Baker McKenzie Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Baker McKenzie Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 401 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Baker McKenzie CEO Paul Rawlinson
Paul Rawlinson
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits(in 28 reviews)

  • "great work environment, high level training(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "KJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sydney

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Strong disputes and class actions team. International work.

    Cons

    Not transparent with bonuses and whatnot.

    Baker McKenzie2019-05-13
  2. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    friendly people, flexible working culture

    Cons

    lean teams, long hours but not the salary to match

    Baker McKenzie2019-05-02
  3. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Supportive manager and colleagues who really care about the people they work with.

    Cons

    Limitations to advance in sections of IT.

    Baker McKenzie2019-04-18
  4. "Business Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

    Pros

    Great offices, friendly staff, free coffee

    Cons

    global centralization - less efficiency and more bureaucracy

    Baker McKenzie2018-09-18
  5. "Great people, great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent clients - Good variety - Supportive partners - top of pay scale

    Cons

    - some difficult partners / senior lawyers - varied workloads

    Advice to Management

    Manage out problem laywers

    Baker McKenzie2018-08-13
  6. "IP Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    I interned at Baker and McKenzie in 2016. Overall very good experience, with great mentorship from associates

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment.

    Baker McKenzie2017-09-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "GA life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable hours Less corporate than other top firms Access to clients International work and opportunities Flat structure Element of flexibility (once you've proven yourself)

    Cons

    Poor communication Lack of transparency, including re policies No defined bonus policy for GAs Not progressive in terms of people management Poor technology

    Advice to Management

    If you spend a bit more time trying to retain people (see cons above), it would save you money in the long run..

    Baker McKenzie2016-10-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    Some international cross border work

    Cons

    Not a top tier firm in Australia

    Advice to Management

    recruit the best and pay top of market

    Baker McKenzie2016-03-29
  9. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker McKenzie

    Pros

    - type of work involved: you get a lot of exposure to high stakes transactions - high expectations, high standards

    Cons

    - the partners have a very high standard and do not accept incompetence.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing.

    Baker McKenzie2015-11-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "The best job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are 9-5 with an hour for lunch (secretarial) Friendliness across the firm in all areas Down to earth partners Flexibility

    Cons

    I am yet to come across any real cons. Perhaps turnover and communication issues between HR and the floors not as good as it should be

    Advice to Management

    Reward performance with more than salary I.e monthly or quarterly recognition for individuals performing well to continue motivating them. It's not always about salary.

    Baker McKenzie2013-07-17
Found 401 reviews