Auto Trader UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Trevor Mather
Trevor Mather
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment, all the tools needed to succeed(in 32 reviews)

  • "The above together with the great offices and lots of great people make AT the best company I’ve worked for(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is rather fast paced(in 24 reviews)

  • "The location (central Manchester) wasn't right for me, but of course that will not be a problem for everyone(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for with a fantastic culture and incredibly talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely positive work environment, where people are willing to pitch in when needed. Great offices in both London and Manchester. The company has a lot of incredibly talented individuals to learn from. With the talent Auto Trader has, there is a lot of innovative and interesting work going on. There is a sense that senior management really care about its people and are always willing to listen to them. Salaries and benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    It can take time to learn the Auto Trader way of doing things and you are expected to learn quickly due to the fast paced nature of the company. Prioritisation, as with most companies, can be especially challenging at Auto Trader. Finding a coffee mug in the Manchester office past 11am can be difficult :)

    Auto Trader UK2020-02-12

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 15, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Many thanks for your review and great to hear you are enjoying your first year with Auto Trader. We got talented people in two great offices, get involved in innovative work and have some more great benefits. Our business is unique and we appreciate it is a challenge to learn the way we do things but hopefully like you say having supportive colleagues helps. The new coffee machines serving delicious coffees might have possibly created a mug issue so we will have to look into that.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, great benefits and a very ethical company

    Cons

    some managers are not good at managing

    Auto Trader UK2020-02-04

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 6, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. We take our responsibilities as a company in our industries and communities seriously and our values and ethics guide everything we do. Sorry to hear that your experience with managers has not been what we expect. I would encourage you to speak to them and share your feedback or you can always come and speak to a member of the People team.

    Continue reading
  3. "Driving conversion through functional design at Auto Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern office, good environment, colleagues are very helpful.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think off.

    Auto Trader UK2020-01-31

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 3, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. Glad you are enjoying our office environment and the time with your colleagues. Good luck with the rest of your AT journey in years to come

    Continue reading
  4. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are brilliant The benefits and choices of extras are great Salary, can't really complain. Feels right with no commission

    Cons

    Always wants more but is a constant theme

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-02-12

    Auto Trader UK Response

    February 15, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review and I couldn't agree more; our people are just brilliant. We constantly strive for more and that is key to our success but we should always remember to take time to reflect and relax. Hopefully our new increased holidays allowance this year for everybody will come in handy.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great working environment with lots of opportunities to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Developer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s always interesting work to pick up as a developer no matter what your level of experience is. And even when that task that you’ve done 10 times before lands on your desk again, you have the freedom to innovate and make it as interesting/challenging as you like. The tech is moving really fast (infrastructure, languages, frameworks) so there are high chances you’ll be constantly learning something new next to people that can help you improve. The above together with the great offices and lots of great people make AT the best company I’ve worked for.

    Cons

    Some times, people that could help you with something are so busy that they cannot spend time on doing so and that can slow things down a bit and be a bit frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-01

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 6, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review; Freedom to innovate, constantly learning something new and working with great people sums it all up really well. Busy as we all can get we should all try and find time to help each other out so I hope there is more time to collaborate and share knowledge this year.

    Continue reading
  6. "really good but not much progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    people, product and work conditions

    Cons

    not rewarded for hard work

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-15

    Auto Trader UK Response

    January 21, 2020Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you enjoyed working with your colleagues , our people are what makes our company special. Sorry that you felt you were not rewarded for your work; we have many different benefits, we refresh what we offer regularly and our recognition scheme gives everybody the chance to recognise each other on a daily basis. Best of luck with your next employment opportunity.

    Continue reading
  7. "Insidious place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing opportunity to learn - Colleagues are all there to help - Location - CV boost Autotrader pride themselves on being investors in people - and this is broadly true. You come in on a decent salary, for the role you accept, and get to work learning the ropes and settling in. Once you are settled in, your responsibilities grow and things are going nicely. You have regular 1-2-1's and your manager makes all the correct moves to make you feel valued and that your career is progressing. Go here for a year or two and learn as much as you can – then when you’re ready for an increase in salary, leave and go anywhere else.

    Cons

    The majority of the cons here stem from a poor management culture and pay scale. The problem here, is when you've outgrown the role you have and you're ready to move to a more senior position/role, your career stops progressing. This is where the cult of Autotrader comes to the fore. You’re made to feel as though you should be grateful to work for them and that this in of itself is a reward. In my experience there was a culture of top down ingratitude at AT that really affected people’s mental health - in my team, in a year, 7 long-term members of staff went off with stress/poor mental health due to the increased workload (a catch 22 with people leaving/going off with stress) and the inability of the management to understand that people wish to progress in a role and, heaven forbid, make more money at the same time for all the extra work they’re doing. Of those 7, I believe only 1 is still there and they've been placed in another role as they were integral to the infrastructure/working of the team. Essentially, they knew too much to be allowed to leave. The rest were, not so much forced out, but made to feel as though they didn’t matter and that the team was moving on from them. They were now ‘bad influences’ you’d hear from other people’s meetings or 1-2-1s (talking about these was discouraged, unsurprisingly). AT will bang on about ‘Mental Wellness’ and ‘Mental First Aiders’, the problem being these aiders are generally the established middle managers that are causing a lot of the grief in the first place. Additionally, the pay at AT is at a ridiculous deficit for the next internal role you go for - if, indeed you actually get said role. Most people that work here are fantastic at their job - AT are great at attracting talent - but they are, predominantly, underpaid when bench-marked against the market (anecdotally) and stuck in roles they’ve outgrown – or are expected to perform in an extended role without renumeration or the benefits of a title bump (“We’re a flat structure!”). Without going into grubby specifics, I earned a 6% increase in 3 years - despite my role changing dramatically, to that of someone on 20% more when benchmarked. This is, again anecdotally, common across the board - I still know people on dramatically less than in other companies doing significantly less work. Couple this with a management culture that is absolutely defined by favouritism and it's no wonder many people leave/go off with stress. I eventually left, taking with me the skills I had honed there to a company that paid me what I should have been on for the work I do. Wanting more money isn't something that should frowned upon - it's the only reason most of us go to work. Wanting to be supported when things start getting difficult and you’re not the managers favourite, is also a pretty standard – especially for a company that prides themselves of being ‘Investors in People’.

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2020-01-14
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Digital Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture is great and some of the best people I have worked with! The people that work here really do live and breathe values and the values are integral to everything we do. There is complete trust which gives you full autonomy to just get on with what you do best, the company has a flat structure and there is no micro management. The company is really forward thinking and always willing to test new things which means we are always one step ahead and constantly innovating.

    Cons

    Working environment is really fast paced which some people might see as a negative thing but one of the things that I enjoy the most which means no two days are the same which is great!

    Auto Trader UK2019-12-27

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 27, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about working with us. Our six Auto Trader values guide everything we do and are the most important element of our culture. Like you say we need to keep innovating, operate at pace in order to remain successful and our people are trusted to continue doing great work and achieving brilliant results.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company to work for with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic forward thinking company that thrives on change and allows staff to have a voice. Culture is massively important to the company and leadership team making it a great place to work with an amazing office space.

    Cons

    None, great place to work

    Continue reading
    Auto Trader UK2019-12-15

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 16, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. I am glad you are enjoying your time working with us for so many years. Our culture is what makes our business unique and we are all responsible for nurturing and evolving it so your advice is spot on.

    Continue reading
  10. "Accelerated learning, growth and respect!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Social Media in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Huge emphasis on company culture and its core values - I've never worked anywhere that invests so much in the well-being of its people. 2. Ample opportunities for growth and development - workshops, courses and mentorship etc are commonplace at Auto Trader and widely available to help you progress. 3. The entrepreneurial mind-set means that, while the pace is fast, no two days are the same, there's a constant buzz and the scope to learn from some incredibly smart people is infinite.

    Cons

    We don't always take the time to celebrate successes before moving on to the next thing - but equally that's a good problem to have and what keeps us all moving!

    Auto Trader UK2019-12-18

    Auto Trader UK Response

    December 19, 2019Head of People and Culture

    Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you have been enjoying your time working with us and the opportunities to grow and develop. We are a fast moving business but you are right that we should make sure to take time to celebrate success in ourselves and each other as that is one of the key elements of our "Humble" value. Hope you keep growing with us as our business evolves in the years to come.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 281 reviews