BMC Software Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 4 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software President and CEO Ayman Sayed
Ayman Sayed
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great corporate culture and ethics."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New owners seem committed to long-term investment/growth. Great work-life balance. Flexible hours and time off. Excellent remuneration. Good professional development opportunities.

    Cons

    Decisions can be very USA-centric; sometimes results in square pegs being forced into round holes in other regions.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, low morale"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager (Sales) in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits and convenient office locations. BMC are also flexible with work from home, and recognising work life balance. Solutions have been revamped to meet market demand

    Cons

    Quarterly driven sales business, with a lack of clarity for longer term strategy within the local geographies. You must be comfortable with pure new revenues focus hunting mentality, notfarming. Salaries are not market competitive as they once were, and the flat org structure limits career opportunities. Culture is a challenge with recent churn of management and local sales teams, which has led to regular changes to tactics and ops cadence which is disruptive. Uncertainty around what the new owners are going to do with the busiensss next, as they continue to cut cost and streamline across the business.

    Continue reading

  3. "Definitely Best Place to work by huge margin"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Platform Systems Administrative in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life balance Work Culture

    Cons

    Nothing as of now NA

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    July 16, 2020Employee Experience

    Thank you for your review! We're glad you love our work life balance and company culture!

  4. "Best career decision I ever made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    BMC has provided me with an opportunity to grow and develop as a sales professional as well as to earn life changing commission. The on-boarding process was extremely professional, with the corporate and local curriculum being very comprehensive. As a woman in sales, I do not agree with comments on this site that there is a 'boys club' at BMC. My experience is that the culture is one that celebrates diversity, there are several other successful women in the team (more than in most other companies I have worked for) and about half the sales managers are women, as well as most of the leaders in the other functions we work with such as order services. There is a very clearly defined and effective sales process that my customers regularly provide positive feedback on. The management are extremely supportive and always looking to help me learn and develop my sales and business skills. Presales are amazing and there is a significant focus on product innovation. I like the fast paced culture because it challenges me to learn. The leadership actively encourages innovation too.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve and very hard work at times. This can impact my work/life balance.

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    July 16, 2020Employee Experience

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! Our work culture means everything to us at BMC, and we're happy you've been able to celebrate our diversity with us. We're also so glad to hear that your management and leadership teams have supported you, helped you grow, and encouraged your innovation. We know that finding a work/life balance can be hard, and we're working on making our employees' personal lives easily flexible!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Expect to learn and despair a lot"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative/Contracts in Winnersh, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Steep learning curve; - Exposure to a wide range of responsibilities and tasks.

    Cons

    - Lack of flexibility (hours and location); - Lack of organisation/oversight by management/taking responsibility - when a mistake happens, huge efforts are undertaken to find someone to blame; but where a task is done well, no one mentions it; - Bullying/rudeness/insults deemed acceptable (no interest from HR to discourage such behaviour); - Work-life balance (over-time/weekends expected, but nothing in return (no "thank you", let alone compensation).

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good in terms of HR benefits , but join only if you don't want any career growth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Product Developer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Free pantry food, parties

    Cons

    Zero percent career growth,In the first year of joining they won't give you any appraisal saying you already got a hike while joining, will provide any random reason for that, No matter how hard you work. No structural performance appraisal system, you are at the whims and fancies of your manager. Hikes are mostly single digit. Most of the products are not doing well. Bonus is awarded on the basis of your rapport with manager and not about your performance. Culture is Full of politics of existing employees.

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    August 10, 2020Employee Experience

    Thank you for your review! We like that you appreciate our efforts towards a healthy work life balance and work culture for our employees. We also want to thank you for your thoughts on our career growth and opportunities. We're always looking for ways to improve how we can help our employees grow, and reviews like yours help us get closer to a solution!

  7. "Best working place in Pune."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Applications Developer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Employees work as a family here.

    Cons

    Didn't find yet. Workload some times.

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitics Agency

    Thank you for your review! We love that you appreciate our management teams and the support that we offer our employees!

  8. "Good company at higher roles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Product Developer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance , free pantry food

    Cons

    Less hikes and promotions. Hikes are project specific, if you are not in a project which is not doing well , you will not earn much.

    Continue reading

    BMC Software Response

    May 18, 2020Recruitics Agency

    Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your thoughts on compensation and your advice to management, and we will make sure we bring this back to the appropriate teams!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great stability"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Specialist Product Developer 

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, work life balance

    Cons

    Legacy technologies, management, doesn't take risks

    BMC Software Response

    April 30, 2020Company Representative

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We know flexibility is important and finding that work-life fit is something we encourage; we're so glad to hear you've had a positive experience with that! It's important to us that our employees feel heard, so we would love to hear any further feedback you may have for our teams.

  10. "Good company to work with"

    4.0
     

    I worked at BMC Software

    Pros

    Premises Work culture Work life balance Facilities

    Cons

    Less growth and opportunities. Behavior towards contractor is quite biased.

    BMC Software Response

    April 29, 2020Company Representative

    We are glad to hear that you've had a positive work environment. We appreciate you sharing your experience and will share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

Found 217 reviews