Bumble Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Bumble Founder and CEO Whitney Wolfe Herd
Whitney Wolfe Herd
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredible benefits from Gym, to medicine, free food, & perks(in 28 reviews)

  • "Perks (Amazing health and dental insurance, 5mins massages everyday, catered breakfast and lunch)(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I wanted to be so wrong about working for a Russian company and be open minded(in 15 reviews)

  • "There is not a single woman in a C-level position in Badoo (there's been improvement at lower levels however)(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great engineering, design and product teams

      9 Mar 2021 - Frontend Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent engineering, design and product teams. Very friendly and technically proficient people.

      Cons

      For frontend (javascript/web), less company direction than other disciplines. Not chaos or particularly bad though, just that it is clearly less of a focus than native apps.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Campus Director at Bumble

      23 Sep 2019 - Campus Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working as a director for Bumble allows lots of creativity. It's fun, provides a great network, and great merch.

      Cons

      The tasks are often monotonous and sometimes annoying to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bumble Response

      People and Culture Team

      Hi Ambassador Bee! We are so grateful for your work as a campus director, leading our program in your community. We always try to provide a range of monthly tasks, including hosting events, and executing on various brand and guerrilla marketing efforts to support our wider marketing campaigns. Thank you for your efforts spreading our mission <3

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Employees are well rewarded, creating tech-for-good

      24 May 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you need something, you'll get it - hardware, software, support, time. Pay and bonus is comfortable, with bonuses being paid according to evidence, not politics Everyone is really switched on, and even though teams may have different cultures and backgrounds, everyone is helpful, and grown-up when disagreements arise The board don't pay lip-service to looking after staff and being ethical - they live it from the CEO down. I have never felt so much empathy from the C-level people in a company of this size. Communication from up-top is also frequent and very open. You can ask any question and they'll put in a lot of effort to answer it faithfully. Holiday went from so-so 24-days to 24 days + a 5-day company shutdown in June, which was appreciated

      Cons

      Some of the tech was re-invented in-house, but this is being replaced where appropriate with standardised stuff

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Mostly positive experience

      9 Apr 2021 - Senior QA Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great package - competitive salary - competitive bonuses - successful IPO - you can make the difference if you want. It is possible to change things. But.. You need to talk to people - great engineering team - a new laptop, phone, etc. - probably you would be able to work remotely (in the same country!) when COVID is defeated - nice and qualified IT guys - HR does their best - three engineering offices; you can't relocate but you feel the vibes - you can move between teams! Like QA => Developer, Developer => Project Manager, QA => Project Manager, etc

      Cons

      - a lot of in-house solutions. Many of them great, some ugly, some terribly bad - we don't have vision - a new internal structure broke a lot of connections between team members - HR does their best but they should listen, too - it's incredibly hard to grow after certain level because of flat structure

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Bumble Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback and congrats on your tenure! All feedback is welcomed and we love to learn about the experience of our teams. It's great that you feel empowered to make a difference and feel like you're part of a great engineering team - we agree! We appreciate there have been some growing pains following a transitional phase and we are working hard to resolve them.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for

      4 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible perks, so many freebies & activities, great culture & true dedication to a great mission from all employees

      Cons

      Few opportunities for career progression & promotion, commitment to improving diversity doesn't seem to have filtered down to middle management yet.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great opportunity to growth

      4 Jun 2021 - Senior PHP Developer (Fullstack)) in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was surprised with how many technical challenges can be in a "simple" dating application, and it's a great opportunity to growth

      Cons

      It's a bit difficult to follow the career path because of very high standards

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to grow

      2 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Great colleagues Challenging A LOT to learn

      Cons

      It's moving soo fast that it's hard to keep up with all the changes. I listed challenging as a pro but it can also be seen as a con. Standards are extremely high and I'd say most of employees are stressed or even in the verge of burnout.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good benefits, bad vibes

      25 Mar 2021 - Community Experience Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits: free healthcare, monthly mental health stipend, free pedicures in office 2x monthly (pre-covid), etc, free lunch Mon-Thurs (pre-covid), etc. CX team management was super friendly, inclusive, and transparent.

      Cons

      Company culture is extremely cliquey, especially marketing teams. This company prides itself on being an inclusive and empowering place for women, but that didn't feel true all around. Much of the time, it felt like a clubhouse for wealthy white women with privileged school & work backgrounds. As a WOC, I didn't feel very accepted in the wider company culture. CX team doesn't have this energy though! Although, I enjoyed the people on the CX team. I often felt we were overworked and underpaid. The hours suck!!!! I felt like the lowest of the low because all the other teams were set-up for quick promotions and large paychecks. Whereas, the CX team is kind of stuck. This isn't the management's fault but a fault of the c-suite's lack of intentionality. At the end of the day, work is work. However, I wish there was more transparency regarding the fact that CX workers don't have much of a trajectory at this company besides responding to rude men all day. After a while, the benefits just weren't worth it.

      9 people found this review helpful

      Bumble Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story with us. Hearing that your experience at Bumble was negative is hard but is necessary for us to take a step back and look at the ways we can improve. Our company has gone through a period of rapid growth over the last year and many teams, including CX, have experienced a lot of positive change. Additionally, we have been focused on finding ways to better serve our global teams. This includes investing in the professional growth of all our team members through an education stipend, hiring CX agents globally to reduce and eventually eliminate evening shift requirements in the US and heightening our investment in diversity, equity, and inclusion as a whole. Sara Feulner, Interim Chief People Officer

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent place to work

      1 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything, especially work-life balance and flexibility.

      Cons

      Nothing to be mentioned here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome place to work

      5 May 2021 - Android Engineer in Barcelona
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - First class engineering team. - You’ll find colleagues that are always available to help you and support you grow in your professional career. - The equity and respect for each other is a real concern here and we all feel equals. - PERKS are very interesting. In general, I feel that we are really well taken care of.

      Cons

      I haven't found any ;)

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bumble Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Thanks for your positive feedback!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 240 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bumble Job Seekers

    Marketing Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bumble? Share Your Experiences

    Bumble logo
    or