's great to hear that you are enjoying your role!

  8. "Supportive and Open-Minded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney

    Pros

    Dynamic group of staff who excel in a medium to face-paced working environment. Management group are accessible and receptive to staff input.

    Cons

    The national network of Marketing Companies who contract to Appco Group may challenge those who want their 'work' to be based purely in one city only.

    Appco Group Response

    24 Jul 2016

    We are pleased that you find the staff at Appco Group in Sydney 'dynamic' and the management both accessible and receptive for staff input and feedback. The national reach of Appco Group can provide... More


  9. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for personal and business development.
    Great group of people to work with.
    Very motivating and inspiring company.

    Cons

    More networking functions would be great!

    Appco Group Response

    26 Jun 2016

    Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you are enjoying your employment at Appco Group.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, ability to grow, establish great people and sales skills

    Cons

    Need to maintain responsibility for your own business as an Independent Contractor - tricky industry to be in!

    Advice to Management

    Help staff and ICs alike!

    Appco Group Response

    26 Jun 2016

    We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you.