Appco Group Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.7
16%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Appco Group Founder and Chairman  Chris Niarchos
Chris Niarchos
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's Door-to-Door sales, long hours(in 69 reviews)

  • "They advertise it as an "internship" but in reality it is a door-to-door sales job(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't fall for their BS"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great energy, people are great and you get your exercise in. learn good sales tips.

    Cons

    First you will walk all the streets (door-to- door) a full shift in your interview attire, just as a test if you can handle the basic requirement of the job. Your basic pay is around $75 a day for each sale you will receive $15-$20. Your goal is 2 a day. still scrap money. Typically work 10-12 hrs per day. 6 days a week.

    Continue reading
  2. "Fraud"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Associate in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you wanna work like donkey you can earn very well

    Cons

    No salary , pure door to door sales job, you get 16.5% of what you sell. No long term career

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    July 17, 2019Global Head of Communications

    Hi there - Unfortunately, this review seems to be for a sales agency rather than Appco. Please review and amend as appropriate.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work but mis sold"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Leader in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, good fun and great people. Brilliant learning experience for future jobs if you are a student It is the best thing I ever did to take into future jobs.

    Cons

    Management and culture sell to you that it is easy to progress and own your own offices because the staff turnover is so high, as its such a tough job (door to door sales). 100% Commission makes it tougher.

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    January 19, 2018Global Head of Communications

    Thanks for your review. Firstly, it's important to clarify that, as a sales leader based in Guildford, you were not employed by Appco Group UK. We do not employ sales representatives, they are always recruited by, contracted to and paid by our outsourced business partners. In light of this, your very helpful feedback will be passed on to all marketing companies we outsource to so that they can ensure they are communicating clearly to every self-employed person they contract.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Business Associate in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros about this company. Very disappointing and disgusting company I have seen till date. Appco (Clear water, Floyd inc, Nirman, Absolution) everything is fraud

    Cons

    1st and foremost thing don't even attend the interview. They tell u a lot of fake things like you can earn so 25-30-40k n all.. Everything fake here. Your 1st day will be GD and then you will be called for 2nd round on 2nd day and some guy will give u presentation on that day and the same guy will send u with another guy or a girl to show u a demo of work. And then u ll come to know it is field work. Field work in he sense door to door marketing asking for donations. And then everyday in the office there is something called as morning meetings and that is so damm boring. After that u ll have to byheart what all u have speak in front of the customers(when asking donations). My bike got spoilt they dint give me maintenance charges. I could not spend time with my family, friends. If I leave home at 7 in the morning I would be back home only by 8 or 8:30 in the night. As soon as I came home I had to have dinner n sleep because I had to wake up at 6 in the morning and it's really hard to wake up at 6 after all the days hard work because there is no sufficient sleep for the body. Your body will ask for more sleep when you work for the whole day walking n walking to every house in a particular area. I even got dark circles below my eyes due to lack of sleep. On the whole worst experience and I dint even work there for a month. Such a bad company. Now I am placed in Toyota and I am very happy.

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    July 3, 2017Communications & social media manager, Appco Group India

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to know that your experience was not a positive one. We would like to clarify that Appco does not have any branch in Bengaluru. Appco office is located only in Mumbai. However, we have independent marketing companies contacted with us , which in turn contract Business Associates, on the self-employment basis to conduct field sales work. This facilitates the Business Associates in the Appco India network with flexible working opportunities, allowing them to determine their level of commitment and take control of their income. However, we understand that this model is not for everyone. We're sorry that you are no longer part of the Appco network. We would like to have more information from you regarding your experience so that we can investigate this matter further, hence please share your contact details or connect with us directly on communication@appcogroupindia.com. We wish you every success.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Hell on earth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros whatsoever

    Cons

    No salary - 100% commission. Constant lies from management about career progression. Stupidly long hours. Having to work door to door selling shady things to decent people

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Modern slavery - AVOID"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Appco Group

    Pros

    Nothing. I worked in an Appco company called Eagle Eye Worldwide in Plymouth. It's now shut down, 3 years into the business because the business model for an Appco company is messed up and will never ever last. Read below.

    Cons

    The company belongs to Appco Group Support or AGS. It is marketed as face to face or direct marketing which is a cold calling, door to door fundraising for charities such as Alzheimer’s Research UK and Breast Cancer Now. Fully commissioned base work, travel expenses not covered. The recruitment process is as follows - put your CV through Indeed, you will get a call because you were ‘short-listed’ for a position. The first round of appointments - everyone is offered a job. The second round of appointments - everyone still gets offered a job. You are vaguely given the actual role itself by the “Managing Director” and you won’t know until you go on “field” after two “interviews”. Job / Work life balance - The day starts at 12, 11:30 if you in the next stage of development. After over an hour of “training” and “morning meeting”, you go on the “field” where essentially you knock doors to speak to 100 people and get 1 or 2 people to sign up for a direct debit to give £10 or £12 a month to the represented charity. The morning meetings usually go over an hour, so people stay in the training room from 12-1:30. Leave and then travel (every day) to villages or towns in Devon and Cornwall. You start knocking on doors from 2:30 until 8:30. Which means if you are in far away places, getting back to the office is around 10:30 to even 11 at night. Salary - For 1 sale, depending on the donation amount the customer agreed on giving - you are paid £50. £30 goes straight into your next pay and £20 goes into a contingency pot where the company will deduct £50 if the customer does not continually pay for more than 6 months. The experienced people in the office usually aim to do 3 sales a day. There are a lot of people in the office that don’t make a sale and is usually earning less than £200 a week. There are a couple of good ones that are doing 3 or even more, but usually these people have been there for over 2 years and are too deep in to get out of the system because they are too invested in the company and their dream of being an “owner” of their own marketing company one day. Job security/ advancement - There are 5 stages of development that the company follow given by their parent Appco. Everyone starts off as a “fundraiser”. The second stage is a leader, after doing 2 sales for 3 days consecutively the fundraiser is “promoted”. This promotion is only a label that allows them to train other people. This promotion doesn’t increase the fundraiser’s earnings - merely a label to retain and give a false feeling of development. The next stage, where only 1 person has achieved in the last 15 months in the company (apparently) required the fundraiser to train 3 people and promote them to a leader. Training people requires you to “invest” in them as well, this includes helping them getting their first/second/third/fourth/fifth sale. Running a team of 4 requires you to occasionally work with them door to door give them sales. If you are an experienced fundraiser doing 3 a day, you are essentially giving away £50 to someone who might not even be there the next day. Management - The managing director seems collected, calm and cold. He does not go knocking on doors anymore because his office does his work for him and gets paid the same as his fundraisers. This is the dream of many brainwashed fundraisers in the business. His job is to sell the dream to work to a level where you have a team around you to open up your own office. Their ways of comparing their business model to salary jobs are merely sad and desperate. They talk about money every single morning and how much someone could be earning. Promises of £30k, £90k, £120k if you increase your sales by only 1, or 2 or 3 a day. Only 1 or 2 people in the office make +£300 a week. That’s £15,000 or less. There are around 20 or 25 people currently working, most are earning well below £10,000, take out your daily expenses for food and travel every single day and people are left to work over 12 hour days and being paid less than minimum wage to scrape by. Job Culture - You get to meet some incredible people in the job. This is what really retains the people that work there. People stay because it’s fun mostly. That’s the only positive side to this business. It helps you improve confidence in speaking to people and pushes you outside of your comfort zone. I suggest everyone to try this once in their life, but as a career - stay very very far away.

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    November 22, 2017Global Head of Communications

    Appco UK is very sorry to read your review – we do appreciate you taking the time to provide it. Firstly, we must clarify that the company you were contracted to does not belong to Appco. Yes, we sub-contract businesses like the one you were associated with to provide field-marketing and fundraising services, and they are valued partners, but they are independent companies. Outsourcing services in this way is not unusual and allows Appco UK to focus on campaign management, knowing that the face-to-face activity is being conducted by those who are experts in that area. Your self-employed status should have been made absolutely clear to you during the recruitment process and it does mean that you are responsible for paying your own expenses. We know that self-employment and direct sales/fundraising does not suit everyone, but it does appeal to a lot of people and we’re lucky to have so many of them representing our clients. We wish you all the best with your chose career endeavours. We would also welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in more detail. If this is of interest to you, please contact us at customerservice@appcogroup.co.uk

  7. Helpful (4)

    "FIELD WORK, Salary not fixed worked as management trainee"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management Trainee in New Delhi

    I worked at Appco Group

    Pros

    -You have to meet many people face to face -know about sales -know how to talk with people -increase your confidence - you learn how to sell a product -learn how to manage a team and build a team - learn about door to door selling

    Cons

    -hard work. -field work. -the whole salary depends on upon the sale or in how fund you generate zero product sale means zero salary -long working hour

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    August 30, 2016Communications & social media manager, Appco Group India

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to hear that the role as a contractor within the Appco India network helped you develop such a broad range of skills. You are correct that the business associate role does require hard work, but that is the case in any role in order to achieve success. Appco Group India contracts with independent marketing companies, which in turn contract business associates,on a self-employed basis, to provide face-to-face sales and fundraising services for Appco's clients at various locations as per the target audience. Business associates are paid on performance. This gives them flexible working opportunities, allowing them to determine their level of commitment and take control of their income. Moreover, Appco India offers many opportunities for business development and to determine your own earnings, which many people choose and work hard to make the most of these opportunities; however the standard working day for someone in a training role is 8am-6pm, and shorter for those who are new to the business. Appco India encourages the marketing companies in its network to be as transparent as possible. As part of our commitment to openness and improving the process, we would like to discuss your experience in detail and resolve any issues they may have. Hence, please do contact us at communication@appcoindia.com or BASupport@appcoindia.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. We wish you every success with your future career.

  8. "Fake Fake Fake!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Associate in Banga
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they con you make you beg door to door for donations ... floyd or clear water Inc etc .. all fake

    Cons

    if you want irregular remuneration with fake donation begging join here.

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    August 23, 2016Communications & social media manager, Appco Group India

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to know that your experience was not a positive one. Business associates in the Appco India network are contracted on a self-employed basis and are paid on performance. This allows people to determine their level of commitment, rate of progression and take control of their income. However, we understand this model is not for everyone. Please do contact us at communication@appcoindia.com or BASupport@appcoindia.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. We wish you every success with your future career.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "The bad rumors are true"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing and Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appco Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really, unless if you really like awkward door to door selling, training is provided for new people.

    Cons

    Everything, lack of transparency in work ads and during interviews

    Continue reading

    Appco Group Response

    July 22, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the lack of transparency during the interview process, as this is not something we condone. At Appco, we provide candidates, including new graduates and students, with entry level experiences to learn the business world and gain vital transferable skills such as communications, presentations and public speaking. These skill sets can you used at various stages of one's career. As you progress within the company, further coaching is provided for various aspects of the business including leadership, managing a team and office. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss your experience further at ripatel@appcogroup.com.

  10. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appco Group for less than a year

    Pros

    - Entry-level sales experience - An opportunity to make uncapped earnings (commission) - Opportunities at leadership roles - Positive work environment which encourages a positive mentality

    Cons

    - Lack of Transparency - Promotional opportunity is rather pyramid scheme-esque - Long hours make it difficult to balance school/personal life - Low base pay which requires you to rely heavily on the sales tier based commission - Outdoor field work, can be trying during unfavorable weather - Deceiving portrayal of job opportunity. The fact that it is essentially a glorified door to door sales job is omitted throughout the entire hiring/interview process.

    Appco Group Response

    May 11, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the work environment and sales experience. However, we are disappointed to hear that you feel you weren't fully informed before taking the role. This is not something that we condone as part of the recruitment process and we will most certainly look into this matter further. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss your experience further at ripatel@appcogroup.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 English Reviews