BHP Billiton Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BHP Billiton Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 851 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
BHP Billiton CEO Andrew Mackenzie
Andrew Mackenzie
382 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great employee benefits and good pay(in 60 reviews)

  • "Great company culture that promotes work-life balance(in 59 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is litteraly no work-life balance and peace would vanish from your life(in 37 reviews)

  • "The need to put in long hours at the start in order to build your own business within the main business(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Field Improvement Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are a lot of benefits working for BHP

    Cons

    There are not much cons.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    BHP Billiton2019-06-14
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mine Engineer in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BHP Billiton full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people were excellent there

    Cons

    Nothing at all, it was great

    BHP Billiton2019-06-11
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane

    I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company and professional development

    Cons

    Bad mates and work environment

    Advice to Management

    Improve salary

    BHP Billiton2019-06-13
  4. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance, great pay, collaboration.

      Cons

      Typical things that come with it being a large company.

      BHP Billiton2019-05-25
    • "Great opportunitis"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Process Technician in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great opportunities for career progression

      Cons

      Fifo roster not a good work life balance

      BHP Billiton2019-05-25
    • "I want to work with you as a miner please . I need the job so much to fix my life , So I will work hard ."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Miner in Sydney
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      You have great company and it's feels great to work with you. Thanks for your fast response

      Cons

      I live in middle East, So i am to far from you!

      BHP Billiton2019-05-17
    • "BHP Technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good Salary Great opportunities and development

      Cons

      Very political resulting in loss of production or projects not meeting timelines and budgets. Hard to get projects into sustainable production environments

      Advice to Management

      There are a lot of great initiatives and culture programs however very little values are displayed by middle management on a regular basis.

      BHP Billiton2019-05-30
    • "Senior Financial Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BHP Billiton full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits and balanced work life.

      Cons

      Areas of work are very specialized.

      BHP Billiton2019-05-13
    • "Caustic culture in BHP Technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BHP Billiton full-time

      Pros

      Good work mates. Workers want to get things done, do the right thing even in spite of rubbish management getting in the way.

      Cons

      Poor leadership and management. Lots of shiny, happy air-brushed stock photos with managerial buzzwords and memes, but they're ignored in reality.

      Advice to Management

      Get real! Drop the phoney, falseness and start being real human beings.

      BHP Billiton2019-06-15
    • "The "Big" Australian"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Superintendent in Perth, Western Australia
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BHP Billiton full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great people very supporting and focused on Company Strategy and Safety

      Cons

      Annual restructuring, with little time to embed the new structures

      BHP Billiton2019-05-06
    Found 851 reviews