British Red Cross Fundraiser Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 345 reviews

3.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
British Red Cross Chief Executive Michael Adamson (no image)
Michael Adamson
2 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A learning curve in my career that I don't regret!

    Jan 13, 2021 - British Red Cross Street Fundraiser in Derby, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to see a lot of the UK. I was lucky and had a really supportive team that knew how to laugh. Good cause. Good pay. Good guidelines on what was and was not ethical to say or do whilst you're out there, which they actively enforced. Sometimes you meet strangers who buy your team muffins. You get exactly what you are willing to put in to this work.

    Cons

    You get to see a lot of the UK. ...I can't really blame the Red Cross for the astonishing amount of snow we stood in or that one guy at the end of a long day who came outside and screamed at us all for half an hour.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Decent post

    Apr 20, 2021 - Fundraiser in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong management that helped make everyone welcome

    Cons

    Weak training course that did not develop fundraisers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great cause, lack of progression

    Jan 27, 2020 - Fundraiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission of the Red Cross is, in my opinion, faultless. The work remains as crucial and relevant today as when it was founded 150 years ago, and the more I learnt through working at the organisation, the more I believed this. It's a highly motivation cause, and you are surrounding by colleagues who truly care about what they do. Few places can say that. The organisation is huge and has many specialist teams, which means your colleagues can be leaders in their field. As a junior staff member you can learn a great deal from them.

    Cons

    Although apparently it is bench marked, pay is not competitive. Two years after leaving and my salary is almost £10,000 more. Opportunities for progression in my time were rare and hard to come by. The organisation makes the mistake of hiring highly ambitious and capable people, and then having nothing to offer them in terms of their own development - I found that often posts were recruited for externally in favour of promoting within. Its important to get the right person for the job, but actually, as recruitment is quite competitive, very often you will find someone with more experience externally than someone you are promoting up. Staff retention is poor within head office as a result. It's also quite hierarchical and with a lot of red tape. This is probably not unusual for a large NGO and strategies are important. However it felt a lot less empowering as you couldn't make decisions without consultation of others and sometimes that approach is slow and ineffective.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work but outlining offices a bit forgotten

    Jul 30, 2020 - Senior Community Fundraiser in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, great mission, some good training

    Cons

    If you aren't in London it is hard to get any opportunities

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Learnt so much

    Apr 30, 2020 - Senior Community Fundraiser in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great organisation, learnt so much across all aspects of the organisation. Good insight into different income streams.

    Cons

    Quite London-centric if you work in another part of the country.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great place to work

    Nov 24, 2019 - Fundraiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working Casual dress, Creative work, Flexible work, Friendly staff

    Cons

    Need to make more changes to the organisation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Poor leadership and comms

    Jul 12, 2019 - Fundraiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours and some friendly staff

    Cons

    Poor leadership and management style from some managers. Too focused on worrying about making themselves look good and ticking boxes. Not enough appreciation for people that put in the hard work and hours. IT systems are also dreadful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The road to hell is paved with good intentions

    May 10, 2014 - Fundraiser in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For a long time working for the British Red Cross gave me an enormous sense of wellbeing in terms f making a genuine and lasting difference during this time on the planet.

    Cons

    Sadly I lost my faith in the charity as it got more and more corporate based. When I discovered it was corporate partners with morally defunct organisations like GlaxoSmithKline, Nestle and Tesco I lost my faith fully.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent job

    Feb 1, 2017 - Fundraiser in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay the training, great mission in Uk & worldwide, Receive a cool working kit

    Cons

    Very intense work, Team leaders are very rigid

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Work at British Red Cross? Share Your Experiences

British Red Cross logo
or