BetVictor Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

BetVictor Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Small groups, good atmosphere, cofee, tea, fruits, flexible working hours, PLayStation and team building events(in 8 reviews)

  • "nbsp;Workload is manageable and good work-life balance seems to be encouraged(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Politics between Gibraltar and Spain affect a lot to the staff that live in Spain(in 4 reviews)

  • "Both Spain and Gibraltar are beautiful to live in(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "negative place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BetVictor full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      nothing good to say about

      Cons

      bullying environment, always looking to blame others

      BetVictor2019-02-09
    • "Former Management didn't keep their word"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Vip in Gibraltar
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at BetVictor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice and friendly staff and friendly middle management

      Cons

      When Victor Chandler was in charge promises to staff including promise of bonuses were not upheld. promises for bonuses for fulfilling new criteria were taken away at short notice upon request for payment of bonuses. Victor ran the company in a way that offered no stability or direction. I hear now that Michael Tabor is the sole owner things are much better.

      Advice to Management

      Never go back to the old way of running things when Victor was in charge.

      BetVictor2018-12-01
    • "Neither the worst, nor the best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Java Developer in Gibraltar

      I worked at BetVictor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Reasonalble working hours, relatively new technologies ( not everywhere though ), The rock is a nice place

      Cons

      Business doesn't have a clear vision, constantly changing priorities. Not the brightest available people in lead, politics was fairly strong.

      BetVictor2018-11-29
    • "Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gibraltar
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at BetVictor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great offce, environment, and colleagues

      Cons

      Can be quite demanding or stressful

      BetVictor2018-10-03
    • "Personal Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Consultant in Gibraltar
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at BetVictor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Overall good experience here - senior management were very approachable along with regular staff. Good progression if you work hard

      Cons

      none really as my time here was pleasant

      Advice to Management

      Transparency is the key

      BetVictor2018-10-02
    • "A great experience so far"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Department in Gibraltar
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at BetVictor full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      – A good office culture with mostly good, friendly people – Excellent office in the World Trade Center – Good relocation package which really cushioned the cost of moving here – We're treated like adults and not clock-watched, as long as our deadlines are met – Workload is manageable and good work-life balance seems to be encouraged – Free coffee (although only 1 machine ever works!) – Bupa...

      Show More

      Cons

      – Salaries are low when compared to competitors in Gibraltar, which means we often lose good people over a pay-rise which could've been matched – No bonuses – Not as many benefits as other companies – No budget for attending conferences to improve our skills – Too much red tape required to buy simple things such as software to improve our workflow, and new laptops

      Advice to Management

      – Keep hiring good people that fit in with our culture – Give good pay increases to deserving employees to stop them jumping ship to competitors – Bring in performance-based bonuses for all levels of staff

      BetVictor2018-09-11
    • "Dev Rating"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at BetVictor full-time

        Pros

        Fresh Technology, gond team, new office

        Cons

        A bit of micro management

        BetVictor2018-08-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "I love to work here!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Test Automation Engineer in Budapest
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at BetVictor full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good possibility to learn fancy technologies like microservice, docker, redis, CI/CD, Ruby, NodeJS... The company is open for the new technology solutions, so you can try out yourself. Small groups, good atmosphere, cofee, tea, fruits, flexible working hours, PLayStation and team building events.

        Cons

        There is nothing to say. Everything likes me, I am a part of a strong and good team and I am proud of it.

        Advice to Management

        This is a very good company, hold the magic!

        BetVictor2018-03-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Betvictor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - QA Test Analyst in Gibraltar
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at BetVictor full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        - very good work environment - great crew to work with - employer gives me my tasks and then leaves it up to me to achieve the goals = indepentent working without much over the shoulder looking which i like - very flexible in regards to time off and flexible start times (8 TO 10 AM Starting, from there do your 8 hours and everyone is happy, very good for when you need to do official stuff outside the company)

        Cons

        - sometimes a bit hectic when prior planning could have taken care of that from the start. - to many vertical teams which make communication sometimes a bit difficult. - not much chance of a wage rise apart from cost of living increase, if you don't apply for a new position internally/externally

        Advice to Management

        - try and keep good employees, even if that means a jump in wages (i.e. matching an external offer the employee received), it pays back in the long term.

        BetVictor2017-12-27
      • "New offices are great. But strict working hours enforced."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at BetVictor full-time

        Pros

        Lovely offices in the new WTC. Absolutely spotless, cleaners running around all day. Huge desks to work on, free of cables. They clearly spent money creating very comfortable modern spacious offices.

        Cons

        Despite my role being able to be done from anywhere, there is still a huge "be seen at your desk" culture during core working hours. A strict 30 minute lunch break is just not enough time when Gibraltar is such a social place. In some ways the company still employed a very old fashioned strict working culture revolving around the hours and time of day you work. The focus should be on completing your projects and...

        Show More
        BetVictor2018-01-09
      Found 58 reviews