BHP Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BHP CEO Mike Henry
Mike Henry
22 Ratings
  1. "Frequent change within Technology."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Principal in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay is well above average and flexible work is quite mature with most teams . I also enjoyed the people I met at BHP (hence the 3 star rating).

    Cons

    There is too much change (i.e. job losses) which impact people's mental well-being in Technology. Leadership is constantly going in different and opposing directions. There is no clear vision or purpose. The overall BHP culture was going in the right direction in regards to valuing employees and diversity so I hope the new CEO keeps this going and not just go back to being just about profit for shareholders above anything else.

    BHP2020-04-19
  2. "Good employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BHP full-time

    Pros

    Level of care that employees receive

    Cons

    Harsh cuts in the name of "efficiency"

    BHP2020-04-05
  3. "Good company"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Sales in Brisbane

    I have been working at BHP full-time

    Pros

    Good benefit, helpful colleague and manager

    Cons

    Stressful tight deadline and project

    BHP2020-04-15
  4. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time

    Pros

    big company and lots of opportunities

    Cons

    career development could be slow but it also depends on the department or mine site you're working for

    BHP2020-03-30
  5. "Friendly team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly with a good sense of humour

    Cons

    Lots of long term employees, not so much change

    Continue reading
    BHP2020-03-24
  6. "Looking out for their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Cost Controller in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BHP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working. Community feel. Great culture

    Cons

    Not much I can criticise

    Continue reading
    BHP2020-03-23
  7. "Good place"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Cyber in Brisbane

    I have been working at BHP full-time

    Pros

    good manager support, good salary

    Cons

    bad manager support, reason i am now looking

    BHP2020-04-03
  8. "Anti-Improvement Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mining Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BHP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some limited ability to move internally in the company, provided its not out of the region. There are pockets of excellent teams.

    Cons

    Perpetually stuck in sticking to the same way of working. Very little ability to see a project or improvement through to implementation, which results in a culture that rarely speaks out or wants to change. Quick to restructure entire departments before the last restructure had time to work. Don't work in the technology department, they go through mass redundancies every 1-2 years. Despite appearances and rhetoric, BHP's philosophy is not to innovate, but be the third or fourth in line to use any innovation.

    Continue reading
    BHP2020-04-23
  9. "Opportunities"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I have been working at BHP full-time

    Pros

    Great travel Culture Workplace benefits galore

    Cons

    Time management diversity reliance on juniors

    BHP2020-03-17
  10. "BHP"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BHP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The BHP culture is great

    Cons

    The hours can be long

    Continue reading
    BHP2020-03-13
Found 966 reviews
</>Embed