Appian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Appian Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Appian President and CEO Matt Calkins
Matt Calkins
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Monday morning breakfast turns the Monday blues into woohoos(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is sadly rare in the tech space(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Professional Services (PS) has limited input/ say over product roadmap (owned primarily by the engineering team)(in 13 reviews)

  • "It did seem like many of the full-time employees were under pressure to put in long hours, but this obviously wasn't an issue as an intern(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, pay and commission, great product

    Cons

    procedural management and back office overheads

    Continue reading
    Appian2018-06-19
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Graduates beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Engineer 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have joined in US then awesome team environment Free breakfast Amazing office

    Cons

    Small team Manager micromanaging everyone Not worth Graduate’s time It’s all about making “APPIAN” better not the individual better which is actually disappointing Manager will have 1 on 1 with you every other week but it’s useless they just want to get rid of the people who are genuinely trying to fit it... all they care about is the people who are quick learners

    Continue reading
    Appian2019-04-09
  3. "A company that cares about its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Appian has made a great effort to be a great place to work. Especially for younger engineers, this is a great place to learn and grow. At the same time, the company is committed to the personal growth of its employees. Also, if there are problems, management takes criticism seriously, investigates, and puts into action things that result in positive change.

    Cons

    As the company gets larger, it gets more process-heavy, and it's harder for senior people to know what's really happening on the ground. Appian has grown well, but it's still starting to have big company problems. The engineering department has become very junior heavy in the last few years.

    Continue reading
    Appian2020-01-28

    Appian Response

    February 7, 2020VP, Product Development

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to touch on areas both that you enjoy, and those that you would like to see improvement. As you know, we’re always seeking ways to audit and improve. I’d value sitting down to hear more thoughts that you have, especially given that you have been with us throughout our tremendous growth!

    Continue reading
  4. "Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MSD in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Base salary is very competitive

    Cons

    Bonus is low and no stock options offered for employees annually

    Appian2020-01-28

    Appian Response

    February 10, 2020VP, Product Development

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As you know, we're always auditing and seeking ways to improve. Thus, we will pass along the feedback to our Total Rewards team, and encourage you to also share with your department HR Business Partner.

    Continue reading
  5. "Fantastic company & intelligent and motivated teammates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Visionary leaders, smart co-workers & great mobility within department and in other departments

    Cons

    An important component of Appian culture is to work as many hours to get the job done, which is a pro or con depending on your value of work life balance

    Appian2020-01-25
  6. "Great culture, solid future of company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Hardware Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People are great - Great work/life balance - Continuous improvement - Office space & perks - Growing!

    Cons

    - Not enough senior engineers to lead - Hard to find interesting work to do

    Continue reading
    Appian2020-01-23

    Appian Response

    February 10, 2020VP, Product Development

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad you appreciate the new office as well! We urge all employees to take advantage of our internal learning offerings at Appian for professional growth and it sounds like you agree with our focus on continuous learning and improvement. To your point about senior engineers, we are actively focused on both finding external top talent to bring into the organization AND developing/promoting our existing folks into leadership positions. If you ever want to discuss it further, please swing by!

    Continue reading
  7. "Hard to believe how much I've grown in my short time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people! Highly intelligent, passionate about what they do, and VERY collaborative. Employees here care about excelling at their individual jobs, but they also genuinely care about and support teammates (or even people from other departments you didn't know) to ensure others are excelling as well. The extras, of course, are nice: - Flexible PTO - Moved into a new HQ in Tysons with state-of-the-art tech and facilities - Renovated full-gym (w/ golf practice cage) - Running track around a lake (appx 1 mile) and separate koi pond - Basketball & Tennis Courts, Bocce Ball, Horseshoes, Ping Pong, and others - Free snacks & drinks, breakfast, and a lot of random catered meals - Several team, department, 'affinity groups', and company events throughout the year - Too many others to list here...

    Cons

    Tysons location w/ traffic. Fortunately, the building provides numerous options (including Uber!) for those looking to get to the Metro or mall.

    Continue reading
    Appian2019-12-12

    Appian Response

    December 16, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re thrilled to hear of your positive experience thus far, and appreciate you highlighting some of the exciting perks our new headquarters has to offer. As always, if there are any areas in which you believe we can improve, come talk to me! I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions.

    Continue reading
  8. "Amazing company with the best culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about working at Appian is being part of such an incredible, fun, welcoming, and supportive culture. There are tons of opportunities to get involved and have an impact, even as a new employee. The environment is extremely collaborative, giving everyone the opportunity to work, learn, and succeed together. The people at Appian are genuinely some of the most kind and competent individuals I have ever met. I am consistently impressed with how willing everyone is to drop what they are working on to help others. On top of that, there are tons of opportunities for growth at Appian and the company is invested in YOUR ability to learn. Other fun perks (some specific to Engineering) include free breakfast every Monday, flexible dress code, designated work hours set aside for personal learning/improvement and working on independent projects, great office snacks, and flexible working hours. I genuinely look forward to going to work every day at Appian! :)

    Cons

    Would be nice to be closer to the metro / other shops and restaurants but the company has done a great job to compensate for this by providing free Ubers and a shuttle both to nearby metro stops and to both of the Tysons malls.

    Appian2019-12-05

    Appian Response

    December 13, 2019VP, Product Development

    Thanks for sharing your experience with Appian thus far! I value the unique experiences you touched on regarding our Engineering department. Thanks to feedback (both good and constructive!) we have been able to continuously improve. If you ever have any feedback or suggestions, please swing by!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Culture Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer, Senior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The CEO is very transparent and committed to keeping the culture of the organization as Appian continues to grow. My manager is honest and open and gives great feedback on how I can grow. The quarterly meetings helps to keep employees engaged with the vision of the company and in the know of all the changes. Lot of "free food" is a plus. The Monday morning breakfast turns the Monday blues into woohoos.

    Cons

    Need to work better with inter-departmental communication.

    Continue reading
    Appian2019-12-04

    Appian Response

    December 13, 2019Senior Director, Information Technology

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to read all of the positive notes you shared, both regarding Appian as a whole, as well as within the IT Department. Inter-departmental communication is something we are working on improving, especially as we continue to grow. I would be really interested in hearing any other feedback you might have - please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly!

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing company and great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - work/life balance - positive, empowering work environment - great compensation and benefits - fun, quirky people - flexible dress code -cool office space - free breakfast mondays!!

    Cons

    - location: not located directly near a metro stop, but the building offers shuttle/free ubers to and from the metro

    Appian2019-11-18

    Appian Response

    November 19, 2019VP, Customer Success

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We enjoyed reading all of the things you like about working at Appian. As always, please don’t hesitate to reach out to leadership if in the future there are any areas in which you think we could improve. P.S. I, too, enjoy the catered breakfast on Mondays!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 214 reviews