British Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

British Airways Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 900 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Alex Cruz
330 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no bad things working at the best airline(in 36 reviews)

  • "Constant cost cutting obsession and department squeezes(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Airways

    Pros

    None that I have found after 9 years

    Cons

    Way to class conscious. If you are very good at your job you have zero chance of promotion as your superiors are afraid that you are more competent than them and show them up.

    Advice to Management

    Stop your practise of the old boys brigade and yes men and promote people who actually do want to make the company better. Get rid of your ridiculous class structure system and accept people for who they are. When promoting people choose them on merit and not preconceived ideas and set whims.

    British Airways2017-12-09
  2. "Mix Fleet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at British Airways full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the interview and every I have meet at BA are such lovely people, as far as I can tell its a really nice culture among the staff.

    Cons

    After receiving my contract, I gave up my job and apartment only to be told 2 days before starting that my paperwork was not ready. It put me in the very worst position, I have had to move back home and I'm still out of work waiting for them to finish my paper work

    Advice to Management

    Get ride of watchdog. They are so the most incompetent group of people that I have ever come across, this process has resulted in me going through all of my saving and I have beyond distressed waiting for months on end to see when I can actually start. Never tell your employees to give up their jobs until you know 100% that there paperwork is ready.

    British Airways2017-05-20
  3. "Searching for a better position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section in Heathrow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Largest carrier in United kingdom

    Cons

    Very difficult to climb up in the career ladder

    British Airways2019-07-05
  4. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Licensed Aircraft Engineer in London, England

      I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Staff Travel & Competitive Pension

      Cons

      Salary, Limited Career Progression

      British Airways2019-07-19
    • "Underpaid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England

        I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Travel the world, new experiences.

        Cons

        Sometimes bad rosters, can be difficult for commuters, not very well paid.

        British Airways2019-07-19
      • "Basic Pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Cabin Crew 

        I have been working at British Airways full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great trips and nice hotels

        Cons

        Pay and conditions are really poor

        British Airways2019-07-19
      • "BA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England

        I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        To travel and see the world

        Cons

        Long hard and unreasonable hours due to new mixed fleet contract no scheduling agreement in place

        Advice to Management

        Scheduling agreement needed

        British Airways2019-07-19
      • "Really good place to start"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at British Airways full-time

        Pros

        Good internal opportunities, lot of bridges between departments (I work in Commercial). Such an amazing industry, and BA is one of the strongest player out there which makes it a perfect place to drive new initiatives and set new trends.

        Cons

        As any other legacy companies, red tape can be frustrating. Big push to challenge the statu quo from management though.

        British Airways2019-07-02
      • "Incredible place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Harmondsworth, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at British Airways full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        BA has so many pro's, most notably: - Flexible working - Supportive managers - Fantastic career progression - Good salaries - Wonderful working environment - A big focus on staff

        Cons

        The location of head office makes travel mildly inconvenient for employees but there is a regular, free bus service to the station and free parking which makes up for it

        Advice to Management

        Continue the focus on staff, growth and our customers

        British Airways2019-07-01

        British Airways Response

        July 2, 2019Channels Editor

        Hi, thanks so much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to get such positive feedback and are immensely proud to have colleagues who are so passionate about working here! Our aim is to give our colleagues the best working environment possible and if you have any suggestions ...

        Show More
      • "Cabin Crew"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at British Airways full-time

        Pros

        staff travel perks, great crew culture

        Cons

        Unappreciative management who do not value crews

        Advice to Management

        Treat staff like an asset and grow them so they can grow your business in turn!

        British Airways2019-07-15
      Found 900 reviews