Beachbody Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Beachbody Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Beachbody CEO Carl Daikeler (no image)
Carl Daikeler
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good freelance rates, great people to work with, free shakeology(in 19 reviews)

  • "My work is meaningful and I'm truly helping people change their lives(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management claims to have a hiring freeze but brings in multiple VPs with ridiculous salaries(in 30 reviews)

  • "There should be more compensation opportunities for emerald coaches(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Confused direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distributor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Set own hours relatively positive environment Great workouts Great mission statement

    Cons

    Corporate has problems with business direction BEACHBODY also owns open fit- a competitor. Comp plan can breed a toxic environment Many distributors will slam each other behind their backs to benefit High turnover Overweight people trying to be fitness pros Company and distribution field uses lots of Rah rah and hype A huge amount of distributors are discount buyers. Coaches enroll anyone to hit a rank... for their own benefit Much of the network are people new to MLM . The company focuses to much on recognition, and not solid proven business acumen for distributors to actually build something sustainable coaches are taught to spam people with Hey girl messages. Sub par technology for the field

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go direct...and become a direct affiliate program. It’s what you are doing anyway (success club)

    Beachbody2019-10-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Place But Uneven Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people in each area

    Cons

    Unstable business cycles over the years

    Beachbody2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Overall pleasant experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the company culture. Complementary Shakeology.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about career advancement for employees,

    Beachbody2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Peaks and peaks. Then, peaks and valleys. Then, valleys and valleys. Then, valleys."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - [REDACTED] 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual environment. Flexible hours. Lots going on so never boring or dull. Really good comp. Employee ideas were sometimes heard, acted on and had positive impact on the business.

    Cons

    Was once a place with great products, culture, structure and a plan. Failed to keep up with changing technologies and consumer habits. Sometimes operated as two competing companies under a single brand. Often was a paralyzed culture (in operations, strategy, planning, execution, etc) due to too many things needing approval or needing to originate from the very top--needed more empowered C-level personnel.

    Beachbody2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Don't judge a book by its cover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Accounting Analyst in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The contemporary beautiful building is in a great location in Santa Monica. Snacks, shakes, coffee machine, and food truck were nice little perks. Free swag every now and then and paid dinners for working late.

    Cons

    I worked there nearly a year and the only time I went to lunch with my team was when it was someone's birthday. There is a huge lack of camaraderie throughout the company. It feels like everyone is on his/her own island scrambling to get their job done since they fired so many people. My manager left 2 months in and was never replaced. This caused me to spend all but two months scrambling to get my work done. I... assumed most of his roles and was denied any extra compensation. If you don't mind working in a terrible work environment and do not care about the culture, the pay is generous. You also have a chance to get promoted several times with all of the people getting let go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop throwing darts at a wheel of ideas to try and create new streams of revenue. E.G. Creating a mediocre overpriced protein bar when they have been around in the market for 30+ years is not a recipe for success. Good luck getting shelf space against the big boys.

    Beachbody2019-08-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I love this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Culture. Mission to Change Lives. Commitment to their Employees. Empowering their Employees. Passion. Creativity, Vision and Innovation. It's Hard Work but Teamwork.

    Cons

    There are none. The negative reviews are from people who weren't patient enough to realize businesses have ups and down and challenges. We're a product innovation and creativity machine, which can be too much for some people to handle. It’s not a good place if you don’t like to work. The people that thrive are the people who are passionate and hard working, actually relentless. I find it fun, exhilarating and... uplifting! There's a reason we've been around 20 years, from the CEO down, we believe and never quit.

    Show More
    Beachbody2019-08-04
  7. "Amazing opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours Be your own boss

    Cons

    Nothing really that is negative

    Beachbody2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The CEO really cares about his employees, and this trickles down to the managers. I loved working here!

    Cons

    I have no complaints about Beachbody.

    Beachbody2019-08-07
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Overtaken my market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good mission / good target market

    Cons

    Unstable business model / unreliable performance

    Advice to Management

    Need for change at the executive leadership level. They're holding the company back and you're losing ground as a result

    Beachbody2019-08-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Good Perks.

    Cons

    Slow upward mobility. Stingy promotions.

    Beachbody2019-08-12
Found 360 reviews