BMC Software Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BMC Software Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1286 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software CEO Bob Beauchamp
Bob Beauchamp
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Sales Training, Methodologies and Org Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open and Supportive organizational culture and collaborative work environment. Good products and solutions, good access to technical experts, and the best sales training of any org I have worked for so great company for developing sales skills

    Cons

    Products are perceived as legacy by the market, and the company's pivot to the cloud is taking longer than expected which is delaying sales cycles

    BMC Software2019-07-18

    BMC Software Response

    September 2, 2019Company Representative

    We are so happy you shared the pros that you did including our company culture! Regarding your comments on products, it’s important that our customers have what they need to Run and Reinvent, and innovation is key to that work. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and we will share ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Consultant (Presales) 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People and benefits overall good. Some of the products are great too

    Cons

    A lot of change over the past few years. Some of it good of course but some of it not so much. Struggling to succeed in some markets and doing ok or well in others.

    BMC Software2019-05-08

    BMC Software Response

    July 8, 2019Company Representative

    BMC employees are the best, and we are glad you recognize that too. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us.

  3. "Great company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great health plan, performance bonus and incentives

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about while working as an individual contributor

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    BMC Software2018-07-13

    BMC Software Response

    July 13, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for 5-Star review and comments today. We are pleased to see that you are enjoying your BMC Life. Thank you for your comments regarding our great benefits and flexibility. We appreciate your time and we wish you continued success at BMC.

  4. "A generally great company that is finding it difficult to remain relevant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, I had a great experience working at BMC. You get a great overview about various different aspects of enterprise IT, working with many great people along the way that gives you a great foundation about working with large complex IT environments.

    Cons

    The downside would be the direction of the market and the company. In my view, the company is having difficulty remaining relevant in many conversations and is not keeping up with the rapid development in the industry.

    BMC Software2018-05-23

    BMC Software Response

    June 19, 2018Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for your time and feedback today. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at BMC and it appears that you also enjoyed your co-workers and peers. Thank you again for your comments.

  5. "Good company with bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, exciting, friendly and employee friendly

    Cons

    Long working hours, bad middle management, excess pressure

    Advice to Management

    Employees are happy if they are kept in confidence

    BMC Software2017-01-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager (Sales) in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits and convenient office locations. BMC are also flexible with work from home, and recognising work life balance. Solutions have been revamped to meet market demand

    Cons

    Quarterly driven sales business, with a lack of clarity for longer term strategy within the local geographies. You must be comfortable with pure new revenues focus hunting mentality, notfarming. Salaries are not market competitive as they once were, and the flat org structure limits career opportunities. Culture is a challenge with recent churn of management and local sales teams, which has led to regular... changes to tactics and ops cadence which is disruptive. Uncertainty around what the new owners are going to do with the busiensss next, as they continue to cut cost and streamline across the business.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    focus on the people to correct the culture ( learn from similar succesful orgs) this will increase the contentment and out put, which will attract the higher calibre talent BMC needs to succeed. local PR and marketing spend is a must...

    BMC Software2016-11-07
  7. "Good company to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software

    Pros

    Strong Management , strong vission. Good work culture. Product based company so high work satisfaction with a succesful implemtation.

    Cons

    Human values compomised. Can be fired anytime.

    BMC Software2014-07-30
  8. "Great corporate culture and ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New owners seem committed to long-term investment/growth. Great work-life balance. Flexible hours and time off. Excellent remuneration. Good professional development opportunities.

    Cons

    Decisions can be very USA-centric; sometimes results in square pegs being forced into round holes in other regions.

    Advice to Management

    Need to refresh our value and messaging around business service management; the transition to product pillars appears to promote competition rather than cooperation.

    BMC Software2014-06-02
  9. "Support jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good and the Salary was ready good. Good coworkers

    Cons

    Some management of the management like to gossip.

    BMC Software2019-09-18
  10. "Evolving BMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Product Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company is on the path of transformation Aggressive and Ambitious Leadership Good people get choice of technology to work on Leader in several markets Great products

    Cons

    Brand perception of being a legacy company

    Advice to Management

    Invest in Brand Marketing Expand in US Consolidate portfolio

    BMC Software2019-09-17
Found 1286 reviews