Beca Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 262 reviews

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Beca Group CEO Greg Lowe
Greg Lowe
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can get to work on some of well known project in NZ, which are pretty interesting and rewarding(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great Culture and work experience(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance is a joke and flexibility in working hours is non-existant(in 9 reviews)

  • "minimal pay rise, no career progression(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Strong Career Development for Grads

      Mar 16, 2017 - Structural Engineer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great grad program takes you to Auckland for 3 conferences to meet the other 120 grads across the business. Leaders are very approachable and contactable especially for Grads if proactive. Leaders/section managers have a strong focus on employee development so if you want to travel or work in different teams they do their best as they see the value in a broad range of experience. Managers are also really happy for you to pursue random extra curricular projects/activities both internally and externally such as research/mentoring/societies conferences etc For the Aussies, would highly recommend spending 1+ months NZ/Auckland if you get the chance. Beca is a beast in NZ. Great culture, social club, Friday drinks, annual functions etc. good work life balance too.

      Cons

      Being a tier 2/3 company in Australia means the big/exciting projects are not as common. However this is a strength in a way as this gives opportunities to work in a growing company with lots of smaller projects giving you variety. If you want the big projects then a stint in NZ is a must

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      1980's white boys club

      Dec 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In some occasions, you will be lucky to travel New Zealand either for conference or business. Free travel ticket!

      Cons

      Old school white boys management club. Recruitment and promotion is done through their network. Large overhead, money spent on HR and admin, trying to prove the great diversity and work & life balance, which turns out to be just linkedin and facebook profile building. Lacking integrity. Some technical directors are actually not technical. Business model only works in New Zealand, there is a push from board to conquer Asia and Australia... but with the old school management style, a huge success will be much in doubt. Incompetent senior staff have been paid well, engineers who actually do the work get paid peanuts.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good experience

      Jun 16, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong company culture that focuses on training of staff and relatively good work/life balance.

      Cons

      Company has tendency to get tied down by red tape between its offices.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A sinking ship

      May 22, 2015 - Senior Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally good people working there Work life balance is good New office fit out Lots of industries to be exposed too

      Cons

      Poor renumeration No Bonus payed for a number of years No transparency in share ownership scheme New Australian MD is underwhelming. He cannot or refuses to connect and engage with staff. Rarely "walks the floor" Spend millions on developing in house software systems to help manage projects or documents, that are faulty or not user friendly, when 3rd party systems woild do a much better job. Cannot keep quality talent Intermediate level engineers are often forgotten No training externally or internally Professional development review's lacklustre and disorganised at best. They are a tick in the box exercise.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Engineering Consultant - intermediate

      Sep 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, nice people.

      Cons

      Very less ambitious, behind the market in technology, lowest pay in the market of similar companies. Nz Centred culture

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Beca Response

      Marketing and Communications Advisor

      Thanks for taking the time to place feedback. If you would like to chat to someone about your concerns, please reach out to one of our People & Culture team for a confidential discussion.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Admin / Corporate services.

      Aug 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exposure to technical work, some strong team members, salary.

      Cons

      Lot's of pressure, hard to get time with the right people to help you, work life balance. Not much security with restructures.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Entry Level Experience

      Aug 29, 2020 - Graduate Engineer in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leading the industry so a wealth of knowledge is easy to accumulate from your peers. If a strong line of communication exists between yourself and your managers you won't be overworked. You will have countless opportunities to grow your career in the way you see fit due to Beca's reach and contacts.

      Cons

      There is definitely bullying that exists within the company - endure it or leave. There is no sense of team or family within the company, there is a sense of productivity trumps all else. Work-life balance is a joke and flexibility in working hours is non-existant.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Beca Response

      Marketing Communications Coordinator

      Hi there, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to leave feedback about your current role as a graduate engineer in our Auckland office. It’s great to note you’ve discovered the various opportunities that exist within Beca to grow and learn from your network. The well-being of our staff is something we take seriously and we pride ourselves on having a supportive family culture. It’s a concern that you have not experienced this and would encourage you to reach out to your manager or feel free to contact the People & Culture team.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      A Company of Self-employed Individuals

      Jul 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great project opportunities, great people and events, open plan office with easy access to managers, opportunity to work across disciplines, stable company reputation, excellent networking opportunities, fair remuneration reflective of the industry, good work/life balance, a lot of emphasis on wellbeing, good soft-skills learning graduate programme

      Cons

      Beca ticks many boxes, but for me, I've found the first half year extremely frustrating. I've experienced very low productivity due to limited work being passed down to me, despite begging for something to do. There is a very weak delegation culture in the team, despite most senior members being extremely busy. There is also a strong sense of seniority/time served = rights. I've found I haven't been listened to several times (presumably because I'm a graduate), only to have a senior member of the team present the same idea further down the track. Most colleagues are very protective of their workload, to maintain a good productivity rate. It seems as if everyone is self-employed and expected to find their own work, and learn how to do it. This is extremely frustrating for someone new to the industry, especially while learning how the company operates.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Beca Response

      Employer Brand Advisor

      Hi there - awesome to see you taking the time to leave such a thorough review! It's great to hear you're learning lots through the Beca Graduate Programme and enjoying meeting great people in our teams. It was also cool to read your comment around our focus on wellbeing and the importance of work/life balance. I am concerned to read your comments around not feeling you're being heard or getting the chance to get more involved in project work. We'd love to chat to you more about this, please reach out to a member of the People & Culture team for a private conversation. It would be great to unpick what's going on so we can get you fully involved and engaged.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stressed Out Workers

      Sep 25, 2019 - Structural Engineer in Auckland, Auckland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big company with a good name for a CV but nothing much beyond this.

      Cons

      Most of the workers are overworked. Management is a helicopter and treats us like numbers. Work/Life balance is not great.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Beca Response

      Employer Brand Advisor

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is a concern to read your comments. This doesn't sound like the kind of culture that we support at Beca. It would be great to unpick this a bit more with you. Can you please reach out to a member of our People & Culture team to continue this conversation confidentially?

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Electrical Engineer

      Oct 21, 2019 - Electrical Engineer in Tauranga, Bay of Plenty
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location Good friends across wider teams

      Cons

      Culture ,work life balance,leadership favouritism No growth opportunities

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Beca Response

      Employer Brand Advisor

      Hello, thanks for leaving a review. We definitely agree that our Tauranga office is in a great location with some awesome people. I was sorry to see your experience overall was only 1 star and that you don't feel there are opportunities for your personal development and growth. This is a real concern as we want our people to feel supported to be the best they can be. We'd really like to help understand your situation a bit more, please reach out to a member of our People & Culture team for a confidential discussion.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Beca Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Beca? Share Your Experiences

    Beca logo
    or