British Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

British Airways Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 948 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
British Airways CEO Alex Cruz (no image)
Alex Cruz
354 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no bad things working at the best airline(in 36 reviews)

  • "Constant cost cutting obsession and department squeezes(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways

    Pros

    None that I have found after 9 years

    Cons

    Way to class conscious. If you are very good at your job you have zero chance of promotion as your superiors are afraid that you are more competent than them and show them up.

    Advice to Management

    Stop your practise of the old boys brigade and yes men and promote people who actually do want to make the company better. Get rid of your ridiculous class structure system and accept people for who they are. When promoting people choose them on merit and not preconceived ideas and set whims.

    British Airways2017-12-09
  2. "Mix Fleet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the interview and every I have meet at BA are such lovely people, as far as I can tell its a really nice culture among the staff.

    Cons

    After receiving my contract, I gave up my job and apartment only to be told 2 days before starting that my paperwork was not ready. It put me in the very worst position, I have had to move back home and I'm still out of work waiting for them to finish my paper work

    Advice to Management

    Get ride of watchdog. They are so the most incompetent group of people that I have ever come across, this process has resulted in me going through all of my saving and I have beyond distressed waiting for months on end to see when I can actually start. Never tell your employees to give up their jobs until you know 100% that there paperwork is ready.

    British Airways2017-05-20
  3. "British Airways Maintenance Glasgow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Technician in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pension good working conditions Good staff travel benefits Good place to work Friendly staff

    Cons

    Below industry salary No interest in retaining staff

    Advice to Management

    Increase salary, retain staff

    British Airways2019-09-19
  4. "Senior Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    Everything is great here in call ba

    Cons

    Nothing, i just love my company.

    Advice to Management

    You are the best

    British Airways2019-09-15

    British Airways Response

    September 17, 2019Channels Editor

    Hi! Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are SO glad you love your role.

  5. "Working as cabin crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    Lots of Travel and Money

    Cons

    Long Hours for Long Haul

    British Airways2019-09-12
  6. "Fantastic Company; The grass is always greener but you still have to cut it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family is always put first! Excellent benefits & Staff travel. Excellent performance based Bonus scheme. Excellent training opportunities. Working from home is easy and guilt free. Family is always put first. No 2 days are ever the same.

    Cons

    It’s such a great company to work that people stay too long!! 30, 40 or even 50 years but this means they become jaded and institutionalised. They moan often and talk about the good old days and are unable to see how amazing this company is but can never leave due to fear. This is why BA rarely does well on such things as this. But don’t be fooled by the old grumps! They have no clue of how hard work is outside of... BA and god help them if they ever find out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing, and don’t worry all the old moaners will soon be retired.

    British Airways2019-09-03
  7. "Above average salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good money, get to travel

    Cons

    Early starts and late finish

    British Airways2019-09-03
  8. "Support personal development and good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, opportunity to learn new skills. Work life balance

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and office in the middle of nowhere

    British Airways2019-09-02
  9. "It was okay at time and bad at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways part-time

    Pros

    It was a rewarding experience at times and sometimes can be hectic.

    Cons

    Management was bad at times. Many unruly passengers when management don't want to discuss anything with public. Being underpaid.

    British Airways2019-09-17
  10. "Great company but lacking good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel, the people, some benefits

    Cons

    To many managers managing managers, a lot of people pass the buck. Staff travel is not as good as other airlines. Management try to convince you the pay is “market rate” which it is not. A lot of cabin crew earn more than the managers onboard due to the fact they get more long-haul. Flying agreements are different for each fleet. Unrealistic targets

    Advice to Management

    Reward your CSM’s with better pay, the work CSM’s do is endless and often there is too much pressure to complete tasks in a time frame. Stop setting unrealistic targets and listen to what staff are telling you works and doesn’t.

    British Airways2019-09-13
Found 948 reviews