Aspen Dental Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,414 of over 1,447 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Aspen Dental President Bob Fontana
Bob Fontana
757 Ratings
Pros
  • "Training opportunities for new doctors(in 76 reviews)

  • "Dentist compensation is based off of patient satisfaction(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be long hours depending on the situation from day to day(in 99 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be tricky(in 66 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Growth and opportunity

      Sep 8, 2020 - Regional Manager of Operations in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tremendously successful company that is growing its footprint leads to many opportunities nationwide Autonomy Feedback and culture of coaching and accountability is top notch

      Cons

      Communication can be hectic or inconsistent from HQ Lack of strong benefits package and base salary compensation

      29 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Doctor Owner Beware

      Aug 2, 2021 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New training programs, even hybrid to learn at home in a quiet environment.

      Cons

      Training program was so new they had not fully gone over it with in office staff so that it was truly complimentary; therefore there were a lot of assumptions. Hard sales focused Employees felt like a gear in the system

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Productive and fun work environment

      Aug 2, 2021 - Registered Dental Hygienist in Lavale, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance Great schedule flexibility (I was a new grad when I started with Aspen and they worked with me and my schedule to make sure I wasn't overwhelmed while settling in) Great benefits package Great pay Great career opportunities Great work environment

      Cons

      You have to see many patients each day so time management is very important

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Training will SUCK but the job is decent

      Jun 20, 2021 - Patient Service Representative in Houma, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chill work environment, lots of room for growth, benefits,

      Cons

      Horrible training where travel is required. I was made to drive 500 miles away but mileage and per diem is paid and it’s actually kind of nice on top of the hourly. The actual training however is subpar at best. Because of the fact that every office operates differently, learning the job at a office you won’t be working at full time and being expected to apply that at another is going to be difficult. Be prepared for lots of training yourself. They will let you complete online modules and then throw you on the front desk to work. There is ALOT to learn. I’ve been here for two months and still don’t know how to do a lot of things. You will only learn as you work. I read that a lot of people experienced toxic work environments but I did not. My office manager is extremely supportive and so is my regional manager. I felt at home the second I got there so I guess Im one of the lucky ones.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Major Bait and Switch

      Jul 28, 2021 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot think of any pros in working for Aspen Dental

      Cons

      This is not a management position, it is a high demand sales position. They make you think you are a manager but you have zero input in anything that a manager would have input in. Though you are held accountable for all the 'metrics' they set for you, you have little to no support in reaching them and honestly the metrics are set up for failure each month. The Regional Manager has all the control. Your support staff will be pulled often to help staff other offices, even if it leaves your office short handed. If you add up the hours you are expected to work against the base pay you will be shocked at how little you make.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good but late hours.

      Jul 31, 2021 - Dental Assistant in Pace, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good coworkers Get off at 1pm on Friday

      Cons

      No Dental Insurance Work until 6pm Work 1 Saturday a month

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Trained for 3 weeks and left

      Jul 20, 2021 - Patient Service Representative in Quincy, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starting pay was $14 per hour.

      Cons

      Far away training (2 hours from) Mon - Thur every week. (They put me in a hotel) Very late on being sent the reimbursement money for food and mileage. Very little support during training; mostly doing computer modules and essentially going through psuedo-"dental school" on the computer to be cross trained for early every position in the office, even though you likely won't ever need to do it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Benefits

      Jul 25, 2021 - Dental Hygienist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, up to date equipment and instruments. Opportunities to move out of clinical hygiene.

      Cons

      Long hours, metrics driven, New Patients are scheduled separate from hygiene so you have to get up from your scheduled patients to probe new pts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GREAT PLACE TO WORK

      May 5, 2021 - Dental Assistant and Treatment Plan Coordinator in Manchester, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Aspen is a great company to work for with plenty of job growth opportunities. I had the opportunity to explore different dental offices and found myself coming back to Aspen Dental after working in different specialties. Out of all the private and corporate offices I have worked at there is really no other environment like Aspen Dental. The day is fast paced with a variety of work to be done so the days go by quick and it is impossible to get bored. The patients have varieties of treatment plans and due to the fact that Aspen does a lot of denture work, the interaction with patients is more positive than other offices. Patients are always excited to see their new smiles! The growth within aspen is also diverse and easily attainable. Through working at Aspen, I have been able to work at the front desk as a treatment coordinator but have also been cross trained as a dental assistant due to Aspens training opportunities.

      Cons

      There is a requirement to work one Saturday a month but rotating schedules make it only a couple Saturdays a year and someone is always willing to help out if you cant work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Alright pay for entry-level, long hours

      Aug 2, 2021 - Dental Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All training provided (I didn't go to school for anything remotely dental).

      Cons

      Terrible pay in comparison to all local dental offices, long fluctuating hours, overscheduling of patients a huge issue, questionable sanitation/sterilization guidelines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,414 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Aspen Dental Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Aspen Dental? Share Your Experiences

    Aspen Dental logo
    or