BASF "german" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BASF Employee Reviews about "german"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2237 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
BASF CEO Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Falta assiduidade no desenvolvimento da equipe em um plano de carreira, m(in 84 reviews)

  • "o se tem um plano de metas/carreira para os estagi(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "german"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Always learning - Opportunities for growth - Good pay - Good work / life balance / flexibility - Supportive of parents at work with great benefits

    Cons

    - Difficult to change roles between divisions - Still shifting towards a global company from a German one (making great strides) - Not a good understanding of the marketing function / not a clear career path for marketing professionals (working on this as well) - BASF has a "brand" that it helps to fit into to advance in the company, folks who are very different (even if effective) are typically not on the fast... track

    Show More
    BASF2019-10-10

    BASF Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Branding & Diversity Specialist

    Thank you for shedding light on our advancement opportunities. Your review is valuable as we strive to continue being an employer of choice.

  2. "Great pay and benefits, too much bureaucracy at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus system and benefits

    Cons

    Indecisive management, lots of strategy talk but tactical actions from management, must be willing to move to advance, German HQ controls global decisions, must be willing to sacrifice work life balance to move into leadership roles.

    Advice to Management

    Too much organization change. Stick with a plan a follow through. Focus on the business growth verses retooling internal setup constantly.

    BASF2019-10-01

    BASF Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Branding & Diversity Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your ten+ years of dedication at BASF. Your advice is valuable to us and we will share your insights with our leaders.

  3. Helpful (7)

    "150+ yr old company JUST realizing customer should be center of the business....Really?!?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Florham Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Compensation, Vacation. Most colleagues are nice

    Cons

    Major Layoffs happening, lots of good people being lost to make stockholders happy. More work and less resources for those remaining! Not truly a “global” company still VERY German centric.

    Advice to Management

    Fix your customer service group, start selling products! Streamline processes. Go private.

    BASF2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BASF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    30 days of vacation is nice, but more or less standard in big German companies. Flexible working schedule is a great, but generally depends on your team and manager.

    Cons

    Salary in BASF SSC in Berlin is ridiculous, much lower that the market average. They have a band system and your salary depends on the band that is assigned to you. If you will be given to drive a project, do your research and it may turn out that this project has failed a number of times in the past forming a knowledge gap. No tools are given to perform your tasks, no responsible people assigned to properly... onboard newcomers. Processes are overcomplicated and outdated. The company is hiring non-German speakers and at the same time does nothing to accommodate this change, 9 meetings out of 10 are held in German. Newcomers' training was a complete disgrace, presenters do not speak English, many times had technical issues, come unprepared. On top of this, a Managing Director visited the training so before that we spent 1-2 hours preparing questions for him like in the kindergarten. Big spending cuts are taking place at the moment, no fruits, no snacks, no drinks (only coffee), no other perks. Strict hierarchy, no transparency, unknown how the information is flowing, unclear who has decision power.

    Show More
    BASF2019-04-02
  5. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cairo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the worldwide leaders in Chemicals industry

    Cons

    Limited career progression, and a pure German culture

    BASF2018-12-24
  6. "Versatile person with technical degree."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BASF

    Pros

    Benefits. Diverse employees. Varied business opportunities and skilled technical personnel.

    Cons

    German company. Very rigid processes, pigeonholing of people. Favor younger employees.

    BASF2018-11-26

    BASF Response

    December 5, 2018

    We appreciate you mentioning our benefits (Compelling Total Offer) as a Pro. Our team works hard to ensure all employees receive benefits that go beyond the basics from their first date of hire.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, empowerment & inclusion focus, work-life balance. Everyone works from home at least one day per week. Flex hours are available to every full-time employee. The Florham Park facility is beautiful. Benefits are generous. The environment is very diverse and collaborative. The company encourages cross-functional opportunities.

    Cons

    German management adds layers of bureaucracy. Investment in manufacturing is focused in Europe to the detriment of profits in North America.

    Advice to Management

    invest - digitalization, capacity, R&D.

    BASF2018-11-22

    BASF Response

    December 5, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review! BASF prides itself on fostering an environment where our employees can constantly grow, learn, and #belongatBASF.

  8. "Good experience of global project close to customers and interacting with different partners such as marketing, sales..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Manager in Amagasaki
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good for employee development and to acquire experience in different positions in a global environment

    Cons

    Entrepreneurial behavior, good communication in English or even in German for better carreer are needed.

    Advice to Management

    Should be a bit more concern on the reasons why a project failed than the overall results itself.

    BASF2018-11-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Nice Colleagues but Bad Management & Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Nice and international colleagues -Flexible time -Summer & Christmas parties -Location -Stable company -Very good for starting your professional life in Berlin but do not stay more than 1.5 years in the same position.

    Cons

    -Salary is very low compared to other jobs with the same function in other companies in the city. -Incompetent leaders -Most of the leaders do not care about developing their people -Leaders are not open at all to new ideas or approaches. They prefer to do everything in the same way or in the most bureaucratic possible way. -More and more they are hiring more non-German speaker people but they have not... adjusted yet that all meetings and massive emails are in English instead of German. This always gives the feeling of being in the wrong place - It also makes no sense to have to attend long meetings in German when you do not understand the language. -Top management does not get any formal evaluation or feedback regarding the TL and TS's performance as leaders (e.g. a 360º anonymous evaluation) so bad leaders stay long time. -Lack of involvement of the Team Leads/Specialists in the daily business. They are not really a support for the team when there is an issue with a customer, they try as much as possible to be safe and avoid any confrontation with them and prefer not interfere at all or always agree with them. -It is not possible to get a salary raise unless you are promoted to a new role that has a better salary assigment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve the selection process/Performance management of leaders within the company. A good leader is more than speaking good German and be able to smile to people.

    BASF2018-11-05

    BASF Response

    December 12, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. Our leadership team is committed to creating a collaborative, and trustworthy environment for all of our employees. We apologize that we did not meet your standards.

  10. "Sustainability manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Solid, profit oriented and worldwide

    Cons

    Too german. Too much hierarchy

    BASF2017-08-21
Found 2237 reviews
</>Embed