Auto Trader UK Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated 18 June 2018
221 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Trevor Mather
Trevor Mather
171 Ratings

221 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Management are pinnacle to the great working environment" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Auto Trader have great people across the business who are a pleasure to work with" (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not really a con, but we are a very fast-paced business & industry" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Lots of pressure Work life balance was poor , emails at midnight etc" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Brilliant Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Squad Lead in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Squad Lead in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The culture of Auto Trader is the one thing that stands out and makes this company such a great place to work. It is built on the six company values that are present in everything that we do from recruiting new people to managing our work.
    There are some great people and there are lots of opportunities but you need to drive your own development and take advantage of them.
    Good salary and some pretty cool benefits as well.
    A lot of focus on diversity and inclusion with a genuine desire to change things within Auto Trader but also the wider society. There are dedicated teams for diversity and charity work and you can get involved with volunteering, awareness sessions and different groups depending on your interests.

    Cons

    We operate in a fast paced environment and change is really frequent. The senior team is doing a good job in communicating the change but it is up to each individual to figure out the details of how their role will be impacted. So you need to be able to embrace change if you want to enjoy working here.
    Sometimes the lack of clarity of roles and responsibilities creates confusion so you need to be able to deal with that ambiguity and work as a team.

    Advice to Management

    Senior leaders need to keep challenging each other to continue making this business better and better


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've never worked somewhere before where everyone wants to hep each other so much. The environment is fantastic but it's the people that really make this one of the best places to work!

    Cons

    None! seriously....... it's a creative, challenging and inspirational place to work

    Auto Trader UK Response

    9 Jun 2018 – Head of People & Culture

    Fantastic sums it all up. We are so glad your experience so far has been so positive. Long may it continue and thanks for sharing your thoughts with this review.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Analyst in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Tech Analyst in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really supportive and want you to succed

    Cons

    Not as competitive salary wise when you are internally promoted/moved - emphasis on the perks rather than salary

    Advice to Management

    Compensate internal talent monetarily sooner

    Auto Trader UK Response

    23 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great that you feel you have a supportive environment here. We do review our salaries and benefits to ensure we remain competitive in the market... More


  4. Helpful (9)

    "It can be ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Java Developer in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Professional Java Developer in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work can be very interesting, learning continuously and you have the opportunity to learn new skills and improve existing ones

    Cons

    Idiots have a louder voice and their way goes unfortunately. Often results in poor ways of working and people getting away with doing no, or little, work at best

    Advice to Management

    Be straight and get rid of the leeches on the company; those not doing anything but yet have the most control over team processes because the people who know the right thing to do don't want to speak up

    Auto Trader UK Response

    8 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Although it's nice to read that you are getting the opportunity to learn and improve your skills, it's disappointing to read some of your views around the team you... More


  5. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    No day is ever the same and that’s what I love about this place. At times it’s fast, very fast so you need to have an agile mindset but it keeps me on my toes and that’s what coming to work is all about to me

    Cons

    Working remotely does have its benefits but sometimes feel excluded from what is happening in Manchester office

    Auto Trader UK Response

    8 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your review. We're glad you feel this is a great place to be!

    It definitely does keep you on your toes, but it's great that you're enjoying the challenge.

    We appreciate that there... More


  6. "Best move I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time

    Pros

    The people. Our culture & values.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but we are a very fast-paced business & industry. And that won't work for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing & listen to your people.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    2 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for your review, we agree with your pros about our people, culture and values and it's great to read that it's the best move you've made. Thank you.


  7. "6 Months in..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A fantastic brand and the opportunity to work alongside some of the most talented people I have ever come across. Working for Auto Trader, you feel part of something special from day one. I feel lucky to have found this business. The pace is crazy and every day is different but boring, it ain't. There is lots of opportunity to develop and a brilliantly supportive environment to grow in. It's refreshing to be in an environment where you very quickly grow to trust the leadership team and their decisions.

    Cons

    There aren't any. The pace takes some getting used to but it's only a 'con' if you're not up for the challenge.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    2 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your review, it sounds like "you're up for the challenge" when it comes to the pace! It's going to be another busy and exciting year, which I'm sure you'll enjoy.... More

  8. "Awesome, innovative and passionate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Remote, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Remote, OR (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you love working in a busy and thriving business then Auto Trader is definitely these. The company constantly is looking for new ways to move forward and understand the market we are in. Doing this has allowed them to review themselves constantly to ensure they are working to lead this industry! They have great offices, people, help, training and values. The one thing I like to do is collaborate and share. The feedback I get is critical but given in an immense way all of the time.

    Cons

    Not really any cons so far. It's hard to find any.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.


  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Social life, pension, holiday, salary, training, the people

    Cons

    Slow moving and sometimes a lot of red tape to get through when trying to get things done

    Auto Trader UK Response

    23 May 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your taking the time to post a review. We're glad you have some good pros to share. We tend to get a lot of reviews mentioning the fast pace here, so interesting to read your review... More


  10. "Awesome place to start career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Software Developer in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Graduate Software Developer in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have thoroughly loved my graduate journey with AutoTrader since October. The people in my squad are lovely and great to get along with as well, whilst also offering excellent support and training to get me up to speed on the job. I would recommend it to anyone - especially a graduate. The office is great and there seems to be a friendly culture. As a graduate group we have been able to organise a Q&A session with the CEO, which is unheard of at other companies. The flat hierarchy allows for collaboration amongst many different areas of the business and enables me to develop as a developer, but also as a great employee. The option to go and talk at conference and careers events is another awesome bonus. The Academy is a useful way to get all the graduates sharing their skills and strengthening our network in the business.

    Cons

    More interaction with my technical team at the start of the graduate journey, but other than that no complaints!

    Advice to Management

    None- Trevor (CEO) seems to be doing a great job and is easy to access.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    16 Mar 2018 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your review, it's great to read that you have had such a great start to your career with Auto Trader.

    Collaboration is very important here, and it's nice to see that you've already... More


Showing 221 of 223 reviews
Reset Filters