Arcadia Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Arcadia Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 284 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Sir Philip Green
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of sample sales, shorter Friday hours over the summer, lots of competitions and smaller perks as well as healthcare, phone contracts etc(in 27 reviews)

  • "Sample sale, staff discount, core hours(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Do more with less' attitude given by senior management(in 11 reviews)

  • "Offer a 25% staff discount but only in the form of a credit card if you pass the mandatory credit application(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arcadia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benififuts and lots of support from the head office

    Cons

    Managers can come across as patronising and can put you off a bit also but much flexibility in working hours

    Advice to Management

    We’re all humans

    Arcadia2019-07-16
  2. "Adequate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional training package, great HR benefits

    Cons

    Poor wage, over worked, short staffed, minimal progression opportunities

    Arcadia2019-06-28
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Able to progress Good business wear scheme for managers

    Cons

    Huge workloads with the addition of multi channel sales which gets no recognition

    Arcadia2019-06-24
  4. "Good for developing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Arcadia full-time

    Pros

    Recognised brand to work for Good for experience of a fast-moving, reactive business

    Cons

    Little opportunity for progression, little investment in to professional development and training

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people to retain employees

    Arcadia2019-06-19
  5. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Advisor 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arcadia full-time

    Pros

    good teams and easy to understand

    Cons

    late hours and weekend work

    Arcadia2019-06-02
  6. "Customer service - Great job ruined by poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arcadia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    Management were very rude, racist and had clear favourites. If not on her good side, she would try to embarrass you in front of customers and colleagues

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    Arcadia2019-06-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "AVOID H/O FOR YOUR OWN SAKE (AND SANITY)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exec in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arcadia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount in all stores. Occasional social activities (which are planned really well and are very enjoyable).

    Cons

    Where to start? I have no words for the shambles that is Arcadia. The lack of transparency, knowledge, maturity and ability in this company is truly shocking. There is no direction, structure or authenticity within leadership. Rash decisions are frequently made and a desire to cut costs (constantly) is evident. I have never worked in a company like this before. It is run like a poorly organised family corner shop (one...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave. You're the problem, not the industry. You should perform a culture audit so you can get a grasp on just how bad a job you're all doing.

    Arcadia2019-07-02
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Arcadia full-time

      Pros

      Fast paced environment and great experience of managing a challenging workload

      Cons

      Poor salaries in comparison to other retail brands

      Arcadia2019-05-15
    • "Hr department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Arcadia full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Structured P&P Good facilities - amazing head office building Lots of good people Exciting business

      Cons

      High st is suffering and this has a negative impact

      Arcadia2019-05-11
    • "Awful experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Greenford, England

      I worked at Arcadia part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good coworkers none other than that

      Cons

      A company that does not care about their employees in the slightest. The store I worked in was so hot during summer that we would have customers come up to us dripping in sweat, screaming to install AC. If that was the state of customers imagine what we, the employees who were in there the whole day, felt like. On top of that we were always understaffed, which only made the situation worse. Managers would always take...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fight for the rights of your employees like you do for yourself.

      Arcadia2019-06-15
    Found 284 reviews