Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Donors are amazing and make the job worthwhile(in 17 reviews)

  • "Competitive salary with generous salary packaging(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bullying culture (particularly from managers), so much pressure put on staff for individuals to do the work of 3 people(in 8 reviews)

  • "Having to work rotating roster can be difficult when start times of shifts can vary a lot, makes work life balance hard to maintain(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career development The remuneration Good work Culture

    Cons

    I don't think there is any Cons . A bit bureaucratic.

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-04-24

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    April 28, 2020National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Great to hear you're enjoying your role at Lifeblood!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Square pegs, square holes."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Safe job at the moment. Some flexible working arrangements if you can access them. If you are not frontline, you will probably be happy. Trying to change the culture to be better, just unsure of really how to make that happen.

    Cons

    Absolutely no career progression. No diversity action. Leadership mentality is to promote the mirror image of themselves- it is endemic. Anyone who presents a different point of view is stuck where they are, forever. Dodgy hiring and promotion practices, especially internally. I work in an area that a person just magically one day turned into the 2IC. No job ad. No interviews. No one else given the chance, even though there are at least two others who are suitably qualified and capable. Bullying practices are fairly common, depending on where you are. Especially if you take a chance on yourself or think outside of the box. There are 2 populations of staff, the frontline staff (treated fairly poorly, generally an afterthought in decision making processes, no development opportunities, very little flexibility) and the bureaucracy (treated well, flexible working arrangements, development opportunities, paid better, respected for the job they do) Divisions and areas are completely siloed. Job and pay structure (classifications) are some of the most limited I have ever come across, which is having an impact on employment etc. it is impossible to move classifications and/or grades and once you reach the top of your very short grade, that is is for movement for you. The culture is trying to be better, the shadow culture doesn’t reflect that yet and at the rate it is going it will be many years before tangible change happens.

    Continue reading
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-04-28
  3. "Passionate staff but frustrating"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time

    Pros

    Shared vision of doing something good Friendly staff Interesting work

    Cons

    Silos within teams Head office mentality Limited resources

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-03-04

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    March 10, 2020National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback, great to see you are enjoying relationships with colleagues and job satisfaction. In terms of the not-so-great side of things, if you feel comfortable, you can send a follow-up email to lifebloodcareers@redcrossblood.com.au. We would love to learn more about this as it will help us to improve and continue to work together towards a shared purpose. Thanks again!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, helping support the community and people in need."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Donor Services Consultant in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Every day you get to contribute to supporting the blood supply of Australia. - You have the opportunity to speak to some amazing people and have great conversations with people who want to help others. - Work for a supportive leadership team who are flexible and play to your strengths. - Excellent pay and benefits. - Opportunities to develop and learn new skills with hard work.

    Cons

    - Phone work can often lead to repetitiveness and can be monotonous, however consistently achieving your work goals and being a valued member of the team will allow for further opportunities to develop.

    Continue reading
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-02-17

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    March 10, 2020National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Wow, this is great and constructive feedback - thanks for sharing! Agree wholeheartedly that it's amazing to work for an organisation that "gives life"and it's wonderful to know you feel supported by our Leadership team. Your feedback around career development opportunities and advice about clearer communication will be taken on-board. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts!

  5. "Great place to work, saving lives across the country"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Donor Services Consultant in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great career development Our work saves lives and improves the lives of patients across the country The ability to make up time at the end /start of a shift if er need to leave work early on another day

    Cons

    Having to work rotating roster can be difficult when start times of shifts can vary a lot, makes work life balance hard to maintain having to work late shifts

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-02-17

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    March 10, 2020National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We do recognize the challenges of a rotating roster and how that can impact work life balance for employees working varying shifts. There is work being undertaken around how we can improve this for all of our employees - if you have any ideas you would like to share, you can email lifebloodcareers@redcrossblood.org.au. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

  6. "Red Cross Processing Technician Brisbane"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing Technician in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The most supportive workplace - An amazing team - Progressive learning that really allows for full understanding of each job - Interesting work - Easy to follow organisation updates and events - A job you can be proud to do - Flexible working arrangements - Knowledgable supervisors and staff

    Cons

    - Few opportunities for job progression for part-time workers - Teams can feel isolated from the organisation as a whole

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2020-01-24

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    January 27, 2020National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts, it's great you feel supported and proud of the work we do here. We are always striving to improve as an organisation and will take on board your feedback around career progression and teams feeling isolated from the organisation as a whole. Again, thank you for taking the time.

  7. "Bullying culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Volunteer donors best thing about the job. Salary packaging very good.

    Cons

    Covert and overt bullying by management makes for an unhappy place. Expectations of meeting and increasing KPIs unrealistic as pressures are put on staff to do so without making mistakes. Not enough time to do training. Says there is flexibility in job hours. That is not strictly true as you are required to conform to operational requirements.

    Continue reading
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2019-11-21

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    November 24, 2019National Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience overall but it’s great you recognise our amazingly generous donors as a positive aspect during your time at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood (formerly Australian Red Cross Blood Service) . We take discrimination, bullying and harassment very seriously and aim to manage all reports promptly and fairly, in accordance with procedural fairness principles. If you would like to provide more feedback so we can take appropriate action, you can contact lifebloodcareers@redcrossblood.org.au in strict confidence.

  8. "Great support and I have been very welcomed"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrolled Nurse in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting great people that come in and volunteer their time, working with great staff who have been nothing but supportive, Hours are great, Great flexibility and support a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Feel pressured to meet the numbers/stats. Certain expectation that you are meeting expectations in regards to statistics but in saying that, I feel very supported and if I was to not be meeting expectations I feel I would be helped out by making goals/changes in order to get to where I need to be.

    Continue reading
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2019-11-04

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    November 13, 2019National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback, it helps us to be an even better organisation. It sounds like you're in a great place being able to balance both your work and personal life, and glad to hear you are feeling supported by your colleagues and Managers. We have taken your advice on-board and strive to improve your experience even more. Keep up the great work!

  9. "Purpose driven organisation with amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plasma Strategy and Change Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We have a clear purpose and an important role supporting the nation. There is a wealth of knowledge in the organisation and a drive to make today better than yesterday. My career at the Blood Service has evolved a lot over the 8 years here - with new opportunities available around every corner, each with an opportunity to learn and grow.

    Cons

    It's not a con in my mind but something that describes our company - our breadth of people and services spread across the nation means there are a variety of ideas and points of view to consider. The common purpose and strength of aligned passion make this a good environment to work within.

    Continue reading
    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2019-10-01

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    November 13, 2019National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide these constructive comments. As you have indicated, our people all have something in common - we are all passionate about improving the lives of the people in the diverse communities we serve. Great advice too - this will be passed on so that we can continue to provide our broad range of life-giving services. Thanks again!

  10. "Great place to work and contribute to the community"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Australian Red Cross Lifeblood full-time

    Pros

    Great people and culture focused on well being of the community, opportunity to be involved in innovative projects in health and technology.

    Cons

    Lack of flexible work arrangements.

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood2019-09-24

    Australian Red Cross Lifeblood Response

    November 13, 2019National Talent Acquisition Manager

    Just a quick note to say thank you for providing this feedback! Agreed that it's an amazing feeling waking up each morning knowing we are contributing to the wellbeing of all Australians. In terms of feeling as though flexible working opportunities are lacking, may we suggest that you contact your local People & Culture Consultant and current Manager to see what options may be available to suit your specific requirements. Thanks again for your contribution to our organisation.

Found 63 reviews