British Red Cross Assistant Shop Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 345 reviews

3.0
36%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
3 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible boss

    Jun 4, 2021 - Shop Assistant in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job I nice enough depending on who you work witj

    Cons

    My boss was a bully, control freak and extremely rude, I'm the 4th assistant manager to complain but nothing has ever happened, I left in the end

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Dont complain, they will sweep it undercthe carpet!

    Feb 6, 2021 - Shop Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay on time, 9-5pm

    Cons

    Rude managers and they know one cannot do anything. If you dont fit in better look for another job

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    great place, lovely Manager, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere

    Dec 7, 2020 - Voluntary Shop Assistant in Colchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lovely place to meet people, get some customer service experience

    Cons

    I can not see any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Brilliant

    Jul 28, 2020 - Shop Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice and helpful manager that I'd ever seen

    Cons

    I can't think of any at all

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The business of charity

    Mar 9, 2020 - Shop Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job satisfaction Varied and challenging, no two days are the same Meeting diverse groups of people

    Cons

    Lone working Poor staffing quotas Profit over people

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    welcoming and nice to work with

    Aug 19, 2019 - Shop Floor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    line manager focused and willing to help, explained tasks and how to do things clearly and well

    Cons

    shop could get busy at times, difficult to handle

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Volunteering

    Mar 22, 2016 - Assistant Shop Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community feel and friendship between shop colleagues. Personally I had a wonderful manager - good relationship with volunteers and was quick to bring any issues to Head Office. Flexible working hours - in our shop, you arranged shifts with your manager and colleagues. Tea and biscuits and a good chat available all day! Good training leaflets for personal health and safety.

    Cons

    Volunteering is unpaid. Issues raised to Head Office are not always followed up quickly or solutions are not always followed through.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    11 great years working for Red Cross

    Jun 5, 2014 - Shop Manager in Pembroke Dock, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    blessed with great line managers, very fair to work for, lots of training opportunities, feel trusted and valued,

    Cons

    I have not any chance of promotion as a retail manager in 11 years, low pay within retail, the equivalent managers in Services earn a heck of a lot more, it could , if you let it, make you very dissatisfied,

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lovely place to work

    Jan 21, 2018 - Shop Worker in Burnley, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with a variety of people Very inclusive Felt like making a real difference

    Cons

    No cons but more maybe renovation of the shop

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Difficult and very glad to be out of it !

    Sep 10, 2017 - Assistant Shop Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Met some lovely people - you want 20 words - at times felt that I was doing some good for others.

    Cons

    There is an inherent culture of bullying The Manager of the first shop I worked in was dishonest as was her assistant. When reported, Head Office were not interested in listening let alone acting. The Manager of the second shop spoke down to me on many occasions, ignored the internal theft of a volunteers belongings and expected me to close shop every day due to his family commitments. He had no regard for mine.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Work at British Red Cross? Share Your Experiences

British Red Cross logo
or