Appian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Appian Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 204 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Appian CEO Matt Calkins
Matt Calkins
159 Ratings
Pros
  • "Close to a meritocracy, smart people, interesting work(in 14 reviews)

  • "Flexible PTO policy that stresses work/life balance (company came up with an "Out of Office" YouTube series to highlight outside passions)(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Professional Services (PS) has limited input/ say over product roadmap (owned primarily by the engineering team)(in 13 reviews)

  • "It did seem like many of the full-time employees were under pressure to put in long hours, but this obviously wasn't an issue as an intern(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, pay and commission, great product

    Cons

    procedural management and back office overheads

    Advice to Management

    Allow more creativity

    Appian2018-06-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Graduates beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Engineer 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have joined in US then awesome team environment Free breakfast Amazing office

    Cons

    Small team Manager micromanaging everyone Not worth Graduate’s time It’s all about making “APPIAN” better not the individual better which is actually disappointing Manager will have 1 on 1 with you every other week but it’s useless they just want to get rid of the people who are genuinely trying to fit it... all they care about is the people who are quick learners

    Advice to Management

    If you don’t realise graduates are straight outta college they are new to work field and they can’t be expected to pick up new concepts quickly... some people are slow but that doesn’t mean they are not going to be good at their job... be patient give them proper chance. Trust me they are not working at this company just for the salary they want to actually succeed... don’t be a road block in their success

    Appian2019-04-09
  3. "Job Position Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to work for Great Employee Culture

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to move up the corporate ladder You could end up in teams that have members who put in little to no effort

    Appian2019-09-15
  4. "Great place with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is super smart and friendly, the building is unbelievably for this area. There are lots of perks and benefits alongside with very competitive pay

    Cons

    The only con is that the commute is so insane

    Appian2019-08-26
  5. "Appian Customers love working with us and I do too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time

    Pros

    Fair minded people, with integrity and typically our words are fulfilled on with consistent actions. The market is "going our way" and validation of our platform's value is constant and accelerating. Low code speed, and true enterprise grade scalable tech.

    Cons

    I can't think of one thing I would mention as a con. In my career I have not been working within a company with a joined up mission, great and smart people who all maintain a sensible yet winning mentality with such happy customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep our culture and values at the forefront of our growth -I am sure you are so more of the same please

    Appian2019-08-23
  6. "Very fast growth, strong focus on customer success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fast growing so lots of opportunity, the technology really is the market leader and as customer success is so strong we have the best relationships with customers that I've had since being in IT.

    Cons

    The rapid growth can cause challenges and many aren't dealt with until they become an (entirely predictable) problem. The exec layer has been there since the start and are often found wanting.

    Advice to Management

    Too much making it up as you go along.

    Appian2019-08-22

    Appian Response

    August 23, 2019VP, US Sales

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. While there will always be unpredictable situations in the ever-changing world of technology and business, Appian is always seeking ways to improve our processes. I welcome a conversation with you better understand how we can improve in ...

    Show More
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Appian has a really great work culture and solid benefits. I have been particularly impressed at how quickly I've been given responsibility at work -- Appian has no time for meaningless red tape. The HQ office is beautiful, and Appian is mostly supportive of accommodating changing work needs, whether that means working remote, taking maternity leave, etc. Upper management is all very accessible, and overall it feels... like a place with enough career opportunities to keep you engaged for a long time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Everyone at Appian works hard, and there is a steady (not overwhelming) pressure to perform well. Work/life balance is still fine, but If you're looking for a "chill" job, this probably isn't a good fit for you.

    Appian2019-08-21

    Appian Response

    August 26, 2019Chief Information Officer

    Thank you for sharing your journey thus far with us. We are thrilled that you are enjoying your experience at Appian.

  8. "Exciting and Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Appian is a growing technology company that is focused on solving many big issues organizations face from data to process to technology. Some of the key pros are: - A lot of supporting resources that include ongoing training, sales engineers, executive advisors, event coordinators, and a very engaging legal and proposals organization. - Very supportive leadership that looks to help solve instead of pass... judgement. This has been one of the best parts of coming onboard with Appian. - Happy Customers definitely help to spread the brand. Many are willing to be referrals to prospects and also to the industry analysts. - Well structured tools that help you through the sales process and provide guidance on how to continue momentum. - It's a very collaborative organization to where you can have the CEO or any of the four founders talk to a prospect or customer. To where you get an email response from a C-level within an hour of sending. And where your team is all rooting for each other vs. letting office politics influence the culture. - The industry partnerships help significantly with introducing Appian and/or supporting Appian once implemented. When you have established and growing partnerships with the largest consulting companies, it definitely helps.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's really only a few that come to mind: - With a growing company, some benefits either aren't there or are more expensive than with a larger corporation. IE. ESPP isn't available and healthcare is 2-3x what I paid at a prior company. - Appian continues to grow it's employee count and some of the enabling functions of the organization haven't kept up with the growth in other areas. - I like the idea of... incorporating stock as a part of the compensation plan. That isn't the case with Appian.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the culture, growth, and enabling your teams to do great work. Don't let process get in the way of speed.

    Appian2019-08-16

    Appian Response

    August 19, 2019VP, US Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review - we greatly appreciate it! I am delighted to read some of the Pro’s you shared. As we continue to grow, we are committed to maintaining the culture in which you described amongst our sales environment and organization ...

    Show More
  9. "Great company and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Appian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was looking for sales positions at a start-up to mid-sized company where I could be creative and help build the business when I found Appian through a friend who working at Appian.  I wanted to find a unique company that is paving the way in a new technology market and was impressed with Appian and the low-code market opportunity. I've been at Appian for 9 months now and have had a great experience from... onboarding to the team dynamics to the leadership. It's company that is small enough to not have too much internal process, but big enough to have enough process to make your sales job easier.

    Show More

    Cons

    I would say the only downside is that they have had a sales force with less experience so they aren't quite as used to having senior sales reps. So some of the processes are more geared toward new / early career sales reps. That said, leadership has been understanding of feedback in this area.

    Appian2019-08-08

    Appian Response

    September 16, 2019VP, US Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I’m happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience thus far. We are committed to continuing positive enhancements and growth within our Sales organization, and appreciate both your enthusiasm and feedback. Please don’t hesitate ...

    Show More
  10. "One of the Best Places to work according to WashPost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although still fairly new to the organization, I felt instantly at home with my team and upper management. It’s great to be surrounded by smart, thoughtful, caring individuals who want to help you succeed. The Events that take place for customers and employees are out of this world. I have had so many incredible experiences thus far, learning something new each day, and building relationships with both internal... employees and outside organizations. The product itself is what drew me in as it truly does a phenomenal job of transforming business processes and is ranked as a leader in the Magic quadrant. #1 IPO in 2017 and ranked in the Best Place to Work category once again.

    Show More

    Cons

    Learning to be patient with myself and the long sales process. It’s a complex sale as the product can do so many things and there are a lot of people to collaborate with to get the deal done, but everyone is always willing to help me learn.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the front line (BDRs) to help build out the pipeline for the AE’s. Appreciate your transparency and willingness to join us in meetings. Keep celebrating the wins. So far it’s been great!

    Appian2019-08-01

    Appian Response

    August 2, 2019VP, US Sales

    We appreciate you sharing your experience with Appian thus far! We are determined to make the transition as seamless as possible, and we are happy to hear that’s what you have personally experienced. The advice is also much appreciated! Our focus is to invest not only in our Business ...

    Show More
Found 204 reviews