Austin Health Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Austin Health Reviews

Updated 27 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Austin Health CEO Brendan Murphy
Brendan Murphy
5 Ratings
  1. "Leading Healthcare Provider and Greatness learning culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Health full-time

    Pros

    Remarkable culture - passionate, collaborative, strives for excellence and innovation and truly focussed on world class healthcare and provision of care

    Cons

    Capacity to reward via compensation is limited

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value and nurture the non-hierarchical respectful culture that cares for everyone and values excellence and education - it’s special and worth preserving

    Austin Health2019-04-11
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Austin Health

    Pros

    Great employee and tax benefit.

    Cons

    Lack of growing path, too a=many freeloaders from previous employment scheme.

    Austin Health2019-04-28
  3. "Laboratory Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health full-time

    Pros

    Safe Position with salary sacrifice options

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted as a health organisation under the government, but seems worse here than other similar organisation

    Austin Health2018-09-13
  4. "Nice Hospital but severely understaffed and management are out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Radiographer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    salary packaging good wage training opportunities pleasant colleagues

    Cons

    severely understaffed management are unsupportive bullies stressful due to under-staffing unsafe; students often supervised by unqualified interns due to lack of staff management are out of touch with junior staff

    Advice to Management

    hire more weekend staff and adhere to Union regulations

    Austin Health2018-06-10
  5. "Nice place, great people, but limited potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrative in Heidelberg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Health for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work / life balance

    Cons

    Lack of a good career improvement

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into career training

    Austin Health2017-12-20
  6. "Great Hospital, Great Values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registrar 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health

    Pros

    Very good atmosphere: supportive place to work in terms of superiors and colleagues. Very friendly, especially with referrals and inter-disciplinary engagement. .

    Cons

    Slightly lower work-ethic than other hospitals I have worked at, with slightly lower expectations. Perhaps this affects overall standard of care.

    Advice to Management

    Recruit as first choice interns and registrars. Continue to position Austin as a rival to Alfred, RMH and SVHM.

    Austin Health2016-05-04
  7. "Duty PSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty PSA in Heidelberg West
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health full-time

    Pros

    Most of the staff are friendly, it has a strong community feel to the place, I also grew up in a nearby suburb and went to secondary school in Heidelberg, which makes the sense of community feel stronger. I am also happy to be a part of a leading health care provider in the world. My work is close to home

    Cons

    About the only negative I have is rude people, but then I just remind myself that not everyone is going to like you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Austin Health2016-03-01
  8. "Critical Care Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Critical Care Registered Nurse in Bundoora
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, enthusiastic and dedicated team to work with. Vast array of opportunities to advance career through different specialities and research.

    Cons

    I just wish parking was made slightly more affordable for a suburban hospital.

    Advice to Management

    Be attentive to your staff.

    Austin Health2015-09-21
  9. "Good work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Officer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big business Good people working here Salary packaging

    Cons

    Low pay rates Often understaffed Bullying happens

    Austin Health2015-01-16
  10. "Depend on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Health

    Pros

    They have good salary packaging system. Lots of departments to move around to. But small enough to easily develop supportive networks.

    Cons

    Can quite often be understaffed and they are happy with the money they have saved. As understaffed, managers are often reluctant to let you go for other positions.

    Austin Health2014-06-03
Found 14 reviews