BMC Software Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software President and CEO Ayman Sayed
Ayman Sayed
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent Company Culture; Excellent Amentities; Excellent Pay and Compensation; Excellent Work-Life Balance;(in 182 reviews)

  • "good work culture, nice management(in 93 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Great products Great customers Great team Great remuneration

    Cons

    None I can think of

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Principal Software Consultant in Adelaide

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    New hire but great so far

    Cons

    Very large company and understandably has lots of policies and processes

    BMC Software Response

    January 7, 2021Employee Experience

    We're so glad you love your new BMC job so far, thanks for your review!


  3. "Great place to work at"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very matured company and stable company

    Cons

    Does not reward employees properly

    BMC Software Response

    January 7, 2021Employee Experience

    We agree with your review, BMC is a great place to work at!

  4. "Great People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales Enablement is the best I've ever seen

    Cons

    Way too much process to get deals done

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    January 7, 2021Employee Experience

    Thanks for your review!

  5. "Software Developer Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Sydney

    I worked at BMC Software part-time

    Pros

    Good learning environment for me

    Cons

    Not enough experience for me

  6. Helpful (2)

    "BMC Australia in a habit of rewarding failure"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Sydney
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay & employee packages.

    Cons

    BMC Australia (until end of 2018) has the habit of rewarding failures non performers with promotions with the help of equally incompetent management especially in ITSM pillar. Inspite of being Quad1 Gartner in ITSM does not win new logos in Australia !! Thanks to ITSM management in Singapore & inept sales ppl on ground shielded by Singapore ...wish US will do something about it.

    Continue reading
  7. "Excellent Sales Training, Methodologies and Org Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open and Supportive organizational culture and collaborative work environment. Good products and solutions, good access to technical experts, and the best sales training of any org I have worked for so great company for developing sales skills

    Cons

    Products are perceived as legacy by the market, and the company's pivot to the cloud is taking longer than expected which is delaying sales cycles

    BMC Software Response

    September 2, 2019Company Representative

    We are so happy you shared the pros that you did including our company culture! Regarding your comments on products, it’s important that our customers have what they need to Run and Reinvent, and innovation is key to that work. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we will share it with the appropriate teams.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Consultant (Presales) 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People and benefits overall good. Some of the products are great too

    Cons

    A lot of change over the past few years. Some of it good of course but some of it not so much. Struggling to succeed in some markets and doing ok or well in others.

    BMC Software Response

    July 8, 2019Company Representative

    BMC employees are the best, and we are glad you recognize that too. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us.

  9. "Great company and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great health plan, performance bonus and incentives

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about while working as an individual contributor

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for 5-Star review and comments today. We are pleased to see that you are enjoying your BMC Life. Thank you for your comments regarding our great benefits and flexibility. We appreciate your time and we wish you continued success at BMC.

  10. "A generally great company that is finding it difficult to remain relevant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, I had a great experience working at BMC. You get a great overview about various different aspects of enterprise IT, working with many great people along the way that gives you a great foundation about working with large complex IT environments.

    Cons

    The downside would be the direction of the market and the company. In my view, the company is having difficulty remaining relevant in many conversations and is not keeping up with the rapid development in the industry.

    BMC Software Response

    June 19, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for your time and feedback today. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at BMC and it appears that you also enjoyed your co-workers and peers. Thank you again for your comments.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,527 English Reviews