Aspen Dental Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Aspen Dental President Bob Fontana
Bob Fontana
583 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dentist compensation is based off of patient satisfaction(in 35 reviews)

  • "I started as an office manager and absolutely fell in love with the process of helping patients and same day treatment(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, Work/Life balance is tough at times(in 86 reviews)

  • "Work life balance requires personal discipline and high level time management(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Experience as DA for aspen"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the people I work with. Love all of my patients!!

    Cons

    Mostly all about money and revenue. Patient care doesn’t matter to front desk, front desk is more worried about making money.

    Continue reading
    Aspen Dental2020-05-29
  2. "Aspen"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to services is nice

    Cons

    Working for a big business

    Aspen Dental2020-05-14
  3. "Not worth it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspen Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's better than being unemployed.

    Cons

    Long hours, micro managed, poor salary & lack of flexibility. The list could really go on and on but those are the primary shortcomings.

    Continue reading
    Aspen Dental2020-06-02
  4. "Good job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Service Representative in Elizabethtown, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspen Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment. Good teamwork. Decent schedule.

    Cons

    Lack of staffing. Working on saturdays.

    Aspen Dental2020-05-01
  5. "Eh..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Scranton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great customers who are wonderful to work with

    Cons

    Most you work with and procedures are disorganized

    Continue reading
    Aspen Dental2020-05-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Surprised they don't have more lawsuits"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New office equipment and lovely patients

    Cons

    Long hours; management and Dr. Does a lot of place blaming on surrounding staff. High expectations and money is king. Surprised they don't have more malpractice lawsuits. Everyone is overworked, overwhelmed and expected to turn over results. Most morning huddles the staff is yelled at like children out of frustration. Favoritism is also a motivation killer for those not a favorite. Mandatory surveys that ask for feedback that will never be applied. Unprofessional and immature.

    Aspen Dental2020-05-16
  7. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time

    Pros

    Management, leadership, culture, environment, care

    Cons

    Salary, salary, salary, pay, pay

    Aspen Dental2020-04-10
  8. "The people make it great!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspen Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great - corporate culture is good. More family-like than anywhere else in my career (others may have a different opinion based upon functional area). Teams are close-knit, success is championed, and it's easy to support the mission. Nice to see investment in tools and technology. Abundant latitude to trial ideas and propose solutions.

    Cons

    Communication - top to bottom is ripe for improvement.

    Aspen Dental2020-04-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Believe The Bad Reviews!! The 5 Star are from overpaid Corporate!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Aspen Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Paid Travel, Paid “Training” aka A free/paid trip to Chicago.

    Cons

    Long Hours, Insane Metrics, Bad Management, Non-Acceptance, Cliquish, Sales Driven, Insincere, Fake, High Turnover, High Expectations, Low Support. I was hired on as an office manager and I trained for 2 to 3 weeks in an office that was being covered by another office manager! Then when we went back to their location for a couple weeks, I wasn’t even trained. Finally, my last 4-5 weeks of training was with someone who was willing... but had a high volume office and was also understaffed!!! That’s only the half of it. When I began training, the office location I was starting at had one doctor.... they quit while I was in training!! As if that isn’t scary, I then met my new doctor, who, didn’t really know what they were doing, and had insanely high expectations for me and was verbally abusive. When I finally got to my office, I found out the environment was completely toxic. The overall environment is: selling thousands of dollars in dental work to broke, old people, who I knew couldn’t afford it - all while trying to claim they NEED it... and trying to baby sit both the employees and the doctor... at the same time. I spent days in my office crying, and the higher ups told me that was normal. ITS NOT. You shouldn’t have to conform to their robotic insanity. Get a job somewhere else, I promise you it’s better. To this day, Aspen Dental makes me shudder. I was abused there. Don’t get abused yourself.

    Continue reading
    Aspen Dental2020-05-05
  10. "Not a Bad company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Patient Service Representative 

    I worked at Aspen Dental full-time

    Pros

    Dental and Health Benefits and Decent Hours

    Cons

    The company has a Corporation thought process.

    Aspen Dental2020-03-31
Found 1003 reviews