Baker McKenzie Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Baker McKenzie Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Baker McKenzie CEO Paul Rawlinson
Paul Rawlinson
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Known as "the friendliest Law Firm" - good culture, great location, good benefits(in 28 reviews)

  • "great work environment, high level training(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "KJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sydney

    I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Strong disputes and class actions team. International work.

    Cons

    Not transparent with bonuses and whatnot.

    Baker McKenzie2019-05-13
  2. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time

      Pros

      friendly people, flexible working culture

      Cons

      lean teams, long hours but not the salary to match

      Baker McKenzie2019-05-02
    • "IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

      Pros

      Supportive manager and colleagues who really care about the people they work with.

      Cons

      Limitations to advance in sections of IT.

      Baker McKenzie2019-04-18
    • "Business Services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time

      Pros

      Great offices, friendly staff, free coffee

      Cons

      global centralization - less efficiency and more bureaucracy

      Baker McKenzie2018-09-18
    • "Great people, great work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lawyer in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Excellent clients - Good variety - Supportive partners - top of pay scale

      Cons

      - some difficult partners / senior lawyers - varied workloads

      Advice to Management

      Manage out problem laywers

      Baker McKenzie2018-08-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "GA life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Associate in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Reasonable hours Less corporate than other top firms Access to clients International work and opportunities Flat structure Element of flexibility (once you've proven yourself)

      Cons

      Poor communication Lack of transparency, including re policies No defined bonus policy for GAs Not progressive in terms of people management Poor technology

      Advice to Management

      If you spend a bit more time trying to retain people (see cons above), it would save you money in the long run..

      Baker McKenzie2016-10-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Baker McKenzie

      Pros

      Some international cross border work

      Cons

      Not a top tier firm in Australia

      Advice to Management

      recruit the best and pay top of market

      Baker McKenzie2016-03-29
    • Helpful (3)

      "The best job I've had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Hours are 9-5 with an hour for lunch (secretarial) Friendliness across the firm in all areas Down to earth partners Flexibility

      Cons

      I am yet to come across any real cons. Perhaps turnover and communication issues between HR and the floors not as good as it should be

      Advice to Management

      Reward performance with more than salary I.e monthly or quarterly recognition for individuals performing well to continue motivating them. It's not always about salary.

      Baker McKenzie2013-07-17
    • "Great Company, Friendly Atmosphere, Competitive Pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Clerkship in Sydney
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Baker McKenzie part-time

      Pros

      In my particular practice group people were great and there is a strong focus on career development (especially because it was a clerkship/paralegal position). Good remuneration compared to other Sydney law firms. Also a slightly friendlier culture but depends obviously on practice group. Great international opportunities.

      Cons

      Atmosphere slightly stiff but this is normal for law firm

      Baker McKenzie2012-09-19
    • "Not a great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources in Sydney

      I worked at Baker McKenzie full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Team I worked with were very good and professional.

      Cons

      * excessive hours * no recognition * dealing with unprofessional management * behaviour witnessed is not consistent with what they say in interview

      Baker McKenzie2012-06-05
    Found 325 reviews