Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 372 of over 460 reviews

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation CEO Mark Suzman
Mark Suzman
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great benefits, focus on good management/managers(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great mission and incredible benefits(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Say goodbye to work-life balance and expect to travel a lot(in 23 reviews)

  • "Decision making is often hamstrung by politics(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great mission, great people, great benefits

      Aug 26, 2020 - Senior Program Officer Global Policy & Advocacy in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, fair compensation, and the mission is at the core of the work.

      Cons

      Evolving DEI approach, little mobility internally.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Jun 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to work. Good culture.

      Cons

      No cons. Great organisation. Well ran.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best working environment & benefits I have ever experienced

      Jul 26, 2021 - Program Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture - A culture of understanding the needs of workers with families during COVID - Some of the brightest, smartest, and KINDEST coworkers Global View - You get to build a global view on things - There are consistent learning sessions helping you build this understanding Benefits - Perhaps the most generous international development organization on the planet in terms of benefits: family leaves, insurance, retirement contributions

      Cons

      Cons - People may get too competitive at times Visa Sponsorship - Do not sponsor international workers below Senior Program Officer level, that too rarely Too Many Strategy Reviews - Sometimes it may appear that various divisions are going through strategy refreshes and there will be relatively few years of smooth sailing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Not a real review

      Jul 17, 2021 - Trash Collector in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You made me do a review

      Cons

      This is my rebellion. Hear me roar.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place to work

      Jul 15, 2021 - Senior Program Officer, Global Health in London, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic mission and brilliant colleagues

      Cons

      Working from home during COVID

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Mission driven org needs to deal with gaslighting and discrimination

      Jul 18, 2021 - Researcher in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunities to do good for others are immense at the foundation. You can have a huge impact that helps make other peoples' lives better - if you're given the opportunity, but only if. For a person that's mission driven and who fits the bill of who leadership here see as capable of leading work in public health, this a great place to work. On the other hand, if you don't look like who they're comfortable with, best of luck. If you're in public health this place actually pays an appropriate amount for your expertise.

      Cons

      During my time I saw the foundation repeatedly state they cared about diversity, equity, and inclusion, and wanted to move us towards being a more diverse workplace, where all felt included and able to bring their best forward for the mission of the org. And yet, during my tenure I saw multiple women, half women of color, leave my division. Not truly out of choice, but because their management chains were atrocious. Retention is key to making any org a truly inclusive space but I'm quite convinced that several white people here see POC as interchangeable - all you need to do is hire the next POC when one leaves rather than fix the toxic system that views us as less capable and yet asks us for more work than our white colleagues. White men fail upwards here. WOC are pushed out. This needs to stop now and not in 2 or 3 or 5 years from now. But from everything I've seen the foundation's plans to address this, it means taking an incredibly slow pace on this to the detriment of those most discriminated against. Every year our division saw new guidelines about what was required to go up for promotion - and yet none were actually applied equitably. It was disheartening to see that I met most of the requirements for a role twice more senior than what I had and to hear from multiple colleagues that they saw that in me as well, but to get the opposite message from my chain of management who were disengaged with my work. There's very little accountability here when you're discriminated against. Many people hired here are bright, smart individuals but know nothing about what they're hired to do. People hired to do public health research and yet have never done it before and are managed by other researchers with no prior experience in the field either. It's the (hopeful) blind leading the blind here and the people purportedly being served and supported by this research deserve better. But you won't get that when you have poor leadership with little relevant experience with the field (here I'm not referring to the CEO, but rather individuals lower than that). Finally, let me repeat: I was gaslit by several people in my division. Bringing it forward did nothing for me besides put a target on my back. White men have questioned my work when they have no expertise in it and they are taken seriously solely because of the seniority of their role but not their actual experience. They can speak to you condescendingly and nothing will happen to them even if you bring it forward. They can repeatedly fail at doing their jobs and be given chance after chance, more training, more time, etc but POC will not be given the same support. I could not recommend this place for any POC at the moment as it's unsafe to be our authentic selves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Prestigious

      Jul 15, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Addis Ababa
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Efficient, relaxing, fast, amazing, learning

      Cons

      It is such a busy environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Mission driven

      Jul 5, 2021 - Talent Management Leader in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are motivate by the mission. And for many this is their passion and life’s work.

      Cons

      For many this is their life’s work and purpose which can result in very high goals and heavy workload.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      IT

      Jul 12, 2021 - IT Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very positive energy and fun

      Cons

      Will work long hours during the day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great

      Jun 30, 2021 - Program Officer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing colleagues. Great opportunities to drive impact. Great place to build at the beginning of your career.

      Cons

      Internal politics. Possibly too large and in sufficiently nimble.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 372 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation? Share Your Experiences

    Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation logo
    or