Books Kinokuniya Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Books Kinokuniya Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "stocktake staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya

    Pros

    Pretty chill, Easy monotonous scanning that require speed and accuracy. A lot of counting.

    Cons

    Remember how many books you counted or scanned. If you cant remember you just have to recount or rescan the books, which will reduce your speed. But, accuracy is important

    Advice to Management

    Pretty organised and easy to do work. If you are not sure of what you are doing the staff are all very helpful. Everyone works together as a team

    Books Kinokuniya2018-09-06
  2. "Decent work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Books Kinokuniya part-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, and environment overall

    Cons

    Poor management, no bonus or commissions

    Books Kinokuniya2017-12-06
  3. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya part-time

    Pros

    great work culture and supporting team

    Cons

    tight senior management, couldnt even spend a few thousand for training

    Books Kinokuniya2017-11-20
  4. "Rewarding, great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with great co-workers.

    Cons

    Too much of a corporate environment.

    Books Kinokuniya2019-07-17
  5. "temporary cashier at kinokuniya"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya

    Pros

    great environment if you love books & staff discount

    Cons

    work schedule is pretty rigid & strict

    Books Kinokuniya2019-04-01
  6. "PT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Books Kinokuniya

    Pros

    Increase Knowledge for Books + Retail

    Cons

    Weekend Pack with people and children

    Books Kinokuniya2019-03-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Average interview, friendly staff, you'll meet amazing customers, self-satisfaction when receiving positive feedbacks.

    Cons

    Can be physical as your work revolves around putting books according to its location and the number of books can be a lot most of the times. Would be even more tiring on weekends. Dont believe what you see in the movies.

    Books Kinokuniya2019-02-14
  8. "Great working place for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice senior. Can know how to deal with customers

    Cons

    Weekend will be busy. Books is everywhere on the floor at the kids area

    Advice to Management

    No comment. All good

    Books Kinokuniya2018-11-29
  9. "Sales Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are very nice and friendly. You always get to learn a lot about Japanese culture

    Cons

    Low Benefits, Weekend Shifts.

    Books Kinokuniya2018-11-06
  10. "English Book Department, Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Books Kinokuniya part-time

    Pros

    I love products in the store, so the employee discount was beneficial to me.

    Cons

    It can get a big clique-y if you aren't Japanese. There seems to be a divide between the Japanese and American employees, but everyone is cordial and polite overall. Little room for career growth.

    Books Kinokuniya2018-06-26
Found 23 reviews