Best Buy Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Best Buy CEO Corie Barry (no image)
Corie Barry
2,185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good employee discount on some stuff(in 2293 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, good pay(in 983 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not very good work life balance(in 587 reviews)

  • "long hours standing makes you burnout(in 532 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      good company

      28 Dec 2020 - Home Theater Specialist in Tukwila, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management, compensation, and benefits

      Cons

      consistent change of policies probably due to pandemic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Assistant

      26 Feb 2016 -  in Hobart CBD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work ethic and nice people

      Cons

      Travel takes a long time since it is far away

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      BI Architecture

      4 Jul 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work culture and flexible timings

      Cons

      Salary could be higher, management needs to update

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Organization to work for

      11 Jun 2021 - Counter Intelligence Agent in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Best people - I have worked different places and i must say that best buy employees are so comfortable to work with. The management is so approachable and understanding. 2. Good Employee Discounts, which I must say is a perk 3. They really take care of employees in every possible way, like giving gift vouchers for good achievers, organizing Team building activities and builiding Healthy team relationships 4. Best buy had amazing policies and practices to encounter the pandemic situations with Sanitizations and tons of protocols. It might be an extra task for some but the company's effort is worth appreciating. 5. Amazing trainings - most of the new upcoming processes are to be completed online and exmployees can learn it on their own pace.

      Cons

      Considering the Sales sector is pretty competitive, i believe salaries could go a bit higher may be by 15 to 20 percent, but apart from this, there is nothing to complaint about.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not my favorite but others really enjoy it

      24 May 2021 - Senior Accounting Analyst in Richfield, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty laid back atmosphere. Most bosses are understanding and are very flexible. Overall decent work life balance.

      Cons

      Best Buy Corporate campus specifically the controllership team seems to only be a place where 2 types of people thrive: Management or disengaged individuals. Management, mostly curated of a group of public accounting burnouts from 2014/2015, have been given endless growth opportunities over the years, constantly being promoted within chair and having endless roles open up for their benefit/advancement. While disengaged individuals who just want to clock in and clock out while performing the bare minimum are given endless job security, full bonus payouts, and still make solid merit increases to salary year over year. Us young individuals who wanted to advance our careers were constantly being put under tremendous stress and situations to “prove” we were ready for the next step without any form of proper incentives or compensation. Overall this company left me extremely burnt out and lacking any confidence in my abilities due to their inability to properly incentivize any of my hard work until I was at my literal breaking point. When it came time for my promotion after managing an entire accounting area for almost 8 months due to my bosses departure ( and as the lowest level analyst and pay grade may I add)....I receive a 2k salary increase. Overall greatly disappointed and my attitude became poor. I fled the situation knowing things weren’t going to improve and my mental health and overall attitude towards my work swiftly declined.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good/fun place to work, but inner politics are obnoxious.

      3 Jun 2021 - Customer Service in Lexington, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fun work if you have an opportunity to work some with sales or helping customers with specific issues -Generally positive atmosphere -You'll find its an easy job if you use electronics often.

      Cons

      -Management can be atrocious when it comes to organization, and you may get a awful GM. -Apparently there's no policies on nepotism. Employee related to boss was lazy and had bad attitude, never got fired. -Employees almost always seemed to gossip about GM, or about each other. My relationship suffered with other employees when I didn't interact with them, bosses had strong and friendly relationships with those they "got along with", so I never made it to a permanent position with the company when no one spoke highly of me.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid Job

      27 Apr 2021 - Product Flow Specialist in Davenport, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well and though recently they've been catching flak for laying off something like 5k full timers during COVID the reasoning makes sense plus a lot of them got rehired but as part-timers. I know it's not the same but the way the company is going having flexible part-timer hours makes sense.

      Cons

      If you want to get consistent hours you gotta do a LOT of elearnings so that you can get scheduled to wherever they need you. So if you've only completed the elearnings for computing and they only need for for a 6 hour shift that week then you're basically screwed. Also I'm not a sales guy but even in the warehouse I get annoyed by how much they push for the sales team to milk EVERY SINGLE customer to get them to apply for the Best Buy credit card or Total Tech Support which yes they're useful but if a person is just buying an hdmi cable you're still expected to convince them to apply for either one of those. Very annoying and it kinda takes away from the "friendship" the elearnings keep mentioning you're supposed to build with customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to Start At

      10 Jun 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are interested in technology this is a great company to start at. Not the discounts are some of the best in the industry and you can reach multiple brands through them. It can also be your path to some meaningful connections that can lead to your career in other companies as well.

      Cons

      Store management can be difficult as in a lot of retail jobs. The daily budgets are super unrealistic at least in my market.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      18 May 2021 - Verizon Expert in Westminster, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval