Appen Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Appen CEO Mark Brayan
Mark Brayan
282 Ratings
Pros
  • "Valuable/meaningful work from home, flexible hours, growth opportunities within the company as a contractor for, interesting projects(in 147 reviews)

  • "flexible work time and a variety of opportunities(in 93 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, to many materials learn for(in 50 reviews)

  • "Contract work with no benefits or tax holdings(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Highly flexible company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelancer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Appen has allowed to have a second job while having time to do other things.

    Cons

    The qualification process may take some time.

    Continue reading
    Appen2020-04-22
  2. "You know the infinite monkey theorem. It's like that except we didn't produce Shakespeare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriber in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The facilities were nice, software was good.

    Cons

    Tight leash, they monitored your computer activity and words you write per minute

    Appen2019-11-26
  3. "Nearly a good job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members, often interesting projects, exciting and expanding field of work. So much potential. I'd really like to LOVE this job.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other jobs in the same industry- HR don't take this concern seriously. You can easily do a google search and find similar jobs that pay much more. Unfortunately Appen is in the habit of expecting that people accept jobs here because they are fascinated by the work and don't care about the pay. As we corporatize further, this is less realistic and the company is letting it's employees down by not considering how they can make jobs here attractive. Systems issues are often blamed on employees- the new crowd management system is riddled with bugs and errors, and yet when invoicing goes wrong, or a project system shorts out, or the email function breaks, it's the PMs and team members who are blamed, both by internal teams and the crowd. I've received threats and abuse over things that I couldn't control. Sometimes Appen Connect just breaks. We all feel strongly that we want to do the best by our crowd, but it's hard with tools that are not yet fit for purpose. Internal corporate teams (Recruitment, HR and Finance) are often very difficult to work with. Everything turns in to blame games, walking on egg shells, person to person problems, and as soon as you ask internal corporate teams to do their jobs, you're suddenly the bad guy. It's very tiring for project teams to be stuck in the middle of this. Burnout is common, people are afraid of expressing concern, we lose team members to other companies that we've spent so much time training, people work long hours thinking that bad work/life balance is normal.

    Continue reading
    Appen2019-11-12

    Appen Response

    November 18, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm sorry you did not have an ideal experience at Appen but I do want to let you know that I've personally passed this along to our senior management team.

  4. "PM"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Appen part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced work with a lot of variety

    Cons

    Long hours expected for not great pay

    Appen2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, not so great environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Appen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, bonuses, vacation time, etc

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, lack of career growth opportunities, upper leadership doesn't communicate their vision clearly.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-12-19

    Appen Response

    December 31, 2018

    Thanks for taking the time to post this review which will be shared with our Sydney leaders.

  6. "Project team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fast-growing company, top clients.

    Cons

    Low salaries, no company culture, no benefits.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-11-19
  7. "Love the flexibility and the people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to work with people all over the world, and meet people from diverse backgrounds and cultures. I feel like I have a friend in any country I go to. The times you work can also be flexible depending on your role.

    Cons

    With flexibility comes blurred working hours – long hours are treated as normal, and taking calls early/late or working on weekends to meet a deadline are common. The company is also growing rapidly but some processes are still highly manual, like in a smaller company. The project work can get repetitive.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-09-18

    Appen Response

    September 18, 2018

    Thank you for this stellar review! One of my favorite parts of this job is also being able to work with people from all over the world. This is part of what makes our company special and I hope that it will continue to grow and expand.

  8. "Good Work from Home"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Web Search Evaluator in Sydney
    Recommends

    I have been working at Appen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to decide when and where you work, work from home, easy work once you learn the guidelines. They are working out the kinks involved in working with crowdsourced employees, but they really listen and adjust based on employee feedback. Good pay for an entry-level work from home job.

    Cons

    Slow response time from managers. Work is not consistent. You won't support a family with this income, but it will help, and it's one of the better-paying crowdsourced positions available.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-08-03

    Appen Response

    August 7, 2018

    Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are working to improve the hours to be more consistent and appreciate your feedback on that.

  9. "working at Appen"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fast growing, outcome focused, flexible and supportive place to work. It starts at the top with good leadership and drive and this creates a culture of success

    Cons

    Nothing to add in this item

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-05-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do business in China if you don't want to set up the infrastructure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appen

    Pros

    Project manager on the project is responsive and helpful.

    Cons

    This company pays about 10rmb for an hour of work and only use PayPal to pay. while no one use paypal in China as everyone is using Alipay. To get your money from paypal, you have to have at least 150usd in the account and there is 30usd withdraw fee.

    Continue reading
    Appen2018-03-15
Found 781 reviews