BDO USA Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BDO USA Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 832 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
319 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "CPA life equals long hours during busy season(in 115 reviews)

  • "Long hours outside of the usual busy season depending on the clients you are assigned to(in 111 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BDO USA

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Helpful people. Work life balance

    Cons

    too much focus on write off and productivity

    Advice to Management

    None none none none none

    BDO USA2016-08-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Very Focused on Employee Welfare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company is something I've never seen in any company I've worked for. The people are cared for and respected. When concerns are raised, nobody is ridiculed or misspoken to. The team morale is fantastic, birthdays, administrative professionals day, intern day, and promotions are recognized. The location I work at has done an impeccable job to hire a strong team that really blends together. Also,... management is APPROACHABLE! This is an extreme quality in any company, I couldn't value this aspect any more.

    Show More

    Cons

    The process, needs more streamlining. Some people do things that aren't standard. Different individuals have different processes, and it makes it confusing to follow one specific guideline. Management gets busy and their meetings go long and are late to their next meetings so you have to go interrupt, which could be awkward.

    BDO USA2019-09-14
  3. "Comfortable environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experience Audit Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people with and a welcoming atmosphere. Managers and Directors are very approachable and the seniors are willing to teach you when you need help.

    Cons

    Training's are terrible. They are a complete waste of time and nobody learns anything.

    Advice to Management

    Get real feedback on training's and create hands on and more productive training's.

    BDO USA2019-09-18
  4. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Not as much as a work life balance as hoped. A lot of turn over and jobs seem understaffed

    BDO USA2019-08-28
  5. "A good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experienced Audit Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company keeps going up.

    Cons

    People are not driven and knowledgable.

    BDO USA2019-08-25
  6. "Accounting Lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Experienced Associate in McLean, VA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot about the different industries you work in. You get to be front and center understanding the client's overall business.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work long hours. It varies depending on the year-end date of the client.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better on boarding process for transfers.

    BDO USA2019-09-06
  7. "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Audit Manager 

    I worked at BDO USA part-time

    Pros

    flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    not competitive salary, growth is slow

    BDO USA2019-08-15
  8. "BDO Risk Advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Risk Advisory Services 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly and you get to know your coworkers well.

    Cons

    Compensation should be a little higher.

    BDO USA2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging. Well rounded work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experienced Tax Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seniors and associates are awesome. Overall the people are great.

    Cons

    Some managers need to go.

    Advice to Management

    Help develop staff more instead of belittle them

    BDO USA2019-08-21
  10. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Manager 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    really great place to work

    Cons

    often long busy season hours

    BDO USA2019-08-01
Found 832 reviews